We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The building is fine, but not much else” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Chicago O'Hare

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Chicago O'Hare to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Express Chicago O'Hare
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6600 North Mannheim Road, Rosemont, IL 60018   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #11 of 16 hotels in Rosemont
San Jose, CA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“The building is fine, but not much else”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This hotel doesn't benefit the Holiday Inn Express brand. The building is modern and clean. All of the basic requirements are here. But the staff at the reception desk clearly hates their jobs and has little regard for its customers either. They do their jobs competently but make no effort to be friendly. The rooms are adequate and reasonably comfortable. The Internet service is awful, making this hotel undesirable for business or tourism. I recommend this hotel if you're catching an early flight out of O'Hare or if a flight cancellation leaves you stranded. It serves as a decent place to sleep, but nothing more. Do not plan to stay more than one night because you'll be disappointed.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Cjn60,
Thank you very much for the review we truly do appreciate it and know the only way we can improve is if customers like you let us know. I do apologize about the experience you had with my front desk staff. My staff tries their hardest to take care of every guest and it is upsetting to hear that we failed you. If you could do a favor for me and please email me or contact me via phone so I can find your reservation and see who was working so I can help coach that associate. My email is amiller@hieohare.com and my phone number is 847-544-7515.
Thank you once again and I look forward to hearing from you.
Sincerely,
Adam Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    116
    130
    56
    29
    13
See reviews for
83
71
41
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

It was OK for one night stay before taking an early morning flight.
The room looked decent for the price, although the wall was so thin that I could hear a lot from next door.
The place is near the airport, so there is constant noise from busy traffic too. Also, there is not much available within walking distance.
What was worst though was the front desk staff. They totally ignored me in front of them for good 10 minutes, while chatting with another guest and taking in other guests who came in later. I raised my hand and asked for help, and one of the staff finally noticed me. That kind of set the mood for the rest of the stay.
Not too bad facility wise, but definitely one of the worst stays I had at Holiday Inn/Express.
Overall the hotel works for short stay, but I will probably choose something else next time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Localhost8,
Thank you very much for the review we truly do appreciate it and know the only way we can improve is if customers like you let us know. I do apologize about the experience you had with my front desk staff. I can assure you it is not normal to have comments like this regarding my staff and if you look at past reviews we normally rank very well with customer service. If you could do a favor for me and please email me or contact me via phone so I can find your reservation and see who was working I would appreciate that. My email is amiller@hieohare.com and my phone number is 847-544-7515.
Thank you once again and I look forward to hearing from you.
Sincerely,
Adam Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honey Brook
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Brittany & Sam were fantastic making sure my stay was perfect! The weather in Chicago stranded me in the city for the evening, but with their help I was directed to great restaurants, and help with travel information for tomorrow. They are very knowledgeable with all the attractions in the area, and very articulate with their language making the information delivered accurate eliminating any problems. I wish all associates at your hotels were this perfect!

Room Tip: I have only been to this hotel one time, but my room faced the airport, and the room never experienc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Stewart S,
Thank you very much for the feedback I will be sure to share your comments with Brittany and Sam and commend them for their efforts. Have a wonderful weekend!!!
Sincerely,
Adam Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We choose this hotel while visiting Chicago because the Magnificent Mile and the Loop were sold out that weekend and because we got a decent fare, including the parking and breakfast. The hotel is kind of far from downtown, but you are roughly one hour away by hotel shuttle and Blue Train. The shuttle runs every half an hour and the train every 5 minutes, and both are reliable. One side of the hotel is relatively noisy, overlooking a highway, but the air conditioning can generate some white noise (you may still need ear plugs). Aside that, there was no noise form the hotel itself. The other issue was the mattress. We had a king bed, but the mattress was reacting to every move; usually a king bed absorbs pretty well the movement – not this one. The breakfast is fairly good (instant omelet, sausages, Philadelphia cheese and healthier options). The hotel experienced a power outage during a storm, but managed very well the situation. In the morning, they brought coffee from Dunkin donuts and fresh orange juice. Everything else was under control on generators.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Ottawa815,
Thank you very much for the review we truly do appreciate it and know the only way we can improve is if customers like you let us know. Could you please email me or contact me via phone so I can find your reservation and figure out which room you stayed in so I could replace that bed? My email is amiller@hieohare.com and my phone number is 847-544-7515.
I appreciate you understanding the situation with the power outage it truly was a stressful time for everyone and we did everything in our power to try and make best with the situation at hand. Thank you once again and I look forward to hearing from you.
Sincerely,
Adam Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was once the place to stay at O'Hare, It is now a HI Express, it was OK, if you cant get into any other hotel chain like Marriott or Hilton I couldn't, it works. Parking can be a conundrum at times, it was raining and I had to pull across the way and walk back in the pouring rain. No valet parking that I saw. What was interesting is they have a spinning wheel at reception and you spin to see what bonus points you get. I it 5K extra points , not bad. Overall the room was fine and quiet, if you need a place do it here!

