We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad service, run down and overpriced” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN at O'Hare

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN at O'Hare to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN at O'Hare
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10300 West Higgins Road, Rosemont, IL 60018   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #16 of 16 hotels in Rosemont
Mariefred, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Bad service, run down and overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed 1 night during business trip, the hotel is run down, the middle eastern guy in the front desk seemed mostly annoyed by the fact that 2 guests had showed up to stay in "his" hotel. The room was also run down, very old tv and noisy AC. Overall a bad place to stay. And overpriced!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria R, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN at O'Hare, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you, Eric, for taking the time to write a review. We truly apologize for your inconvenience during your stay. I have forwarded your comment to our management - please be assured that we will follow up on it. We continuously train our team members to excel in customer service. Your review will definitely be used for training.

Will you be able to contact me at the hotel? I would like to get more information from you about your stay. Please call 847-296-4471 or email me at Maria.Rowland@bestwesternohare.com.

We value your business and we would love for you to stay with us again. Once again, thank you for your time and I look forward to hearing back from you.

Cordially,
Maria Rowland
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    79
    73
    34
    29
See reviews for
43
57
42
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johnson City, Tennessee
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed at this Best Western before an early flight at O'Hare. The rooms are fine, but difficult to transition to as we had just checked out of the Chicago Hilton. The non-smoking room was a little stale smelling with smoke though, and this was probably my only complaint. The free shuttle to the airport is a great bonus.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria R, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN at O'Hare, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank for taking the time to write a review. We apologize for the inconvenience during your stay. Do you mind giving me a call at the hotel so I can get more information from you?

We appreciate every comment, negative or positive - and we use it to find ways to improve our hotel and our service.

Sincerely,
Maria Rowland
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We could not get a room in downtown Chicago for our first night of a 4 night trip due to the marathon, and picked this hotel for our first night, which was a good choice. The corridors are a little dated but the room was pleasant and clean and a decent size. Staff were very friendly. There is a free shuttle which runs 24 hours every half an hour to and from the airport. Door 2 of shuttle bus area at airport. There is an adjoining restaurant which was good, and it serves a good complimentary continental breakfast in the morning - breads, pancakes, cereals, juice, pastries. The bus driver took us back to the airport the next day to get the blue line into downtown to continue our holiday. A little far to stay out of town for all 4 nights but good for the first night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria R, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN at O'Hare, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a good review. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Our hotel shuttle runs 24 hours a day, and picks up our guests from Door 2 at the Bus Shuttle Center every half hour. There is a train station at O'Hare Airport to go to downtown Chicago. Unfortunately, the train ride is not that short but most of the time, we still recommend that our guests take the train than drive to Chicago. It is more convenient and less expensive.

It's good to know that you enjoyed our complimentary continental breakfast. Besides the usual continental items, we try to offer something hot from our kitchen for guests, and we will continue to come up with ideas to make it better.

Once again, thank you for the review and we hope to have you again as our guest in the near future.

Sincerely,
Maria Rowland
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbor Springs, Michigan
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

From the outside the hotel looks dated however the rooms are updated and have a modern feel.
Staff were friendly and efficient on checkin. Room was clean, the bathroom was sparkling clean! The bed was very comfortable the only gripe might be that the tv was old and the picture a little fuzzy. Although only 10 minutes away from O'Hare airport we didn't hear any planes.
There is a free shuttle to the airport that runs every 30 minutes

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria R, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN at O'Hare, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you, Jan, for a great review. We have a great team in this hotel, we always strive to take care of our guests. I will make sure to forward your comment to them.

Our hotel shuttle picks up our guests every half hour from Door 2 at the Bus Shuttle Center and from Door 5E for international flights. The shuttle runs 24 hours a day and it is complimentary to all of our guests.

With regards to the old TV's - we are working on replacing all of them by the end of this year. Hopefully, we can even get the new ones before then.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write a review. Please let me know when you're coming back to the O'Hare area and I will be glad to personally make your reservation.

