We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disrespectful Managers and overbooking events” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Chicago O'Hare Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Chicago O'Hare Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Chicago O'Hare Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6501 North Mannheim Road, Rosemont, IL 60018   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Rosemont
Alsip
1 review
“Disrespectful Managers and overbooking events”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

We were staying a couple nights for a conference and the overall experience was just terrible.The hotel obviously sold more than they could handle because the staff was unable to keep up with the volume of people on the property. We brought this up to a manager named Robert as he passed through the restaurant. The only response that he gave us was don't worry Im a manager we know what we are doing. He seemed stressed by the situation but his tone and attitude was no way to speak to a customer. We brought this up to our event planner to which she will look into it. Besides the fact that he looked like he was 12 years old he should in no way be a "manager" as he was clueless on how to properly accept feedback given by an attendee. Never the less we made it through the chaos of the event with people from other groups not being directed and come to out break area and eating from the wrong set up. It didn't hurt anything but just added to the disorganization of the event as a whole. I would by no means recommend holding a function here of any kind. The prices were very cheap compared to surrounding hotels we were told but it was a clear indication of you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, Manager at Sheraton Chicago O'Hare Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Jennifer 1998,
I am terribly sorry that we were unable to exceed your expectations. I am very interested to learn more about the details as we do not have a Robert on our management team. If you would like to share more I would greatly appreciate it. Thank you for bringing this to my attention. I truly appreciate the feedback.
Many thanks
Paul C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    168
    80
    40
    25
See reviews for
74
58
54
214
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guadalajara, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

If traveling for business Ill sure recommend this hotel, very spacious rooms and amenities are nice. (Breakfast hours a little to short for me) but again, if you are working, you won't even notice a couple a small details (Shuttle only to airport / blue line, would be great to have a ride downtown ¨16 stops taking the train¨). Location is good, very close to airport, shopping mall, a couple of bars and a bunch of restaurants to choose from.

Room Tip: If you like planes, request a room facing the airport.. I enjoyed it very much! (Not noisy)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, Manager at Sheraton Chicago O'Hare Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear PjDiaz,

It is such a treat hearing wonderful feedback like yours. I am also excited to tell you that we will soon introduce several changes to our entire Breakfast experience. We hope to welcome you back to Sheraton Chicago Ohare real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Judgement a little bit effected by having to wait over 1 hour for the free collection shuttle bus to arrive at Chicago O'Hare. Considering the journey time is less than ten minutes - why so long?. Very polite female driver though.
Room and service no problem although having only drunk the complimentary bottled water my bill included a $2 charged for water - had this removed but how does it get on the bill in the first instance. All small issues but none the less an excellent hotel

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, Manager at Sheraton Chicago O'Hare Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear boblocke51

I appreciate you taking the time to share specifics of your recent stay. I have already spoken with the team and shared your feedback. I also shared with Wilma, the shuttle driver, your kind words. We appreciate you and look forward to welcoming you back to Sheraton Chicago OHare real soon. Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

I used this hotel for 2 consecutive weekends in October.
The hotel is convenient to the Airport and it has great rates on weekends. The property is in good shape and the rooms are all suites. Nice property overall.
However, because this is an overflow airport and conference hotel, the service is lacking. There is no attention to detail.
For instance, we had a breakfast package, but the vouchers were not given to us until the second or the third day. They never made up for it even though they promised to do it. We also had extra charges that we did not recognized.
As a platinum member you do not get any recognition.
I contacted the manager. Never got a reply back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, Manager at Sheraton Chicago O'Hare Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear ToniCTravelAmenniti,

Please accept my sincere apology for not being able to exceed your expectations. The details of your feedback are very concerning to me. I have met with the Director of Guest Services already and have taken immediate action to ensure this does not repeat.

If I can earn your trust back on your next trip to Chicago please call me directly.

Very best,
Paul Cardona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland Heights, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

It is a very good hotel to stay and the cost is pretty much less when compared to expensive hotels in downtown. Room was pretty big and they are well maintained. There is extra charge for parking. Our stay was very nice

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, Manager at Sheraton Chicago O'Hare Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Venkatesan,
I'm so happy to read your wonderful feedback! Thank you for sharing! Please know that I am available if I may ever assist with reservations for your next trip to Chicago.

