We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smooth Jazz Chicago” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Chicago O'Hare Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Chicago O'Hare Hotel to your Saves list
Loews Chicago O'Hare Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5300 N River Road, Rosemont, IL 60018 (Formerly InterContinental Chicago O'Hare)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Rosemont
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Smooth Jazz Chicago”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

I attended a contemporary jazz concert at the Montrose Room in the hotel on 5/12/13. The venue is so intimate and perfect for watching a concert. There is no bad seat in the house. I commend the hotel and SmoothJazzChicago.net for collaborating on bringing wonderful contemporary jazz acts to Chicago.

I decided to splurge and stay the night at the hotel. This is nicer than the typical airport hotel. My room was decorated in a modern style, very clean lines, and well-located lighting. The king-sized bed was very comfortable. The only thing I missed in the room was a coffee maker. I'm a person that likes my coffee as soon as I wake up and not have to get dressed to get it, however this is not a strike against the hotel as I don't expect all hotels to have that amenity.

I used the fitness center in the morning prior to checking-out. It's well-appointed and clean.

I look forward to returning to this hotel and enjoying more concerts in the Montrose Room.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PKCook, Director of Sales at Loews Chicago O'Hare Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
Yes, our Montrose Room shows are frequently selling out, so we do advise tickets be purchased in advance. Please visit our Montrose Room web site for information.
Thank you again for choosing to stay with us.

Patrick Cook, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    261
    72
    26
    7
See reviews for
83
164
95
406
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chesterfield South Carolina
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Rooms were clean and dated well. Front desk was excellent. The Frisco restaurant on site serves a very good burger. The Union employees in the restaurant were very professional. The breakfast buffet was second to none. We had a little problem with people not involved in our meeting walking through our meeting to get to another conference room. Overall very well done!

Room Tip: As with any hotel stay away from the exit doors!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PKCook, Director of Sales at Loews Chicago O'Hare Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you for choosing to hold your conference with us. If we can do anything to assist with your future needs, let us know.

Regards,
Patrick Cook, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Great friendly service both from the hotel and banquet staff. Very clean rooms, but not a quiet as I would expect from this nameplate. Granted they are near an airport, but that should have been part of the design. Shuttle service to and from O'Hare is good, occurring every 20 minutes. The heavy union influence was a turn off with almost all employees wearing a pin. When I asked a couple of them "why" they replied that we have to if we want to work.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PKCook, Director of Sales at Loews Chicago O'Hare Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. Sorry you were able to hear the plane traffic. That is a very rare occurence. Our building was designed to keep this noise out which is the case nearly 100% of the time. We hope you choose to return very soon and let us know if there's anything else we can do to assist.

Regards,
Patrick Cook, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I've spent three days here for a business trip. The Intercontinental O'Hare confirms the good reputation the Intercontinental group has worldwide. The hotel is strategically positioned very close to the international airport, connected with a reliable free shuttle service (every 20 minutes, starting at the hour). The area is surrounded by offices (my one happens to be right behind the hotel), but not only, there are very good restaurants in the area (I'll make separate reviews for them) and the FRESCO21, the in-house restaurant is providing good food and fast service. The room was clean and size above average. A bit noisy the air conditioning (that is why I'm rating it with four stars instead of five). The gym was also well equipped, but a bit small for such a big hotel, it happened to be quite crowdy. All in all, I would recommend it and would certainly select it again. Courtesy wi-fi was provided, with very good speed and availability. I believe it is a must in a business oriented facility like this.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PKCook, Director of Sales at Loews Chicago O'Hare Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you for your thorough review. Since your company's offices are behind the hotel, you might return in the future. If so, let us know if we can do anything else for you. Also, since you're fmailiar with the location, you know that the new shopping mall - 125 upscale stores - will be opening behind us in less than 3 months. This will be a wonderful addition for our guests.

Regards,
Patrick Cook, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for my birthday and we were upgraded to a suite. It was beautiful and very spacious. Everything was very clean. The breakfast buffet was delicious with so many choice. The stay was perfect:-). I would recommend and stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PKCook, Director of Sales at Loews Chicago O'Hare Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Happy Birthday! We hope we see you again next year...or sooner.

Regards,
Patrick Cook, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I stayed here for one night for a business meeting. The staff is extremely helpful and responsive, from when I made the reservation through my short stay. I had a package sent to the hotel with meeting materials and it arrived safely and immediately sent to my room upon my arrival. The shuttle from the airport to the hotel is convenience although I would have appreciated the use of air conditioning on the 80 degree day.

The business center is self serve, uses Macs (which is highly inconvenient when your materials are PC-based) and is very expensive. I did appreciate being able to print out my boarding pass for free but spent $25 to use their computer for 10 minutes and print one document. Much too expensive, in my opinion.

The room is nice enough and very modern. The bathroom is actually too modern for my particular taste (see pictures). The shower head is a rain shower head that just drops water down from the ceiling, it cannot be adjusted in any way and the shower does not have a door to completely enclose it. I am also a bath person and there was no bathtub, only a shower. The hot water was plentiful. The sink is also a type where water splashes everywhere. There is also a magnified makeup mirror (but without a light). They do offer a great deal of bathroom amenities, including good toiletries, shower cap, cotton swabs, nail file, sewing kit - a full range of items not often offered by all hotels these days - even business hotels. The lighting in the bathroom is very low and there is also limited counter space.

The meeting room for our meeting was set up on-time and the staff members working the AV and breakfast were wonderful and responsive. The food was very good. The acoustics for the meeting were good as well. I would definitely have another meeting here.

Taxis do not service the property constantly so if you need one, you need to request one in advance.

Just because I am not a fan of the modern style, I would not ding the property for that fact necessarily so I would recommend this property to others, especially if they are into the modern set-up/layout.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PKCook, Director of Sales at Loews Chicago O'Hare Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. You interacted with many departments and used much of our facility - again, thank you.
One clarification - our business center computers are compatible with all operating systems, not just Macs. Our business center managers are available to assist.

Regards,
Patrick Cook, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Big rooms with full amenities and though you can see the busy airport from your window, it is not as noisy as you expect it.
A nice modern and clean lobby but little experienced check in staff.
Have seen better room service menus in other Intercont and got sick from the breakfast which is not very tempting.
Nice area around the hotel and would stay again if I am connecting in Chicago but would eat somewhere around.
Price is very reasonable and over all it is superb for a hotel by the airport though I was disappointed to pay 22 U.S.D per nigh for the parking in an area where could have been a plenty of space for parking and after all it is not a downtown location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PKCook, Director of Sales at Loews Chicago O'Hare Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you for the feedback. Please let us know if you plan on returning anytime soon.
Regards,
Patrick Cook, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Chicago O'Hare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Chicago O'Hare Hotel

Address: 5300 N River Road, Rosemont, IL 60018 (Formerly InterContinental Chicago O'Hare)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Rosemont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rosemont
#1 Business Hotel in Rosemont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Chicago O'Hare Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 556
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Loews Chicago O'Hare is the area's first luxury hotel with its very own art gallery featuring a full-time curator and monthly art exhibitions. The works of Chicago's most intriguing artists are displayed throughout the hotel. After dinner enjoy live entertainment in our very own Montrose Theatre. Architecture buffs will enjoy a visit to the Frank Lloyd Wright Home while sports fans can attend a game at nearby Wrigley Field. We are located just minutes from O Hare International Airport and 14 miles west of downtown Chicago, making us the perfect destination for business and conference guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Loews Chicago O'Hare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Chicago o`Hare Hotel Rosemont
Intercontinental Hotel Rosemont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Chicago O'Hare Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.