We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great deep dish pizza” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gino's on Higgins

Gino's on Higgins
8725 W. Higgins Rd., Rosemont, IL 60631 (Formerly Gino's East Of Chicago)
(773)-444-2244
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 74 Restaurants in Rosemont
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Tacoma, Washington
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great deep dish pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Very good deep dish Chicago style pizza. Go off hours for prompt service. Nice outdoor patio. Pleasant staff, accommodating to special requests.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    24
    16
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, SC
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good Food, Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I am a native Chicagoan, so I always enjoy getting back to Gino's for authentic deep dish style pizza. We had a family party of 20 on a Saturday afternoon so we were seated in the main dining area near the window. I always find that no matter how great the food is, if you do not also have a great wait staff, the food will not matter. However, we were fortunate to have as our servers Alexis and Norma, who did not miss a beat with providing us with excellent service. Alexis was so helpful in helping me decide how many pizzas to order with our size party and we never had to wait for a drink refill, as Norma may have lost a few pounds running our drink orders to the bar and back. The Italian beef sandwiches were also wonderful and typical Chicago style, which we all love. Pizza does take at least 40 minutes to prepare, but the atmosphere is comfortable and time goes quickly and worth the wait.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW Fla
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Pizza was ok..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We were excited to try some real Chicago pizza and heard rave reviews about Ginos. We ordered The Meaty Legend. It has a cornbread type crust which I enjoyed but my husband did not care for.

The pizza was very filling, we ordered a small and could not finish it! My husband ordered Minestrone soup and it was excellent.

I wouldn't take it off your list of places to try.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Everything you've heard and more!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

If you have your heart set on trying some genuine Chicago deep dish pizza, Gino's is the place to go. It takes a while to cook (my small took 40 minutes) but believe me, it's worth the wait!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by our hotel and it was wonderful. Nice outdoor seating. Wonderful staff and the food was excellent. The pizza is a must order and so are the French fries that have blue cheese on them...yes, Blue Cheese. Sounds interesting and is Delicious!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gino's on Higgins also viewed

 

Been to Gino's on Higgins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gino's on Higgins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.