All the best,
Paul Cardona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutz, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

My partner and I are both SPG Gold members. We have stayed at many Sheratons in the past few years, enjoying most of them. This one is special. Though not advertised in the name, it is an all suite hotel. The rooms are spacious and very well appointed with a super-comfy bed, great shower and bathroom and plenty of storage. The suite style room also had a fridge and coffee/tea maker. There were two flat screens, one in the living room, one in the bedroom.. We paid a little extra to stay on the Club Level on the top floor. This gives us a quieter top floor room, slightly upgraded room appointments and unlimited access to the Club Lounge.

The Club Lounge at this property was the best we've experienced to date. It had a nice variety of snacks and beverages 24/7. An expanded continental breakfast is served complimentary each morning including at least 1 hot item. They also served hor d'oeurves each afternoon around happy hour.

The hotel staff were pleasant and helpful for what few needs we had (we are not overly needy travelers). The young lady in the Club Lounge was especially nice.

The location is minutes away from O'Hare Airport with a frequent free shuttle. We liked that Enterprise rent-a-car is right across the street from the hotel. We opted to take the hotel shuttle from/to the airport. Because of this, we were able to cut one day off our car rental and avoid having to return the car before a morning flight home.

In summary, if you are looking for a great location, reasonable price and consistent comfort and service, this will be a great place to stay while visiting the Chicago area.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for the Club floor, it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, Manager at Sheraton Chicago O'Hare Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Randy S,
Wow! Thank you for the wonderful feedback!
I will be sure to post your note for all to see. It really does make a difference, thank you!!!

Paul Cardona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I attended a one-day conference at this hotel this past weekend, so my visit was not an overnight stay. There were 3 other conferences going on at the same time.

This hotel charges its guests and conference attendees for parking. I guess I can understand, to a point, being so close to O'Hare, they want to make sure they don't get people off the street parking in their teeny-tiny lot.

So, when it came time for lunch, we had 1 hour and decided to eat in the hotel, rather than have to find decent lunch facilities near O'Hare AND have to deal with paying in and out parking for the hotel.

The lunch staff was obviously not prepared. There was literally 2 people taking orders, one woman whom I truly felt bad for at first, until she started making excuses. There were 4 of us in our group and we figured ordering salads would be the quickest and simplest.

Boy, were we wrong. As soon as she took our orders, she brought us the checks! AND she hadn't even brought us water yet. We wound up getting our own water. It then took 40 minutes to get our salads, which were then brought in a small pasta bowl, because they had run out of clean salad bowls.

There were people who ordered cooked foods after us and got their food before us. We definitely questioned the amount of salad in our dishes because there was no way that it was the equivalent of what other guests received in the regular salad bowls.

Our hostess kept making excuses for the kitchen staff, which is completely unprofessional in the hospitality industry.

She offered us a free coffee 'to-go' instead of reducing the price of our meal. I wound up throwing the coffee away as it tasted like it had been sitting in the pot for hours. The salad portion we were served were definitely not worth what we paid.

Not a great experience at all.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, Manager at Sheraton Chicago O'Hare Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear PattyG,

On behalf of the entire Food and Beverage team please accept our sincere apologies for your recent experience. I will certain to share this with the Executive Chef along with the restaurant service staff.
I appreciate to the time you took to share everything. It really does make a difference so we can implement immediate changes.
Thank you again.
Paul Cardona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Chicago O'Hare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Chicago O'Hare Hotel

Address: 6501 North Mannheim Road, Rosemont, IL 60018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Rosemont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rosemont
#7 Family Hotel in Rosemont
#7 Business Hotel in Rosemont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Chicago O'Hare Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Chicago O'Hare Airport Hotel is in Rosemont, IL. Free shuttle service and park and fly packages are available. Stephens Convention Center, Allstate Arena and Rosemont Theatre are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Chicago O'Hare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Rosemont
Rosemont Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Chicago O'Hare Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.