We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   155 38th Avenue, Saint Charles, IL 60174   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Saint Charles
Rockton, IL
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Not a bad night stay. Clean room, hot breakfast. Not a bad deal for a good price. It looked like my room has had some updates, but it looked like they forgot to update the carpet (worn with a couple stains) and the couch (ripped in a couple places). One thing I consistently find with CI&S is the noise. Rooms aren't very sound proof. To end on a positive note the location was perfect. Walking distance to the airport, shopping and restaurants. Loved it.

Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager34, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Pottman,
Thank you for taking the time to write concerning your experience at Country Inn and Suites. We certainly agree with you that we are ideally situated for many restaurants and amenities that the beautiful town of St. Charles has to offer, and it sounds like you availed yourself of those. On another note, we are soon to undergo an extensive remodel of the hotel and we are all excited about the end result.
Thank you very much for your business, and we are all glad that you loved your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    3
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
2
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

good location restaurants, shopping mall close by. older hotel, needs some updating. cheaper than marriot in area. good for a one night stay need 200 characters to complete this review xxx yyy zzz zas xsw

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager34, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Ron_chitown,
Thank you for taking the time to write concerning your experience while our guest at Country Inn and Suites St. Charles,IL. I certainly concur with you that we are in an excellent location for visiting many of the sites that St. Charles has to offer, and are perfectly situated for a one night, or longer, stay. Coincidentally, as you mentioned updating, we are soon to commence a beautiful refresh of the facility, both exterior and interior, and we are all extremely excited about the finished product. Make certain to return and allow us to serve you again when your travels bring you back to the St. Charles, IL area, and thank you again for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walkerton, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Conveniently located to downtown and area attractions. Easy to navigate to. We stayed two nights. And had complimentary breakfast twice. Although busy at peak times, there was plenty of options. I was pleasanty suprised at the quality and taste of the coffee. I applaud the toaster which actually toasted what you put into it. We plan on staying here every time we go to the Kane County Flea Market.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager34, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Robert A,
Thank you for taking the time to write concerning your great stay at Country Inn and Suites St.Charles, IL. I agree that we are conveniently located to downtown and area attractions, and many amenities that the Fox River Valley has to offer travelers. In addition, we do serve excellent coffee-not too strong and just the right taste.
We appreciate your business, and look forward to serving you the next time your travels bring you to the St. Charles area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

I went as a tagalong on my husband's business trip to attend a training seminar down the street from the Country Inn, and I was complaining that I wish we could have stayed at another hotel where we usually stay on short out of state trips, but let me tell you! this place was such a great value!! For half the price of that other hotel, we had beds that were every bit as comfortable, fresh baked cookies awaiting us each evening, and a perfectly quiet stay! The little pool, hot tub and work out room were a plus, as was the breakfast dining area and the complimentary breakfast!

However for me, where the Inn hit it out of the park was their housekeeping! I have grown to accept really poor housekeeping in economy rate hotels, but I cannot say enough about the housekeeping staff who cleaned our room each day! At other hotels, we have experienced a mere freshening of the room, but this Country Inn bumped it up to max, with a completely cleaned room each day! Seriously, I have only seen this kind of commitment to clean rooms at five star hotels!! The other notable thing about this was that the housekeeping staff was so warm and happy; it was awesome!

I also loved the great location of the hotel; it was a relatively quick trip in from Midway Airport--(Although make sure to bring plenty of coinage for the toll roads if you choose not to rent a transponder! Many tollbooths were the unmanned kind and required exact coinage!!) It had a good shopping area and a slew of restaurants to pick from within walking distance or a couple of miles driving distance! We LOVED Portillo's and Gino's East!

We will definitely be back to stay here when needed!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager34, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Northfielder2,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write concerning your Excellent experience while our guest at Country Inn and Suites, St. Charles, IL., and for your kind words about our hotel and staff. I agree that our housekeeping staff is outstanding and does a fantastic job maintaining and cleaning our guestrooms day in and day out. Unfortunately I don't seem to always give them the daily credit they deserve, but am very grateful that they continue to exhibit the type of work that elicits compliments such as yours.
I completely concur with you about Portillo's restaurant. They serve the best Italian beef in town, and their chopped salad is terrific.
It was indeed our pleasure to serve you, and we look forward to greeting you again when your travels bring you back to the St. Charles area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westland, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

This is a very nice hotel. I would recommend to others and I would stay again if in the area. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The free breakfast was a nice touch. We visited for a soccer tournament so it was nice to not have to worry about having to find a place to make sure the kids ate a proper breakfast before the game.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager34, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Marisa B,
Thank you for taking the time to write concerning your excellent experience while our guest at Country Inn and Suites, St. Charles, IL, and for your kind words about our staff and hotel. I certainly agree that we are a "very nice" hotel, and that the staff is friendly and helpful. Nothing less is expected of them and I am glad to see that we are delivering on our promise!
Thank you again for your business, and it will be our pleasure to serve you when your travels bring you back to the St. Charles, IL area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Haven, Michigan
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

Another Country Inn and Suites that is a credit to the chain! I have stayed here a number of times while working in the St Charles area and will continue to return to it.

Room prices are generally what you expect to pay for a good room.

The rooms are well maintained, comfortable and clean. The free Internet seems to work well all the time, and breakfast is always nice. The beds are comfortable and bathrooms are clean.

Parking is plentiful and there are a couple of good restaurants within walking distance (Olive Garden and Chili's).

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager34, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear michiglen,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your several experiences while our guest at Country Inn and Suites, St. Charles, IL. I wholeheartedly agree with your kind comments, and furthermore we appreciate the loyalty you continue to show us. It is our pledge to continue working hard daily to maintain and keep earning that loyalty.
Again, thank you for your business and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

If you are ever in the are of St Charles, it a nice place to stay. convenient restaurants across the street with a super target right next door, Queen rooms are very roomy and clean. Nice comfortable beds.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager34, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Debbie R,
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel, and for your endorsement that we are a "nice play to stay." We certainly appreciate your business and sharing your opinions (in which I concur) with the Trip Advisor universe. We look forward to serving you again the next time your travels bring you to the St. Charles, IL area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles

Address: 155 38th Avenue, Saint Charles, IL 60174
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Saint Charles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Saint Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Country Inn & Suites St Charels~a prime location near DuPage Airport and Downtown St. Charles. We provide comfortable guest rooms and suites with convenient amenities and services. All of our guest rooms have microwaves and refrigerators and 37" Flat Screen TVs. We are located within walking distance to numerous shopping and dining options. Our hotel's welcoming atmosphere and exceptional staff are certain to provide a great experience for business and leisure travelers. Stay at the Country Inn & Suites and you'll see first hand why we were awarded the 2010 Carlson President's Award for Outstanding Service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Despegar.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Carlson, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles Hotel Saint Charles
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, St. Charles
Country Inn Saint Charles
Saint Charles Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.