We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some what disappointing.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago St. Charles

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago St. Charles to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago St. Charles
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2096 Bricher Road, Saint Charles, IL 60174   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Saint Charles
Certificate of Excellence
Rockville, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Some what disappointing.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Let's start off by saying that the front desk staff was great. All during our stay they did everything possible to make our stay as comfortable as possible. He is the issues I had. The building was HOT The hall, lobby, restroom, pool are workout room even my room was hot. And the AC at 60 degrees at night did not cool it off. The maintance guy said leave it on low air to draw in more out side air and that did not work. Please cook the eggs runny watery eggs are not very appetizing. And put refridgerators back in the rooms this is one of the few places I have been to that I could not keep my water, almond milk, or any food items cold.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsmffi, Guest Relations Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago St. Charles, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Robert,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. I appreciate that you noted that our Guest Service team does a great job.

You mentioned that you a somewhat disappointing visit. You referred to temperature issues among the problems. We know that with the warming temperatures our ac units are working harder, however you should have had a comfortable room during your visit and I apologize that you had this issue. We will be looking into this issue.

You also wrote that you didn't have a refrigerator and would have wanted one. We have microwaves and refrigerators in all of our suite style rooms. We hope that you decide to return to our hotel and if you do we recommend booking one of these rooms to keep your milk and water cold.

Thank you again for your time and for sharing the areas that we can investigate and work on further.

Kindly,
Kimberly Nickels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    21
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
31
17
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Normal, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

I need a place for one night close to Delnor Hospital. This was the perfect location. There is also a lot of shopping and restaurants right across the street. The room was very clean and comfortable. While it wasn't anything fancy, I wasn't needing anything fancy. Breakfast was a typical free breakfast but it wasn't bad by any means. If you don't want that kind of breakfast you can easily find someplace nearby.

The best part of the hotel was the kindness from the front desk person. When I made my reservation, she asked what brought me to St. Charles. I told her that my daughter was about to have a baby at the hospital. When I arrived, she expressed congratulations to me. Not only that, but in the morning, there was a greeting card under my door that was signed by the staff. I think that was above and beyond customer service. Thank you to that hotel for that extra mile!! I will definitely stay there again!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfieldStCharles, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago St. Charles, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Wandav28,

I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your experience with the hotel & more importantly the Front Desk staff here at Fairfield Inn & Suites, St Charles. We strive daily to deliver excellent and memorable service to each of our guests and we our always glad to hear we our meeting that goal. We look forward to having you stay again when in town to visit your grandbaby.

Alison Papini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

I didn't spend much time as it was a late arrival and early departure, but the room was quiet, clean and comfortable. The didn't appear to have been updated recently, but not a big deal. Breakfast was great as well. I would stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsmffi, Guest Relations Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago St. Charles, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review about your visit to our hotel. I am happy to see that despite the quick visit you had a comfortable stay. Our staff works very hard to provide everyone with a quiet and clean hotel.

We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.

Kimberly Nickels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Staff was very polite and personal. Hotel was kept very clean and was centrally located to many restaurants and stores. I stayed for three weeks and I felt right st home. The only problem I had was every time I turned my tv off it would turn the other one on in the living room.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsmffi, Guest Relations Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago St. Charles, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Bbundy001,

Thank you for your very pleasant review. We are please that during your three week visit with us you felt right at home. I would like to apologize for the one remote control operating both televisions. We look forward to having you again if you are ever in the St. Charles area.

Thank you for your time and business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We spent three great days at the Fairfield Inn in St. Charles, IL. The hotel was clean throughout, the free breakfast was fantastic and the staff complied enthusiastically with our every request. This location was also perfect for our visits throughout the Elgin-to-Batavia area. I would highly recommend this hotel for your recreational and business needs.

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor and there was no road noise any of the nights. It was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsmffi, Guest Relations Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago St. Charles, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Moe1970,

Thank you so much for posting your review on your recent visit to our hotel. We are so glad to see that you were well taken care of during your 3 nights in the Batavia/Elgin area.

I am ecstatic that you enjoyed our breakfast and the staff provided the kind service you deserve.

Thank you again. We look forward to having you again in the future.

Kindly,
Kimberly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois City, Illinois
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I stayed here for a short 9 hours after work until I could safely drive home in the morning. The room was quiet. While clean, it appeared dated. It was well below freezing out yet there was no comforter on the bed. It looked nothing like the photos. The closet door was broken. There were stains on the chair. I stayed here a couple years ago and the room then was very nice, exactly like the photos. I am wondering if I was given an inferior room as there was a discount for our employees staying at the hotel. Most hotels provide microwave and mini fridge in every room. I was disappointed to have to go back downstairs to use the microwave. The breakfast however was very good. Fresh fruit, eggs (although not enough - it was 7:30 when I ate and there were only a few spoonfuls of eggs left), various whole grain breads for toast. There were other items I did not have such as waffles, sausage, oatmeal, yogurt, etc. Very nice.

While I appreciated a warm bed to sleep in, I think I was given a very small, inferior room due to the discount offered. I think $94 for a very small room in St. Charles is extremely over priced.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsmffi, Guest Relations Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago St. Charles, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Illinois1,

Thank you for sharing your review regarding your most recent visit. I am sorry to read that you felt you were given an inferior room at the hotel. The housekeepers work very hard to remove any stains and make sure the room is well maintained and clean. I assure you that rate discounts do not affect the decision on what room you receive at the hotel.

I am happy to see that you liked our updated breakfast that includes hot items like sausage, eggs, and fresh fruit.

We hope that you decide to give our hotel another try in the future.

Kindly,
Kimberly Nickels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Clean, comfortable, and convenient. Had a great stay. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful for the months leading up to our wedding and as well on our wedding day. They even helped organize our 3 different shuttle services for our guests and made sure everyone had accurate directions.

Thanks again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsmffi, Guest Relations Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago St. Charles, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Lucas G,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our hotel and sales team. I am happy to see that you and your family were well taken care of throughout the booking process for your wedding event. Our entire team prides themselves on providing our guests with a clean hotel, comfortable rooms and courteous service.

Congratulations again on your marriage.

Kindly,

Kimberly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago St. Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago St. Charles

Address: 2096 Bricher Road, Saint Charles, IL 60174
Location: United States > Illinois > Saint Charles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saint Charles
#3 Family Hotel in Saint Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago St. Charles 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Marriott so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago St. Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago St. Charles Hotel Saint Charles
Fairfield Inn And Suites Chicago St. Charles
Fairfield Saint Charles
Fairfield Inn Saint Charles
Saint Charles Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago St. Charles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.