We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great outdoor area” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Office

The Office
201 E Main Street, Saint Charles, IL 60137
630.549.0287
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 148 Restaurants in Saint Charles
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
331 reviews 331 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Great outdoor area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

The Office has an enclosed outdoor area, which opens up in the summer. It is a great place to enjoy a drink with friends. Food is good but the service leaves much to be desired - and has since it opened.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    17
    13
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oswego, IL
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“If You Don't Mind Cigarette Smoke”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Heard very positive things about this restaurant and my husband and I finally gave it a try. It was a very busy, hopping place on a Friday evening. We had to sit in the enclosed, heated patio. It was great until a guy came in and started smoking. He came back another 2 times to have a cigarette. None of the waitstaff said a word to him despite the fact that smoking is no longer permitted by law in restaurants. When I inquired of the waitress about the smoking policy, she advised us that smoking wasn't allowed, but that the guy who was smoking was a regular and always dropped big bucks so they let him smoke. The other restaurant patrons were complaining, but still nothing was done. If the owner of the establishment allows smoking, you have to wonder what else goes on that shouldn't. Other than that, the service was great and speedy. Fish tacos were bland despite the Cajun sauce. The caramel and coconut flan was heavenly. Would have considered going back again in the future because the burgers were huge and looked delicious, but I'm not partial to cigarette smoke while I'm having a meal.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Late Weeknight Dinner ... Worth It!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Was in town for a conference and a group of us went here for dinner. We didn't get there until about 7:30, but they were able seat our group of 8 quickly.

They took our drink order very quickly and as soon as the drinks were delivered they took our dinner order.

The food came out very quickly and it was hot. Within our group, some of the menu items ordered included; fish and chips, the Monterrey Chicken Sami, fish tacos, the Office Burger, and the Steak Salad. Everyone said their food was very good and as far as I know there were no complaints.

The service was quick and very friendly. When we asked them if they would put the tv on a specific basketball game, they were more than happy to do so. However, they do NOT get the Big Ten Network if you are going there for a Big Ten game.

I would definitely recommend The Office for both food and drinks.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good, not comfortable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Dinner on a business trip. The outside patio is gorgeous, but too cold to eat outside. it was colder inside, both temperature and ambiance. Food was good, not outstanding, nothing really to excite the tatste buds.
The office set up seems ideal to stop by for a drink and appetizers on the way home from work.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Prospect, Illinois
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good salad and big mac and cheese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stopped in here for lunch on a Saturday while in St. Charles for the annual scarecrow festival - the last time we were at this location it was McNally's Irish Pub, which has moved further west. The layout is pretty much the same (a pub with lots of tables both inside and out) except that there are now bathrooms on the main floor rather than upstairs. I ordered the beet salad with chicken while my wife had the mac and cheese. The latter was a pretty large and tasty portion. I liked my salad except that it arrived without any dressing. Service was good. We would go back here if in the St. Charles area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Office also viewed

Saint Charles, IL
Saint Charles, IL
 

Been to The Office? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Office, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.