We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, outstanding details to service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Geneva Motel Inn

Save Saved
You added Geneva Motel Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Geneva Motel Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 South Tyler Road, Saint Charles, IL 60174   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 12 hotels in Saint Charles
Centralia, Illinois, United States
1 review
“Great Value, outstanding details to service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My family recently stayed at the Geneva Motel Inn (formerly Days Inn) in St. Charles, Illinois. The new owners, Mr. and Mrs. Patel, were outstanding. They recently purchased the motel and are extremely dedicated to their quests. The motel offers great room rates, an indoors swimming pool, exercise area and provides continental breakfasts. We highly recommend the Geneva Motel Inn!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    3
    3
    19
See reviews for
17
6
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elgin, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Our problems started when we checked in with 5 people. They didn't like a credit card so cash was paid, they counted it over and over again. After 30 min of counting the cash they gave us our keys. An hour later they complained that we didn't pay enough. The next night an item went missing from our room. When we asked the front desk their reply was "Our staff will not steal it so you must have miss placed it." We then had to contact the police and file a police report. Amazingly 2 hours later they found it "in a basket near the laundry room." Then finally due to circumstances we had to extend our stay for 1 night and again we paid cash. They gave a receipt for the cash payment, but the credit card used to make the reservation was also charged the amount for the extra night. When asked about the double charge the were unwilling to discuss the matter leaving the only option of calling the bank and denying the charge to the card. This hotel and their staff are downright thieves, you can stay across the street at the motel 8 for the same price and save yourself the headache.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sue p, Owner at Geneva Motel Inn, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
We are sorry this guest was unhappy with their experience at our Hotel however, they are incorrectly stating the facts. Upon Check-in the guest's credit card rejected and declined .and we ask it there had another card. They had no other credit cards available forcing them to pay in cash. The clerk accepted nearly $1000 in small bills and took a reasonable amount of time to verify than transaction. There was no shortage or additional request for cash. Additionally, at no time throughout their stay was a credit card charged for any amount, nor were any "holds” placed on their card.

AS pertains to the missing jewelry, it appears that is bundle up in there sheet and bracelet was left on their bed and picked up with the dirty laundry for that day. This is evident because the item was located in a basket where dirty laundry is dropped. This is why we did not know which room was belonging to. littler they come to front desk and show me the item that they lost it was a gold and it worth so much money ,the item was found but the item that there ware showing its anything like the item that we found it is totally different item but we did make a call to customer and ask them to come a check it out it was a small keychain it was not worth any thing . Our staff has been together a long time and are honest hard-working employees with no blemishes such as the guest suggest, we take the safety of our guests and their valuables very seriously

Again we are sorry this Guest's experience wasn't to their satisfaction but they have misstated the facts,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogers, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

I stayed at the Days Inn in Saint Charles. The hotel is certainly fairly priced. The lobby and hotel staff were very friendly. We missed the free continental breakfast by a half an hour and the manager was willing to make me breakfast anyway:) I was low on my morning coffee and the maid gladly gave me several extra packets. The hotel staff also let us check in early at 11:00 am. They have free INTERNET and a computer to use in the lobby. The only negative thing I could stay would be that the indoor pool is really small. They don't have a hot tub and that would be nice, too. If you are traveling with children, they might be a little disappointed with the pool size. Overall, for the price a nice, clean and friendly place to stay in Saint Charles. Great location.-About a block off the main street in Saint Charles.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011 via mobile

Very easy to find. Great location. Great restaurant suggestions. There was a dirty towel in the bathroom. The entire floor of nonsmoking rooms stunk like cigarette smoke. There was only one roll of toilet paper in the room. Had to switch rooms because the room wasn't equipped with what it should've been. Most of all the shower pressure was horrific.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, il
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

I have stayed here many times. There breakfast is free and varied, and the rooms are clean. The front desk staff has always been friendly and helpful! Price is right also!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

I stayed here on business trip recently. I paid for 2 nights but stayed for one.
I didn't even care about the money I lost on the one night, I just wanted to leave.
The bed didn't have a fitted sheet on the it. Just 2 flat sheets, and the sheet quality, was that of sand paper. There was nothing keeping the bottom sheet on the bed. So anytime you rolled over the sheet came off. When we first came into the room, The pillows on the bed looked like they were just thrown on the bed, same with the towels, barely folded on the towel rack. Does not give the appearance of a professional cleaning job. The carpet in the room, looked relatively new, but had a decent size stain on it. The public areas of lobby, hallways, and elevator were very dated.
The pluses were a fridge in the room, and it was a quiet room, but thats about it. Overall it just had a depressing, gross feel to it and I slept like crap. Just wanted to leave, so we did. I realize this is not the Ritz Carlton, but I have stayed at Days Inn before, that were much cleaner, and welcoming then this place.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

Yearly we have an event in St. charles and I need to book rooms for over 20 staff members. We have been staying here for the past 3 years and every year we are treated like royality. The Days Inn staff bends over backwards to meet our needs and are there whenever we need some help or advice. The rooms are comfortable, clean and have all the basic needs, including refrigerators and microwaves, not to mention an indoor pool. After trying three other locations in St. Charles, my staff always asks to be back at the Days Inn. Parking is free with plenty of room.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the three corner suites with a whi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Geneva Motel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geneva Motel Inn

Address: 100 South Tyler Road, Saint Charles, IL 60174
Location: United States > Illinois > Saint Charles
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 hotels in Saint Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Geneva Motel Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Geneva Motel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Charles Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Geneva Motel Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.