We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent on all levels” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Chicago O'Hare Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Chicago O'Hare Hotel to your Saves list
Loews Chicago O'Hare Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5300 N River Road, Rosemont, IL 60018 (Formerly InterContinental Chicago O'Hare)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Rosemont
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent on all levels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

Having stayed in many hotels around the globe, I can honestly say this was one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. If not, THE best hotel. The service was impeccable, the rooms were clean, smelled fresh and were nicely decorated, the staff was amazing the location was perfect. After having stayed for one night in the Marriott SpringHill Suites before I arrived in this hotel, this was a breath of fresh air. A big breath.

I was welcomed by Sam (I won't mention his last name for privacy reasons). This gentlemen knows was hospitality is all about. We had a friendly chat for a couple of minutes and before I knew it, I received free wireless internet and a great corner room on the top floor. He really knows how to please his guests and how to let them come back. Kudos Sam, you did great, keep it up!

The room itself was excellent - a standard King. I realize I had a great location (top and corner), but apart from that, the room smelled clean and was nicely decorated in a Scandinavian sort of style. The bathroom was clean, nicely sized, looked great and had a nice rain shower (which could be a little more powerfull). There was a "KEURIG" coffee machine, ice in the bucket ready for use, a fully stocked mini bar which actually allows you to look at things for 45 seconds before you get charged and a newspaper every morning (USA Today).

Internet reception was OK-ish. The reception varied between 1 and 48 Mbps, depending on the location in the room and the time of the day. Usually in the early evening hours, the usage was around 1 Mbps, which is usable, but not really 2011, Given all the other pros, this con was a minor detail though :-). I enjoyed my internet anyway.

Parking was 22 USD flat rate per 24 hours, if I recall correctly. At the desk you can get a special (blue) voucher card which allows you to drive in and out and get the parking charged to your room. You should consider doing this. When you drive out, make sure you first insert the card you obtained when driving in, after that, insert the voucher card. The voucher card you get back after it is processed.

Room service could not have been better. Ordering was smooth and they actually give you a good estimate when it gets delivered. In both my cases it got delivered even before the estimate. Room service was brought up to me by a gentlemen named Cam. He was an extremely nice guy. Very polite and every time he brought room service, we had a nice chat. He also explained nicely what he actually brought up. In a lot of hotels nowadays they just drop the tray on the table, ask for a signature and then leave. Not Cam, he did some explaining first.

All in all, my stay really was excellent. I used to be a Marriott fan, but more and more I am leaning towards IHG, to which InterContinental and Crowne Plaza both belong. If you ever consider a hotel in the CHG area, use this one. You pay a little more for the extras, like breakfast, internet and parking, but it is well worth the money in my perspective.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a corner room on one of the higher levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandriaboy, Director of Sales at Loews Chicago O'Hare Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2011
Thank you very much for staying with us and for your feedback. We have thanked Sam and our culinary team for providing you with the service you expect and deserve.
Please let us know if there is every anything else we can do to assist in the future.

Regards,

Patrick Cook
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    263
    73
    26
    7
See reviews for
84
170
95
412
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

I was very fortunate to stay at the Intercontinental Rosemont for one night before a trip to Asia. It's a new property and mostly lived up to expectations. My room (904) was an upgrade due to status and it was very clean, well appointed and spacious. The room has a walk-in closet, large buffet with empty cabinets and I was most impressed by the loveseat with a chaise. The bed was comfortable with great lighting and access panels beside both sides of the bed which contained electrical plugs to recharge your phone or other devices.

A standard flat screen Sharp TV was on a small work desk. Wireless internet was fast and not too problematic to engage. The mini-bar fridge is one of the new electronic ones with no room for anything you bring. It warns you if you disturb it more than 45 seconds it charges you....Congress should make these illegal...

The bathroom is interesting. It’s large with a huge shower with an overhead rain shower head. The sink was very strange. It looked like a cross between an open trash can, or a Holy Water dish in a large church, or a baptismal or even a spittoon. And even stranger, above the sink was a narrow ledge containing the Elemis amenities. There is very little room to arrange your bathroom stuff. The sink and this ledge are a miss in my view.

