We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Chicago O'Hare

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Chicago O'Hare to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Chicago O'Hare
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5440 North River Road, Rosemont, IL 60018   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #14 of 16 hotels in Rosemont
Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here on February 3rd before flying out of O'hare for vacation. The check in process was quick and easy with shuttle service to the airport and the free parking thoroughly explained. We ventured down to Visibility Bar to watch the Super Bowl, have dinner and a few drinks. The bartender, Joe, was great. We had an excellent dinner from the restaurant which came quickly. Our wake up call came on time early the next morning and the shuttle driver was courteous. Rooms were nice and clean and the bed was comfortable. We had a quick shuttle ride back when we returned from vacation and there were no problems upon leaving the free parking deck.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    142
    194
    106
    33
    24
See reviews for
76
104
50
220
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I was stranded because of a storm and had the pleasure to stay in this luxury hotel. The decor was beautiful the rooms very spacious and comfortable and the customer service was exceptional. The on sight lounge and restaurant were excellent - the food fabulous and very reasonable with exceptional service as well. I would recommend this hotel and plan on staying here again in the future! Thank you for your fabulous customer service!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Booked the Crown Plaza as our flight out of Ohare was scheduled for early-This is a very good hotel w/knowledge employees, clean w/good food-complenentary drink more than ample-Will return as this property is close to the airport w/schuttle service

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Missed my connection flight and had to stay an extra 24 hours in Chicago. Hilton was full, and this hotel shuttle car was just outside the terminal 2. Even when arriving very late they did the best to meet my needs (exstended stay in the room because late flight take off late the day after). I asked for a superier room but they where full. I was glad they where because the standard room turned out great. It was good sized, clean and very nice beds. The WiFi internet in the room worked perfectly. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPOHotel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your recent review and for sharing your feedback with our future guests. We know that when flights are cancelled, traveling can become stressful. I am delighted to know that we were able to accommodate you. We always aim to exceed our guest expectations and I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed the modern aesthetic of the property and that you found your accommodations clean and inviting.
Thank you again for choosing our hotel and we hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Cher Jacobsen
General Manager
(847) 928-3700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights for the first time. This property has been nicely upgraded and has a very modern feel in the lobby/common areas.

The rooms were nice, a bit small, but nice. I was upgraded to a corner suite which had 2 rooms (sitting and bedroom) as well as a very large, nicely appointed bathroom. However, it was very cold and the heater didn't seem to be able to keep up (it should be noted it was below 0F at night during my stay).

The food at the restaurant on site was quite good but the atmosphere was lacking. The bar area (where I eat when I'm alone) was very poor, almost an afterthought (and they bill it as a feature - might be better in when it's warmer). The wine and liquor selection was VERY basic; kind of what you'd expect from a Holiday Inn off an interstate exit.

The biggest problem with this hotel was there was NO ONE there. I sat at the bar 2 nights in a row with only one other person... And there wasn't even any evidence of other people in the hotel.

The location is nice however this is why I only gave THIS property 3 stars.

Next door is the Doubletree Hotel; its restaurant is Gibson's Steakhouse where I went for dinner one evening - it was packed, standing room only in the bar until we were seated. Great food, great bar, fun atmosphere to watch a game or have a drink.

Out the back door and through the parking garage is a new development, MB Financial Park, with several nice restaurants, shops and bars. Immediately adjacent to this development is the Aloft hotel.

While you do have access to all of this from the Crowne Plaza, it would be much better and more convenient to stay at one of the other properties It really makes you reconsider how much you really want your Priority Club points!

All in all this is easily a 4 star property but, considering the other options, I deducted a star as I'll choose one of the other properties for my next stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear jch67,

Thank you for taking the time to your review. We apologize for the shortfalls during your recent stay with us. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I stayed here after my flight was delayed going into Chicago & I missed my connection. I was very impressed with the room & the king sized bed was fabulous to sleep on! I was in a corner room & the floor length windows were wonderful! The bathroom was very nice & they had everything I needed! The guys at the front desk were very pleasant. If I ever have to stay in Chicago again I will be staying here! I was disappointed with the $12.95 wifi but I understand that some hotels must charge for this. It was only for one night so I wasn't too internet deprived. I was a bit disappointed that the gym was closed at 10 but it wasn't a big deal. :)

Room Tip: Corner rooms have windows on the side as well, I was very happy with that!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvan Lake, Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We volunteered to stay the night in Chicago when our United Airlines flight was over booked. They put us up at the Crowne Plaza and I can say that I was impressed! The room was spacious and updated and the bed was very comfortable. We went for a swim and the pool was warm and big, no hot tub though! :(
We went for dinner at the restaurant at the hotel and it was delish with great service. Everyone was very friendly and accommodating!
I would stay here again and recommend this hotel to my friends.

Room Tip: I was on the 8th floor and the room was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPOHotel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words and wonderful review. I am ecstatic to hear how much you loved the property and that your overnight stay with us was delightful and memorable. I am pleased to know that you loved your accommodations as well as the delicious food and service in our Chicago Fire Oven restaurant. I am overjoyed to learn how impressed you were with the personal and efficient service you received throughout your stay. It is very important to all of us here at the Crowne Plaza O'Hare to ensure that all our guests are happy and well taken care of while visiting. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Chicago or Rosemont.

Sincerely,

Cher Jacobsen
General Manager
(847) 928-3700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Chicago O'Hare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Chicago O'Hare

Address: 5440 North River Road, Rosemont, IL 60018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Rosemont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Rosemont
#14 Business Hotel in Rosemont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Chicago O'Hare 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the BRAND NEW, Crowne Plaza Chicago O'Hare. With newly renovated guest rooms and suites, ballrooms, meeting rooms, restaurant, and common areas, our full-service hotel delivers BRAND NEW comforts, along with attentive service and a variety of amenities. Perfect for the business and leisure traveler, all just minutes from O'Hare and steps away from the Donald Stevens Convention Center and Rosemont Theater. BRAND NEW GUEST ROOMS AND SUITES - All 503 of the hotels guest rooms have been completely re-styled and are eco-friendly. The rooms are decorated with a delightfully rich design that is classic and comfortable. All of the furniture is custom made with the best materials and crafted by the finest of experts. Dining is delectable and close at hand. Choices include dining at Chicago Fire Oven, a full service restaurant which offers specialty sandwiches, salads, pizzas and burgers, grab a bite at On the Fly, offering a variety of breakfast pastries, salads and sandwiches, or relax at our Visibility Bar, enjoying specialty pizzas with 10 beers on tap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Chicago O'Hare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Chicago o`Hare Hotel Rosemont
Crowne Plaza Rosemont
Crowne Plaza Hotel Rosemont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Chicago O'Hare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.