We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Inn of St. Charles

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Inn of St. Charles to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Inn of St. Charles
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1635 East Main Street, Saint Charles, IL 60174   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Saint Charles
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Location was perfect for our needs. Free breakfast was nice. Room was clean and neat. Bed was comfortable. Furnishings were up to date and in good condition. Front desk service was good. The only problem was that the tub drained very slowly, so you would be standing in a 3 inch pool of drain water after a 4 minute shower. That wasn't anything that would prevent us from going back - just a minor irritation. If you're not looking for the cheapest place to stay, and you don't want to pay for services, décor and amenities you don't need, this is a place you should consider.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSTCHARLES, Owner at BEST WESTERN Inn of St. Charles, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you John for taking the time to write a review.
You are completely correct! We are the affordable alternative to the pricier hotels!
We offer super clean rooms, deluxe continental breakfast, superior customer service.
Easy check in and check out.

Arpit Patel Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    38
    10
    11
    9
See reviews for
48
28
28
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Orange, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Owners are not very accommodating and treat you like you are an inconvenience to them!! Asked for items, like a pillow, but was refused!!! Room was not cleaned, and it was my fault! Never received enough towels for the 6 registered guests in the room! Owner would argue with me - whatever happened to customer service! I just wanted enough towels, toilet paper and pillows for the registered guests of the room!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSTCHARLES, Owner at BEST WESTERN Inn of St. Charles, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Folks Look at the review above and below you

Arpit Patel Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Peters, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

She should get an award for her caring and thoughtfulness I defiantly would stay at this hotel again as long as she was there she made my trip away from home very enjoyable. I was very happy with everything except one thing I do smoke and did ask for a smoking room but the room smelt so badly from the cigarettes I had to immediately put on the air to get some fresh air into the room is my only complaint it needed a room deodorizer for sure is my only complaint other than that very satisfied and when I checked in the lady was not helpful at all she gave me wrong room number and was not very polite or pleasant

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSTCHARLES, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn of St. Charles, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Vivi has been with us for a while now.
I will pass along your wonderful comments and let her know her customer skills are getting recognized.
Thank you again.

Arpit Patel owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylorville, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed over night for an evening. The staff was helpful and great to talk to. Michelle at the front desk got me checked in and every thing went great. The room I stayed in had recently been remodeled, and everything was very clean. I'll stay here agin next time I'm in town.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Management gave us a poor room at first, dark and cramped looking into a wall but happily gave us another room. It was an upstairs room that got hot from sunlight. The A/C unit was noisy and we couldn't sleep. Not a very fun hotel for the money.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I really splurged to stay here for 2 nights for my B'day week-end. Was going to Geneva Friday night and wanted to stay close by. But the room was terrible. The toilet was loose and felt very unsafe. The bed was king size but the mattress was shot. The outlet in the bathroom did not work for a night light and a hook was hanging off the door. It was an outside entrance and I was not told that ahead of time. Truck drivers were talking very loud at 6:00am outside. I could not sleep because I was so upset. The room decor was very old & outdated. However, the mgr. came to look over the problems the next morning and decided that the toilet will need to be removed. So he gave me a larger, inside room for the same price. That was nice but I had to move all my stuff and lost time besides being extremely tired. The "better" room had problems also. The toilet didn't flush very well and the bathroom ceiling was in bad shape. It was a nice day so I opened the window and the screen had a big whole in it. The girl that checked me in at the desk was very nice (Julie) but she had a very bad cough. The breakfast was adequate and the price was ok. Also, was disappointed that the pool was closed when I got there. They told me I could use the indoor pool at the Geneva motel in back of them. I should have just stayed there & it was cheaper!
On the plus side the wide screen TV was nice and the motel is in a good location.

Room Tip: Ask if the room is an inside or outside entrance. Also, check to see if everything works right.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSTCHARLES, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn of St. Charles, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
When booking your reservation it is your responsibility to ask about a pool and exterior/interior corridors if that is important to you.
You arrive our hotel after labor day and yes our outdoor pool is closed after labor day.
This is all listed on our website bestwesternstcharles.com and bestwestern.com/innofstcharles.
Guest satisfaction is our #1 priority with the right guests. That is why we sent the manager to look into the matter right away. We gave you a free upgrade in the executive building as you continued to ask to stay in that building. We have received the tripadvisor certificate of excellence 2 years in a row and want to make sure we continue this tradition.
Happy Birthday
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This hotel should be classified as a motel as many of the rooms have an outside entrance - customers need to know that ahead of time. Some of the rooms do have indoor access. In general, a decent place for the value price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Inn of St. Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Inn of St. Charles

Address: 1635 East Main Street, Saint Charles, IL 60174
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Saint Charles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saint Charles
#1 Best Value Hotel in Saint Charles
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Inn of St. Charles 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In addition to unbeatable value, and a great location at this St. Charles hotel, enjoy a complimentary local shuttle for groups of six rooms or more to the best the area has to offer. Explore historic downtown St. Charles. Shop to your heart's content at the Kane County Flea Market, Geneva Commons, Fox Valley Mall and Aurora Chicago Premium Outlets. Press your luck at Hollywood Casino in Aurora and Grand Victoria Casino in Elgin. Explore the Kane County Fairgrounds, Funway Entertainment Center and Pottawatomie Park. Attend special events, like the bi-annual Toy Show, Jukebox Show, annual Scarecrow Festival and more - all very popular with locals. Your St. Charles vacation experience is customizable to your interests when you stay at the BEST WESTERN Inn of St. Charles.After a full day out on the town, head back to this St. Charles BEST WESTERN for rest and relaxation. Each comfortable guest accommodation here offers complimentary high-speed Internet access, cable television with HBO®, a microwave, refrigerator and all the comforts of home. Whirlpool rooms are also available upon request. Other amenities at this St. Charles hotel include complimentary continental breakfast with free newspaper each morning, plus a fitness center and an on-site outdoor heated pool open seasonally. Please note there are no elevators at this hotel, so please request a downstairs room, if needed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Inn of St. Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Saint Charles
Saint Charles Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Inn of St. Charles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.