We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical training center” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Q Center

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saint Charles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Q Center
Save Saved
You added Q Center to your Saves list
1405 North Fifth Avenue, Saint Charles, IL 60174   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Saint Charles
Lake Orion, Michigan
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Typical training center”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Spent a few days at the Q-Center in St. Charles for some business training. This is a training center. Its purpose seems to be to provide a space to bring together large groups for training. It does that adequately. I thought a few tips might make someone's stay a little easier.
1) The rooms are crazy small. Twin beds. Really! You can upgrade to larger quarters. The basic room is a twin bed, a built in dresser/sink, a desk built on top of the heat pump, and a separate toilet/shower. The room itself is probably under 60 square feet. Room to move consists of a 2 foot wide strip about 10 feet long. There is no other floor space. If you expect a normal hotel, you will be disappointed.
2) The food is abundant. As is typical in these settings, the food is all you can eat and there is a nice variety. This is a new venue for the training I attended and there was a broader selection of vegetarian options than in the previous venue but a smaller selection of dessert. Overall I had no trouble finding something to eat. But- I found the food to be singularly one note. There was a real lack of flavor in much of what I ate and with the exception of a grilled fish taco no real depth.
3) The setting is a bit of a labyrinth. Take the time to understand the map online and wander the property a bit before your meeting starts. Once I got a feel for the various buildings I was fine. But there was an initial confusion.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    24
    9
    2
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
2
2
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, India
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I have recently been to chicago for a training from my company and the stay and the meetings were Arranged at Q center, Which is an hour away from teh main cuty of chicago.

As soon as i entered the Q center , It was really beautiful, Well maintained property and really huge.

Good points about the place :

Staff is really freindly and will help you with anything and everything.
The Biking trail is just beautiful , You cant miss it if you go there
The conferrencing facilities were really amazing. the management was just perfect .
The food spread was amazingly huge. There was so much to choose from.

Bad points.
The normal rooms where we stayed were really small , I mean like the size of a closet.

Overall , It was a beautiful stay at Q center. Teh amenities like Gym, Biking are really good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I recently stayed at the Q Center in St. Charles for a work training session that I was leading. The Q Center is the former Arthur Andersen worldwide training center and before that a women's college. It is a 45 minute drive from O'Hare airport in the countryside. The grounds are immaculate and well manicured. The buildings are all well maintained and contemporary. Service is highly efficient. There are no frills. I stayed in the executive room thanks to my employer. The room was like a standard Marriott room. I heard from students that their rooms were small though. The sleep quality was great. The cleanliness of the room was very good. The food was college style with masses of people converging at breakfast, lunch and dinner for buffet style eating. The food is standard mass fare. I didn't see much seasonal product for example. The gym was well equipped. Opportunities for trip to St. Charles and the factory outlet mall were available on some night. Would I stay here again? Yes, if my employer required it for training. Would I stay here personally? Probably not.

Room Tip: Splurge for the executive room. The room is larger. Hey, you get free water! hehe
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varese, Italy
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The Q-center is a great place for training sessions. Guest rooms are too small but well designed. Restaurant area should be improved to avoid waiting time at lunch and dinner when all guests are there. There is also a second restaurant area for week-end in another building. The food is good but boring after a week there. Always the same taste and kind of food. Training rooms are very well organised. A negative point is the Internet access for guests which is very expensive (WIFI premium service) when the free WIFI service is too limited and cover only guest rooms area. A suggestion: Offer the premium service for free... The Q-center is located in a very nice park closed to a river and the Q-center offers sports facilities. However a car is recommended to visit the St Charles area because staying at the Q-center becomes boring after a while.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Ga
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

First of all....the Q Center was designed as the training facility for a single employer..Arthur Andersen before Accenture was spun out and Andersen went under. So yes the "guest rooms" are indeed very small but functional. They were designed to accomodate large numbers of new and existing employees who went through the firms various training courses throughout the years. They were NEVER designed to compete with a St. Regis or even a Clarion. The food is good and plentiful. The overall grounds set up, walking paths, etc., exceed those of most of the major hotels (resorts excluded of course). And the people working there are friendly and helpful. Overall a great training facility BUT definitely not a hotel! Don't expect that!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Since year 2009, I have been to Q Center 4 times for different training courses.

Going to Q Center makes me feel like I'm back in school... with the small dorm-size bed and layout of classrooms. The conference facilities are pretty excellent for breakout discussion sessions as well as large-size lecture style conferences. The Starbucks coffee and Tazo Tea that are set up near the classrooms for tea breaks help to keep tired jet-lagged travellers from falling asleep.

What I've grown to love about the place must be the cafeteria for its breakfast spread. The breakfast selection is so good that it just sets the right tone for the rest of the day. :)

After conference hours, you can take the complimentary bus shuttle to downtown St. Charles (to explore other dining options beyond Q Center), Walmart and Super Target. On Wednesday, there is a (not-complimentary) bus shuttle to the Aurora Premium Outlets. My personal preference is to arrange for limo/taxi services to go to the outlets as my training usually schedules networking events on Wednesday evenings.

For the health conscious folks... you can run along the Fox River trail... or borrow a bicycle to cycle around. The gym also provides volleyballs for those who wishes to play on the outdoor court. There are also yoga and zumba classes (which I admittedly give a miss as I have networking / shopping to do).

I would also make use of the business center package collection services as it's really convenient to do online shopping and send the items to Q Center. Just send the items to Q Center within the week before your training starts... and you'll be given a note when you check in to pick up your packages from the Business Center for a nominal fee (depending on the size and weight of package).

For those who unfortunately gets allocated to the standard room, you can always opt to top up for the Executive room which comes with a larger size Queen bed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lithia, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Great place to get trained, or give back and share your experiences with others. I have been here many times throughout the years and it is always great to come back. Did your code pass the test? Mine did...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Q Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Q Center

Address: 1405 North Fifth Avenue, Saint Charles, IL 60174
Location: United States > Illinois > Saint Charles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Saint Charles
Number of rooms: 1042
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For more than 40 years, Q Center has been one of the world's finest meeting facilities and the choice of many Fortune 500 companies. The 95-acre property offers a secluded, distraction-free environment with 1,042 sleeping rooms and 150,000+ square feet of IACC-certified meeting space. Q Center is an undisputed leader in conference center technology, offering 500 Mbps Internet bandwidth, wireless and LAN set-up, a secure data center and a full-service on-site events and media team. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
q Hotel Saint Charles
q Center Saint Charles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Q Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;