We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Copper Fox Cafe - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Copper Fox Cafe
305 West Main Street, Saint Charles, IL 60174
(630) 945-3435
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Geneva, Illinois
Top Contributor
337 reviews 337 reviews
283 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Good food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The food is very good. Our waiter was very friendly and accommodating. However it is pricey for the portion size. The most disappointing thing was the wine list. The least expensive glass of wine was $10. There is too much competition. I'm not sure if this place will last.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    2
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
La Crosse, WI
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Well worth the price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I take exception to the latest review as many of the meals are less than $20, and the specials were all under $30 last week, and they were sensational. I agree with another reviewer that the lamb shank was extraordinary --plenty of meat and no knife needed. Our Italian salad was gorgeous and delicious. Glass of Chardonnay was $7, half the price I paid at a resort outside Pittsburg the previous week. Our waiter was delightful and prompt, but perhaps because the place was nearly deserted even on a Friday night. Pity. Maybe people read the recent reviews -- their loss. Anyway, nice atmosphere, has an adjacent party room and a small bar at the entrance. I hope this place makes it; I'll be back when in the area.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winfield Il
1 review
“Too expensive.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

The wine list only had the most expensive wines. We asked about Pino Grigio which was not on the wine list, but they had at a resonable price. yes we ordered it.

Dinner specials were $30 to $40. apiece. Kind of pricey. Only one couple was in the place when we arrived on a Sat. night at 6:30.. Kind of scarey. They left after about 10 minutes, done eating and a foursome came in after that. That is all the people we saw. Lower the prices and maybe you would get more business.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Aurora, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Newer restaurant has good food, but no clue about service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Some basics about service were sadly lacking here: first, it took 20 minutes to get a cup of coffee. And another hour and fifteen to get out meals. That happens sometimes, I understand, but our waitress was evasive and couldn't just tell us the deal.... I appreciate honesty.
The really pitiful part happened later. The waitress had mistakenly brought us an extra side and, realizing her mistake said, "do you want it anyway?" We said ok, only to find that they charged us for it on the bill! Four bucks for their mistake! We protested and asked it be removed. The owner, rather than come explain it or talk, sent word from the kitchen that, since we accepted the side, we had to pay for it. Now, I can deal with a couple bucks, but it's the principle- they're a newer restaurant, they can't be nickel-&-dining their customers. Unfortunately, the Copper Fox lost some potential customers today over a side of bacon.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in St. Charles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

We went to Copper Fox for the first time, and were so impressed. The restaurant is charming and the service is first rate. The food was absolutely delicious. I ordered the lamb shank, and it is the best I have ever had. Everyone in our group was raving at how delicious the food was. The owner is cordial and makes you feel welcome. One visit, and you will have a new favorite!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Copper Fox Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copper Fox Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.