We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stunning views across the English Channel from the open plan living accommodation
Stunning views across the English Channel from the open plan living accommodation
Stunning views across the English Channel from the open plan living accommodation
First floor bedroom view from the bed
Views of a great variety of maritime interest from fishing boat to cruise liner
Contemporary and stylish kitchen
Luxurious first floor bedroom with sea views from the slipper bath
St Margaret's Bay
|
Rental Home – 
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
swishswoo...
Cape Town
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We couldn't have asked for a more comfortable place to stay while we waited for good weather conditions so my husband could swim across the English Channel.
The view was amazing and the cottage has direct access to the paths along the White Cliffs where you can walk or run for miles.
The cottage is beautifully decorated with modern fittings and appliances and I loved the little Molton Brown shower gels.
On our arrival there was fresh bread and milk waiting for us. Other than the fridge being a little small everything was just perfect.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Stunning views all the way to France
Liked least: There was nothing not to like.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Gilles A
Wageningen, The Netherlands
1 review
“Marvelous cliff views and comfortable holiday rental”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

When we arrived we were surprised by the fabulous views from the cliffs, we were able to see France!
Very nice and comfortable holiday rental, luxury bedrooms and bathrooms, kitchen well equiped. The owners, who live nextdoor, are very friendly and great hospitality. Very easy access to cliff walks, through the beautifully maintained garden.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The views, the quietness and the comfort of the house
Liked least: poor cell phone reception
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Kit7ycat
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderfully Beautiful home away from home.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Amazing place to stay. Lovely walk to the cliffs and beach and very quite and peaceful. Loved going out for the day and coming back to a wonderful view over looking the canal.

Loved our stay there, if it is ever possible will most certainly stay there again.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The lovely clean place, felt like a home and the VIEW!
Liked least: Not sure what there was not to like.
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
ADiscerni...
Maidstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A reclusive hideaway with superb sunrise views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

If I were to book this property again, I would choose either spring or autumn for various reasons elaborated below. Most importantly, that will give an optimal balance between the number of daylight hours to enjoy the outdoors and not having to get up by 4 am to catch the sunrise, which was the very best thing about my stay in this apartment.
The stretch of road where the apartment is situated is full of potholes. I would park my car further up the road if the weather were warmer. A four-wheel drive will be handy also for exploring some of the "unowned" unpaved roads in the area.
I fear that there may be some real risk of being cut off in inclement weather (snow/flooding/landslip). The bus stop is at least 15 mins' walk and the closest village at least 30 mins? Good thing is, the manager lives next door. In case of emergency, help should not be far away at all. But it would be prudent to keep updated of weather changes, and a couple days' supply of food and flu tablets etc.
Communication was an issue for me, as my mobile phone didn't get a signal in the immediate area. In the end Skype was my only means to call family and friends from inside the apartment. (If it were Vodafone, the manager would be able to provide a signal booster.) I had to take special care not to have a slipping accident when out walking down to the beach, because the rain and melted snow made the paths littered by pony's discharge very slippery.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Sunrise, when the weather was fine. That was about 3 days over a very wet /overcast 20-day stay.
Liked least: No mobile signal for my network.
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$99
/
Night
Week
Request to Book
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
this property has payment protection
Owner
Anna W
Speaks English
Listed since : Oct 2012
Response Rate: 100 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 2 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing