We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a dump.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Inn of St. Charles

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Inn of St. Charles to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Inn of St. Charles
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1635 East Main Street, Saint Charles, IL 60174   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Saint Charles
Certificate of Excellence 2014
chicago
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“What a dump.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

The worst i have been in.
The non smoking room smelled of mold.
The pool looked like crap , Broken chairs broken tables all over near the pool .
No towels.Garbage cans filled up and smelly.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSTCHARLES, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn of St. Charles, responded to this review, July 27, 2011
Towels are located in the fitness center next to pool.
Nothing mentioned to front desk during stay.
Not sure why not?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    55
    13
    13
    11
See reviews for
60
33
33
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Harbor, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

This was a great location and great value. The service provided by jennifer at the desk couldn't have been better and we lacked for nothing. The rooms were clean, comfortable and roomy. The breakfasts were adequate and it was nice to be able to get free coffee and juice all day. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSTCHARLES, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn of St. Charles, responded to this review, July 27, 2011
Thank You for taking the time to place a review. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Virginia, IA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

I travel frequently, and it is very difficult to find a motel room that is clean, doesn't have any funky smell when you first open the door, everything works in the room, the beds are comfortable, and that is quiet. This Best Western does all of the above. The owner is continually putting money back into this motel and it shows. Plus the staff is friendly and helpful. They were rated at #2 in St. Charles when I stayed there for 4 days in June; I'm not sure how any other motel could beat them, unless they actually serve you a custom breakfast in bed at no charge.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSTCHARLES, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn of St. Charles, responded to this review, July 27, 2011
Thank You for taking the time to place a review. Glad you enjoyed your stay and had fun with at the corvette show in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

We drive by this Best Western Inn almost daily and never gave it much thought until we had an extended power outage last Monday. We stayed the night with our two dogs and were so very pleased with the room, the service, the acoustics, and the general atmosphere of the hotel. We will always think of this Inn first if the need to leave home arises again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSTCHARLES, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn of St. Charles, responded to this review, July 16, 2011
Thank You for taking the time to place a review.

Glad you enjoyed your stay.

We had several families stay with us during the outage.

They enjoyed our OUTDOOR HEATED POOL with the family and Deluxe Continental Breakfast each morning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moline, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

Staff went out of their way to be helpful. Expanded breakfast was very good - they had an attendant there to help who even cooked our waffles (and they had flavored ones even). Facility was clean, in a good location, and the room was comfortable. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSTCHARLES, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn of St. Charles, responded to this review, July 7, 2011
Thanks for taking the time to place a review.
We always strive to be the best with a clean, comfortable, and exceptional customer service hotel.
We are on our way.
Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

Everyone is so great and the room and service is womderful. We love coming back every year.

Room Tip: This is great lodging
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSTCHARLES, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn of St. Charles, responded to this review, June 28, 2011
Thank You for taking the time to place a review.
This is Greatly appreciated by all of us at Best Western Inn of St. Charles
We look forward to seeing you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

The hospitality was great - the accommodations were very clean and comfortable. Any time we come to St. Charles we stay here. Great location next door to a fine Family Restaurant called the Colonial.

Room Tip: All rooms are about the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSTCHARLES, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn of St. Charles, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
Thank You for taking the time to place a review.
See you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Inn of St. Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Inn of St. Charles

Address: 1635 East Main Street, Saint Charles, IL 60174
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Saint Charles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Saint Charles
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Inn of St. Charles 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In addition to unbeatable value, and a great location at this St. Charles hotel, enjoy a complimentary local shuttle for groups of six rooms or more to the best the area has to offer. Explore historic downtown St. Charles. Shop to your heart's content at the Kane County Flea Market, Geneva Commons, Fox Valley Mall and Aurora Chicago Premium Outlets. Press your luck at Hollywood Casino in Aurora and Grand Victoria Casino in Elgin. Explore the Kane County Fairgrounds, Funway Entertainment Center and Pottawatomie Park. Attend special events, like the bi-annual Toy Show, Jukebox Show, annual Scarecrow Festival and more - all very popular with locals. Your St. Charles vacation experience is customizable to your interests when you stay at the BEST WESTERN Inn of St. Charles.After a full day out on the town, head back to this St. Charles BEST WESTERN for rest and relaxation. Each comfortable guest accommodation here offers complimentary high-speed Internet access, cable television with HBO®, a microwave, refrigerator and all the comforts of home. Whirlpool rooms are also available upon request. Other amenities at this St. Charles hotel include complimentary continental breakfast with free newspaper each morning, plus a fitness center and an on-site outdoor heated pool open seasonally. Please note there are no elevators at this hotel, so please request a downstairs room, if needed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Inn of St. Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Saint Charles
Saint Charles Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Inn of St. Charles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.