We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ignore All Other Pizza Places - This is the BEST” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Giordano's

Giordano's
9415 W Higgins Rd, Rosemont, IL 60018
(847) 292-2600
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 73 Restaurants in Rosemont
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
260 reviews 260 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Ignore All Other Pizza Places - This is the BEST”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

I am a Chicagoan, but live abroad, and every time (honestly, every time) I land we go straight to Giordano's for a deep dish pizza. I love the deep dish cheese, but everything is good. It's great for dining in, take away, and frozen (be sure and butter the tin, because otherwise it won't taste right).

It is truly Chicago-style pizza at its finest. Get a large - it's good for breakfast too!!!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    115
    50
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“One of my favorite pieces of Chicago”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

I love to read the reviews that complain about this pizza having too much cheese. It must be the "heart attack" in me, but I just can't imagine any such thing.

I had the pie delivered to my room at the Intercontinental Hotel, and considering that a medium (14", serves 3-4 - seriously; 2 of us ate half, and we were very hungry) plus a couple cokes ran me $27, I consider it a good value.

The pizza itself is consistent, as it's been for years. I prefer the sausage to the pepperoni, because they use the large, flat pieces of pepperoni, but you can't go wrong no matter what you choose for toppings.

But, yes, as one of my non-Chicago colleagues mentioned, it was "like Lasagna" to him. It's thick; it's filled with cheese, the tomato sauce is on top.

It's completely delicious; we had it to our room in under an hour on a NCAA football Saturday.

If you like Chicago (STUFFED) pizza, you'll love this place. They offer thin-crust if you don't, but you can get that anywhere. Also, if you eat in the restaurant, please remember it takes 45 minutes to bake this monstrosity ... so relax and have a drink. :)

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, mi
Top Contributor
823 reviews 823 reviews
563 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 166 cities Reviews in 166 cities
323 helpful votes 323 helpful votes
“WOW... What a pie!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

This place has the thickest pizza I've ever eaten, Two crusts even. This truely is a PIE, not just toppings on a crust. Two slices will absolutely fill me up, and I'm a big eater. This is the kind of pizza pie that even tastes better the next day when you heat up the leftovers... Oh Yea...there WILL be leftovers. MMMMM!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston, texas
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Average pizza with large portion sizes.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We ordered the Chicago deep dish pizza and a couple of side salads. Food was so-so, we were expecting more flavor based on the reviews.

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Kentucky
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Better be hungry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

I am a New York style pizza kinda guy but I decided to try Giordano's since it was next to the hotel I was staying at. The atmosphere was very good upon entering. Nice red checkered table clothes throughout. Basically you have two types of pizza to choose from: Stuffed or Thin. Stuffed pizza is about 3" thick and just jammed with all your toppings on the inside. I choose to have the thin since I was not starving. But this pizza was about 2" thick. It was OK. I was expecting more sauce than it came with. Lots of toppings but short on sauce. I order the 10" and I still left 2 pieces on the pan. Very filling. Took about 30 minutes to get served which was about average for good pizza.
If I go back I need to get the stuffed pizza, the pizza that made them famous. It has more sauce on it anyway.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giordano's also viewed

 

Been to Giordano's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giordano's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.