We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Annual Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   155 38th Avenue, Saint Charles, IL 60174   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #5 of 12 hotels in Saint Charles
Kissimmee, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Annual Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stay at this property each year for a conference. This property is very convenient to Aquascapes Home Office which is where the conference is held.

The staff is just amazing and very welcoming. The lady who does the breakfast is great, she kept the food fully stocked even at very busy times in the breakfast lounge. The food was very plentiful.

As always check in/out was very easy.

The room is well appointed clean and spacious.

Looking forward to next years stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    27
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
20
13
3
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bethalto, Illinois USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stay here twice a year when we go to a trade show in the area. Nice staff, clean rooms and a really nice breakfast as a part of the room fee. They are pet friendly which is nice for those folks travelling with their dogs.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor, so there are no people above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I stayed in this hotel from August 1-3, 2013. I would first like to state that the hotel lobby was clean and the desk service was great. I stayed in a king suite room and the room was clean and the bed was exceptionally comfortable. My father slept on the sofa bed and he stated that the sofa bed was comfortable, which was great news. The bathroom was clean and the room temperature was great. The complimentary breakfast offered many choices for a small hotel. The one small complaint was housekeeping showing up at 5pm to clean the room on the 2nd. Otherwise, the stay was great and very convenient to my final destination for the weekend. I will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: I stayed on the second floor which was very quiet. I had a king suite that was definitely large enou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We had a king suite and the room was fine. We did have a fridge, microwave and wet bar. There was several burn holes on the carpet and furniture was a little worn. Tiles in the bathroom were missing some grout and the tiles moved. Room was clean though and air conditioner worked great.

Check out was a little slow because there was only one person. We didn't check in until 5:00 and the desk clerk had to go and check the room for the people before us to make sure it was clean.

The pool is small but it was ok. The hot tub was nice. There were towels available which is always nice.

I remember the last time we stayed we had a problem with the breakfast. When we got there we just had to wait a few minutes for the eggs. They did run out of biscuits while we were there and they were never replaced. There were 3 different women working the breakfast bar. One of them was making herselft a waffle and she watched a boy spill his entire glass of orange juice. She did not get a towel or anything. She finished making her waffle and left the room.

I am not sure if we would stay here again or not.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The best part of our stay was definitely the comfort of the bed. It was a perfect feel and the sheets were like BUTTA.... Good size room but the air conditioner leaked on the carpet which we were told "happens when u run the air for awhile"... Not a big problem. Just hope they don't end up with mold problems...We knew where this hotel was but if someone didn't; they might have a little trouble finding it as there is no sign at the driveway. (Right behind the Chili's restaurant. Uses the same driveway.)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

For a small hotel Northwest outside of Chicago, it's been always a pleasure. Since it is in close proximity of my final business destination, I stay at least two times a year, different seasons. Never had any problems, nothing to complain. Administration is always welcoming and accommodating. Great value for services. Totally recommend.

Room Tip: No worries about quiet. It's absolute noise free, no matter what side of the corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I stayed here for two nights in regular sized room (not one of the suites) and was pleased with the condition of the room. The housekeeping staff was excellent, as the room was spotless. The bedding was extremely comfortable. The pillows were weirdly small for a huge queen bed, but since there was an extra pillow provided with the extra blanket, that wasn't really a problem.

The bathroom was good sized and very clean. The only problem I had was that there was apparently a regular-sized shower curtain on one of those extended curved rods, so I could never get the shower curtain completely closed. Also, just an fyi - the toilet is one of those extremely powerful flushing toilets, so it's extremely loud. If you are traveling alone, it's no problem, but this will certainly wake up your spouse in the middle of the night if you're traveling as a couple.

This is a pet friendly property, so be prepared to hear the occasional yip, bark or whine. Also, the walls are quite thin, so have a white noise machine handy or leave the television on when sleeping. There was an extremely heavy-footed person in the room above me, and I heard every move they made for the first night. I'd recommend requesting a room on the top floor to avoid this problem.

There's a large breakfast area with a nice selection of breakfast items. The staff is also quite friendly.

Room Tip: The floors and walls are thin, so ask for a room on the top floor to avoid hearing someone above you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles

Address: 155 38th Avenue, Saint Charles, IL 60174
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Saint Charles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Saint Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Country Inn & Suites St Charels~a prime location near DuPage Airport and Downtown St. Charles. We provide comfortable guest rooms and suites with convenient amenities and services. All of our guest rooms have microwaves and refrigerators and 37" Flat Screen TVs. We are located within walking distance to numerous shopping and dining options. Our hotel's welcoming atmosphere and exceptional staff are certain to provide a great experience for business and leisure travelers. Stay at the Country Inn & Suites and you'll see first hand why we were awarded the 2010 Carlson President's Award for Outstanding Service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles Hotel Saint Charles
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, St. Charles
Country Inn Saint Charles
Saint Charles Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.