Room Tip: nothing to say here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Jon U,

Thank you for the kind review I truly do appreciate it and will be sure to share your feedback with the staff. Because we do not have valet parking we offer up umbrellas for use for customers so they do not have to walk in the rain. I will see what I can do to ensure customers know about this service.

Again, thank you for the kind review and I look forward to having you stay with us in the near future!!

Sincerely,
Adam Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

My friend booked this hotel weeks in advance for a room with two double beds as we are traveling a two couples. Upon arrival at the hotel the front desk person tells us that they are completely booked but have upgraded us to a suite with a king bed and a pull out sofa. He then offered to bring us a roll away twin. Frustrated, we accepted because it was two in the morning and we were exhausted. When we entered the room there was NO BED! It was a conference room with a pull out small couch. We then called the front desk to reuse the room and find another hotel. He then tells us that he does have another room with a king bed and they will bring a twin roll away bed. Needless to say we were all very tired and upset and just over it! We moved to this room, mind you he told us earlier they were full. Just as icing on the cake, they did not have an extra pillow for us to sleep on the roll away. Very comfortable night sleep for the two of us on a single roll away. 225 price tag for this horrible experience!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Smkymtgirl,
Thank you so much for the feedback I truly do appreciate it! I apologize for the inconvenience you had with checking into a Parlor Suite. I actually have no idea who you are since I cannot see any information through trip advisor so it is hard for me to follow up and see what happened here at the hotel. Could you please email me or call me with your information so I can look into what happened and try to make it right for you? My email is amiller@hieohare.com and my phone number is 847-544-7515. I look forward to hearing from you and hope you have a wonderful week!!
Sincerely,
Adam Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

In my travels, I've stayed at many HI Express hotels but this one could use some updates. The reception was friendly as was the shuttle bus driver, but the rooms could use some help. The air conditioning unit was loud and had a bad smell - like the room used to be a smoking room and they never cleaned the unit. The bed was comfortable enough and the carpet was fine - the bathroom definitely needs some help in terms of cleanliness and just general updating. The breakfast at the hotel was good (same as other HI Express hotels) and I did appreciate the added convenience of the little store next to the reception when I needed some Advil!

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Carmenzoe,
Thank you so much for the feedback I truly do appreciate it! We are actually in the processes of replacing some of our older AC units as well as updating some of the bathrooms so if you can email me back with your information so I can ensure we replace that unit and look into the bathroom I would appreciate it. My email is amiller@hieohare.com and my phone number is 847-544-7515.
Sincerely,
Adam Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Chicago O'Hare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Chicago O'Hare

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Chicago o`Hare Hotel
Holiday Inn Express Chicago o`Hare Hotel Rosemont
Holiday Inn Express Rosemont
Holiday Inn Rosemont
Rosemont Holiday Inn
Address: 6600 North Mannheim Road, Rosemont, IL 60018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Rosemont
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Rosemont
#14 Family Hotel in Rosemont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Chicago O'Hare 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites O'Hare Airport is located 5 minutes north of O'Hare International Airport with complimentary shuttle service. Interstates I-90, I-294, I-190 and I-290 have exits leading to the airport. We are also only 25 minutes from downtown Chicago. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites O'Hare is a brand new interior corridor hotel with 10,000 sq. ft. meeting space, conveniently located within walking distance to Allstate Arena and 2 miles from Donald E. Stephens Convention Center. Hotel features include complimentary smart start breakfast, wireless high-speed Internet access free to guest and local phone calls. The hotel has 243 guest rooms and 31 suites to accommodate any need. Enjoy our spacious and deluxe guest rooms and suites that are equipped with granite vanities in our bathrooms, clock radio/ MP3 compatible, pillow top mattress, work desk with ergonomic chairs, 27 inch television with free movie channels, pay-per-view movies and Nintendo games. Micro/ fridges in all suites and priority club floors. We invite you to use our 24 hour fitness center with state of the art workout equipment, our indoor lap pool and kiddie pool. Our Market Place is available for sundries, snacks and beverages 24 hours. The hotel's lobby includes a work area for your business use, with four computers kiosk, and complimentary high-speed Internet access for guest use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Chicago O'Hare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Chicago O'Hare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.