We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great from appetizers to desserts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ROX City Grill

ROX City Grill
100 W Main St, Saint Charles, IL 60174-1810
630-845-5807
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
ROX City Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #33 of 159 Restaurants in Saint Charles
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: First St.
Elgin, Illinois
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great from appetizers to desserts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We enjoyed this small quaint place with fabulous food. I highly recommend the fillet sliders. In fact I'd like to go back and just make them a meal. The presentation of our salad was great, a cucumber slice made like the bowl and the salad was inside. The jumbo shirmp on the shrimp cocktail were amazing. I had the chicken, beef and shrimp skewers, the rice came in a cute little box. they definately took time to work on presentation. Oh, and they have some really great drinks. One of the best dirty martinis around. For dessert we shared the warm doughnut holes. Yum. It is right next to their lounge so after dinner leave time for another drink and listen to the piano. A great spot in St. Charles.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    6
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere with good food and excellent service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Love the quaint romantic atmosphere. Good wine selection. Great place for a romantic dinner, girls night out, or a business meeting. One of my favorite restaurants in St Charles.


    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Gem in the Baker Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

A great dining room with a vibrant lounge this place rocks late! Food is fabulous and varied. The lounge has a well used piano and many nights a magician stops by

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Aurora, Illinois
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Very well prepared/presented American food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We have eaten at Rox City Grill twice. The food is awesome! The first time I had the scallop and ravioli special and the second time the Walleye. The restaurant is small but has nice art deco decor. The menu ranges from meats, fish, pork, chicken. Large portions, artfully presented and reasonable price for the amount you get. The bar was packed both times we were there. Ask for a window table and watch the street life/people go by. This is our go to place whenever we see a concert at the Arcada Theatre. I just wish people going to a nicer restaurant like this would wear something besides jeans. I like to get dressed up and it kind of ruins the experience for me.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berrien Center, MI
2 reviews
“Continental breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

This was free and adequate, but the selection was not very broad. Scrambled eggs, toast, cereal, some fruit, and some starchy pastries (danishes, cinammon rolls, etc.). Not a very healthy start to the morning, but continental breakfast never is, so no big deal. Would have appreciated some more selections, but wasn't expecting much from a middle of nowhere Mid-west hotel.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ROX City Grill also viewed

 

Been to ROX City Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ROX City Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.