Don't expect to get a good night's sleep here. The first night, my companion and I were put in a room near the elevators, but they weren't the problem. The problem was the hotel laundry located below our room.. The racket started about 10 pm and cycled on and off every 10 minutes or so until 1 a.m., then it started again at 6 a.m. Thankfully, the day manager responded by moving us to the floor above and down the hallway. However, the walls in this hotel are really thin. There was a wedding party that weekend and we could hear conversations next door. Lastly, I think every Fairfield has the same problem with the AC/heater units. The AC blowers were simply too loud. Very disappointed, although one can hardly blame the staff, they are stuck with a bad building. Won't stay here again, and am considering not using Fairfield Inns at all b/c of the AC unit noise issue.
Bring earplugs if you can use them, and get a room way down the hallway from the elevator.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear P G,
Report response as inappropriate
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay at the St. Charles Fairfield Inn & Suites. I am glad to see that our staff was able to take care you and your companion during your visit and our was able to respond to requests you had.
I understand that the building and walls created a noisy experience. To address the first evening, I am guessing you were placed in a room above our elevator hydraulics which causes that noise each time the elevator is in use. We don't have laundry going after 6pm so you would not have heard that noise. I am sad to read that the wedding guests we had were noisy during their visit. We work hard to keep these guests close to one another and separate those not with the groups in other areas of the building and I want to apologize that you were not placed in a quiet area.
Should you try our hotel again, I recommend asking for a room not near the elevator hydraulics and away from wedding guests.
Thank you again for your time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.