We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a nice airport hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Chicago O'Hare

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Chicago O'Hare to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Chicago O'Hare
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5300 N River Road, Rosemont, IL 60018   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 16 hotels in Rosemont
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“a nice airport hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Big rooms with full amenities and though you can see the busy airport from your window, it is not as noisy as you expect it.
A nice modern and clean lobby but little experienced check in staff.
Have seen better room service menus in other Intercont and got sick from the breakfast which is not very tempting.
Nice area around the hotel and would stay again if I am connecting in Chicago but would eat somewhere around.
Price is very reasonable and over all it is superb for a hotel by the airport though I was disappointed to pay 22 U.S.D per nigh for the parking in an area where could have been a plenty of space for parking and after all it is not a downtown location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PKCook, Director of Sales at InterContinental Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you for the feedback. Please let us know if you plan on returning anytime soon.
Regards,
Patrick Cook, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    358
    235
    69
    24
    4
See reviews for
75
142
89
348
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed at the InterContinental O'Hare because we had tickets for a concert in their Montrose room. Parking was a bit confusing at first, but once we figured out where the entrance was, it was very convenient. Check-in went smoothly however we were supposed to receive drink coupons that never materialized. We were initially told they placed them in our room but when we got to the room they were not there. We called the front desk and were told that someone would deliver them promptly. They did deliver our breakfast coupons but we never received the drink coupons. Not the worst that can happen, but hey, it was their deal. Just sayin'.

Room was comfortable, modern, and clean. No issues. It was great to stay here because they also have some very nice restaurant options if you do not want to leave the hotel. We ate at McCormick and Schmicks for dinner, which was great. The buffet breakfast was just OK.

The Montrose room where the concert was held was unusual. It is not a big venue, which makes it nice for a small concert, but we had no drink service the entire evening. There was also a lack of seating so if you are attending something here, go early, the seats were gone within minutes of opening the doors.

The hotel provided all that we needed during our stay. We would return for a similar occasion or if we needed accomodations in the area for any reason and the price was right.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PKCook, Director of Sales at InterContinental Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for attending our show in the Montrose Room and staying the night. Yes, our shows are frequently sold out, so we advise tickets be purchased in advance. Please visit our web site for information.
Thank you again for choosing to stay with us.

Regards,
Patrick Cook
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Dakota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Comfortable room, with pretty but somewhat dysfunctional bathroom--inconvenient towel bars, difficult shaving secondary to sink position--fashion, not function. Rest of room and property was very good. Comfortable beds, quiet rooms. Very nice stay

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PKCook, Director of Sales at InterContinental Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you staying with us. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back very soon.

Patrick Cook, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This hotel has it all. They are very friendly and will do anything to make your stay better. From calling you by last name when calling the front desk to prompt attention to any issues great managed property and would recommend to anyone in the area. Only complaint was server at the restaurant left a bit to be desired, however the food was great!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PKCook, Director of Sales at InterContinental Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your recent stay. We hope your organization selects us again for future events. Let us know if there's anythuing else we can do for you.

Regards,
Patrick Cook, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio/Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Just had to give a rave review to this hotel for several reasons:
1. Arrived at noon, and they were able to check me in to my room. (Clearly, I understand that they could not have accommodated me if they were sold out - but it was really nice.)
2. Got room service. Food and service is fabulous. I've had so much room service, but I've never had such a great server. And I ordered a glass of wine - which was poured from the bottle. What a nice touch. Because one is never quite sure that glass of wine is actually what is on the room service menu.
3. Cleanliness.
4. Professional yet warm service.
5. Location.

Why would you select some sterile airport hotel when you could pick an InterContinental? (Rhetorical...)

You will not be disappointed in this great iteration of an InterContinental in an airport setting.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PKCook, Director of Sales at InterContinental Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments. We have passed along your feedback to Room Service - they'll be delighted to see it. We hope to see you again very soon.

Patrick Cook
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stayed at the Intercontinental last weekend. Due to flooding roads it took much longer than anticipated to get to our hotel and we were very frazzled when we arrived. The guy behind the counter did not give much info other than the restaurants. He did not inform us that our reservation for our executive king suite was not available. We did not find out until we got to the room. Needless to say, we were very upset. Called the front desk and David Werem, the Assistant Director of the Front Office explained that the flooding caused some people to stay over. He said the person at the counter should have informed us. He gave us our room (which was a junior suite) for a regular room price, plus free full breakfast. The next day while we were at the Art Institute they moved our suitcases to a king executive suite. They charged us for a regular room again that night plus free breakfast again on Sunday. David was very, very accommodating. He is professional and courteous. Because of how he handled the situation we would definitely stay here again. Ate at McCormick one night and Capital Grille the next. Both great places. The Ice Bar is closed - disappointed in that. Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PKCook, Director of Sales at InterContinental Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank yor your feedback. David is a great asset to our hotel. We're fortunate to have him with us, and we're equally fortunate to have two great restaurant partners in our front yard. Last week was tough weather for us in the midwest but Spring is in the air this week. Hope to have you back with us soon.

Regards,
Patrick Cook, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night using my priority points. I chose this hotel as its close to the airport and it is close to the Cruise America rental location where we are going to pick up our RV for the rest of our holiday. When we arrived into O'Hare we called for the shuttle and was told 10 minutes. 45 minutes later we were still waiting and when we called again we were told the shuttle got full up at Terminal 2 so never came to pick us up. We then had to take all our luggage and 2 kids over to Terminal 2 to catch the shuttle. We arrived early and our room was not ready so we left our bags and went Downtown. When we did check in later that evening they did apologise again for the shuttle and gave us free wifi to say sorry. The room was very nice and the beds were very comfy. Would stay here again if passing through but it is a 30 min L train ride downtown from Rosemount Station

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PKCook, Director of Sales at InterContinental Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
We're very sorry for the delayed shuttle. Normally, we don't fill our 20 pax vehicles but last week was very busy. Again, our apologies. We hope the remainder of your vacation with the family was memorable and that your first night with us started it off in style.

Regards,
Patrick Cook, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental Chicago O'Hare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Chicago O'Hare

Address: 5300 N River Road, Rosemont, IL 60018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Rosemont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rosemont
#2 Business Hotel in Rosemont
#9 Family Hotel in Rosemont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Chicago O'Hare 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Chicago O hare is the area s first luxury hotel with its very own art gallery featuring a full-time curator and monthly art exhibitions. The works of Chicago's most intriguing artists are displayed throughout the hotel. After dinner enjoy live entertainment in our very own Montrose Theatre. Architecture buffs will enjoy a visit to the Frank Lloyd Wright Home while sports fans can attend a game at nearby Wrigley Field. We are located just minutes from O Hare International Airport and 14 miles west of downtown Chicago, making us the perfect destination for business and conference guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your InterContinental Chicago O'Hare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Chicago o`Hare Hotel Rosemont
Intercontinental Hotel Rosemont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Chicago O'Hare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.