Sincerely,
Maria Rowland
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This hotel needs to upgrade their rooms. Mine had wrinkled carpet, cracks above sink. The rooms are dated and feel cramped. TV did not work. Had to call twice before someone came up to fix it. I am 5'6 and the bed was high for me. A shorter person would need a step stool to get in the bed. One of the lamps next to the bed did not work. After changing the light bulbs and almost changing the lamps, I determined that one outlet on the extension cord being used for this lamp did not work. I would think the maid service would check to see if all lights worked. The desk was right next to the air conditioner/heater, making it difficult to sit at the desk for any length of time with the unit running. The mid-afternoon staff that checked me in did not exhibit a friendly attitude. Seemed like they know they will get business because of their location and really don't care. Did not have the breakfast as I left too early. However, I did have dinner at the restaurant where breakfast was offered. The restaurant was nothing special. One plus did stand out: not much noise from O'Hare Airport. However, that is not the determining factor as to whether I would stay at this Best Western again. I will definitely seek other places to stay when flying out of O'Hare.

Room Tip: Unless, they have updated any of their rooms, I don't believe they have any "good" roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria R, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN at O'Hare, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
I apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us. However, I truly appreciate that you took some time to write a review. We welcome all of our guests' reviews, positive or negative - it helps us re-train our staff and figure out where we can make improvements.

I want to check on the room that you stayed in and do a follow-up. Do you mind contacting me at the hotel?

Thank you for your time and I look forward to hearing back from you.

Sincerely,
Maria Rowland
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed at this hotel overnight before our flight to Memphis. The hotel was clean and good size beds. However, there was a strong smell of cigarettes lingering in the room.mthe room included breakfast, which was ok.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria R, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN at O'Hare, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you, Abbey, for taking the time to write a review. We truly appreciate the comments.

Our complimentary continental breakfast is served at our on-site restaurant daily. Besides the usual continental breakfast, we offer pancakes that are made fresh from our kitchen.

I apologize for the smell of smoke - unfortunately, our hotel still has 4 smoking rooms on our highest floor. I will forward your comment to our Housekeeping Staff and Management - we will try to work harder so the smoke does not get into non-smoking rooms or the hallways.

Once again, thank you for your time. We hope to have you as our guest again in the near future.

Cordially,
Maria Rowland
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Very professional, accommodating staff. The room was clean and secure, and the bed was ridiculously comfortable, on par with much more expensive hotels. No loud airplane takeoff noises outside, as it's far enough from the runways to escape that.

Airport shuttle was always on time (stops at hotel at :05 and :35 past the hour, and at the airport about 10 minutes later) and drivers were courteous.

It's a bit of a commute from the Best Western to Chicago proper but you couldn't ask for an easier trip back to the airport when it's time to leave.

This isn't a luxury hotel, nor does it claim to be one-- but it's lovely in its own right. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria R, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN at O'Hare, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you, Mr. Mercuri, for taking the time to write an honest review about our hotel. We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay and hopefully, you will stay with us again in the near future.

As you stated, we are not fancy - we do not even have a swimming pool to cater to leisure travelers, but we try our best to offer comfort and convenience to all our guests. Our guests choose our hotel primarily because of our location to O'Hare Airport. We are conveniently located close to O'Hare, less than 3 miles and it's about a 10-minute ride. Our hotel shuttle is complimentary and picks up our guests every half hour from the hotel lobby and from the Bus Shuttle Center at O'Hare Airport. We also have our own restaurant on property so our guests do not have to go far to get something to eat.

I checked your last stay, Mr. Mercuri, and you booked through a third party site. The next time that you are travelling to Chicago and would like to stay with us, please contact me directly and I will personally make your reservation. Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to have you as our guest soon.

Sincerely,
Maria Rowland
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN at O'Hare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN at O'Hare

Address: 10300 West Higgins Road, Rosemont, IL 60018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Rosemont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Rosemont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN at O'Hare 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Rosemont, Illinois hotel is one mile from O'Hare International Airport and the Blue Line train serving downtown Chicago 24 hours. The Best Western At O'Hare offers guests a variety of convenient dining options on site. The Pine Grove Restaurant offers the best breakfast in Rosemont along with fresh lunch items and great dinners. Shoeless Joe's Alehouse, guests enjoy an American style bar serving a wide variety of specialty beers along with an excellent menu, from appetizers to complete dinners. The hotel offers a 24 hour shuttle to O'Hare airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN at O'Hare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western At o`Hare Hotel Rosemont
Best Western Hotel Rosemont
Best Western Rosemont
Rosemont Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN at O'Hare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.