My only other complaint is the desk chair. It's uncomfortable and unadjustable.

Hotel staff are very efficient, friendly and helpful. The Intercontinental has large meeting and event rooms available which could accommodate various sized groups.

There is also a very nice shuttle to O'Hare. The gym is 24 hour and was OK at best. No locker rooms, steam or sauna.

In summary, this is an upscale property with comfortable well appointed rooms and a super staff. If you are in Rosemont or delayed as always at O'Hare I recommend you give it a try.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandriaboy, Director of Sales at Loews Chicago O'Hare Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2011
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you have recommended to your fellow travelers to visit us.
I hope we have the chance again very soon to accommodate you and that you will let us know in advance of your arrival. We will do everything we can to ensure a perfect stay.
Thank you again for your business.

Regards,
Patrick Cook
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

I loved it! The hotel rooms have plenty of space and amenities. The rooms have a european style which is very nice. It's close to the airport.

There is a restaurant in the hotel which is pricey. There's also 2 restaurants across from the hotel. The steakhouse is very pricey and the other (McCormick and Schmicks) is a bit more reasonable.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandriaboy, Director of Sales at Loews Chicago O'Hare Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2011
Thank you for your recent stay. You mentioned the dining options, and are we are very pleased to say that our lobby-level "Bistro" will soon be joined by our new full-service restaurant. We expect to open this during the first half of 2012.
Thank you again for choosing to stay with us.

Regards,
Patrick Cook
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

As good as the first, top rate hotel with "clean" and comfortable rooms. Second business meeting on site and can't find anything negative to say. Top of the list for, did I mention "clean" hotel with top tier service.

Room Tip: Had a Standard King on the 5th floor and did not hear a peep at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandriaboy, Director of Sales at Loews Chicago O'Hare Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2011
Welcome back for the second time! We are very pleased that you chose to return. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to make your next stay even more comfortable.

Regards,
Patrick Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Il
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

Very modern, Rooms clean and well-kept, and extremely quiet. Wonderful view from top floor. I had hoped for a bathtub but was treated to a uniquely design shower. Check-in was efficient. Staff was helpful.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokosuka
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Very modern hotel, not far from the O'hare airport in Chicago. Shuttle service to and from the airport. Hotel new, and with a very modern design. Rooms clean and well-kept, but still new. The dining room and the hotel rooms are a bit pricey, but probably average for the big name hotels in the area.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greensboro, nc
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

Went to a 4 day conference at the InterContinental, the staff and service were top notch. Love the modern decor and art galleries in hotel. Conference services were excellent. Bar and small restaurant were pleasant. Beds were super comfortable. Bedding was particularly nice. Nice fun art and decor in room. Not in love with shower, it was difficult to get a good hot shower with the rainhead showerhead as a shorter person.Taxi and airport shuttle services were on time and efficient. Very difficult to get a reasonable priced cup of coffee outside of the conference.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Chicago O'Hare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Chicago O'Hare Hotel

Address: 5300 N River Road, Rosemont, IL 60018 (Formerly InterContinental Chicago O'Hare)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Rosemont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Rosemont
#1 Business Hotel in Rosemont
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rosemont
#8 Family Hotel in Rosemont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Chicago O'Hare Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 556
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Loews Chicago O'Hare is the area's first luxury hotel with its very own art gallery featuring a full-time curator and monthly art exhibitions. The works of Chicago's most intriguing artists are displayed throughout the hotel. After dinner enjoy live entertainment in our very own Montrose Theatre. Architecture buffs will enjoy a visit to the Frank Lloyd Wright Home while sports fans can attend a game at nearby Wrigley Field. We are located just minutes from O Hare International Airport and 14 miles west of downtown Chicago, making us the perfect destination for business and conference guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Loews Chicago O'Hare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Chicago o`Hare Hotel Rosemont
Intercontinental Hotel Rosemont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Chicago O'Hare Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.