We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny "Cells" for Priceline/Hotwire Rates” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency O'Hare

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency O'Hare to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Regency O'Hare
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9300 West Bryn Mawr Avenue, Rosemont, IL 60018   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay More, Save More
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Rosemont
GreenLeadersSilver level
Guam, Mariana Islands
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
“Tiny "Cells" for Priceline/Hotwire Rates”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2009

On a stopover/break in a long trip, I used Priceline to deal me out a hotel at Chicago O'Hare. I was given the Hyatt Regency O'Hare. As a Platinum-level traveler with Hyatt I was surprised to get the room pictured here.

Check-in (on a Sunday) was slow and I opted for the automated check-in. I found the third one working, and was given a room with odd instructions to find it. This was the first warning bell - basically, the room could only be accessed by going out the parking garage exit, and up a flight of stairs (no elevator, not cool with lots of luggage).

There are maybe 10 rooms in this "annex", all looking to be pie shaped, and I felt like I was at a business hotel in Japan.

This is about the smallest hotel (not motel) room I've ever had in the US. Oddly shaped, facing the airport (noisy but I sleep thru anything), and only a shower in the bath.

Apparently during the last renovation Hyatt figured out a way to get Priceline customers and "punish" them for their use of this service at the same time. Hyatt should be ashamed to put their name on such accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    401
    177
    83
    48
See reviews for
123
179
119
472
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

Save your money. This is not a 4 star hotel. I've stayed here a couple of times now (unfortunately), and this is not a good place to stay. You can get this place real cheap on priceline.com... it's not worth it.

Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Top Contributor
681 reviews 681 reviews
193 hotel reviews
Reviews in 187 cities Reviews in 187 cities
445 helpful votes 445 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

Ive stayed at this hotel many times over the last 10 years but this was the first since the major renovations.

PROS:

Nicely done renovations. Lobby and rooms are top notch.
Beds are excellent as are pillows and drapes (dark).
Room furniture is nice.
37" LCD TV


CONS:

Check in was a joke. Front desk staff had no idea what they were doing.
Hookers roaming the lobby and hotel several times during my stay.
Vent from hall to room lets in light and noise. I could hear everything.
Only the bar was open for dinner during the week. Restaurant was closed, apparently.
Expensive parking

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

When I travel the beds and pillows are most important to me. If I can't get a good nights sleep it is not worth being away from home. The beds here are top notch. I would sty again in a heartbeat. Good job Hyatt. Put extra $$ into your beds & pillows. Easy to get to from the Blue Line also.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

The MOST EXCEPTIONAL hotel staff in all of my travels (over all the years and all the country). POLITE, HELPFUL, FRIENDLY, FUN, COURTEOUS, you name it. This staff, all of them, from valet, to bell boy, to front desk, to room service, to restaurant, to security, to management, to cleaning crew, and every single person wearing a Hyatt uniform - this is the world's BEST HOTEL STAFF ANYWHERE!! I can't even begin to describe how pleasant and helpful they are - perfect comes to mind. On a scale of 1-10, they get about 1000000.

The rooms are all remodeled (like the hotel a few years back) and are spectacular. The value is exactly the price it should be for the location. Very clean hotel - everywhere.

Just a FANTASTIC experience from the moment I got to the parking garage until the moment I left. Not a single issue or problem at any point.

The thing I remember most - THE STAFF - phenomenal!

If you are ever in the O'Hare area - this IS THE PLACE TO STAY!!!!

(though, I still miss the pool)

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2009

I've stayed here for a week two times on a business trip. It's really a very nice place. I was put in the tower both times. Rooms are modernized. Seems to always be under construction. Beautiful architecture. Nice staff. There are two bars in the lobby and a restaurant which is pricey but good- breakfast being the best! Nice night life right in hotel and in walking proximity to attractions. Great for large business conventions. I look forward to staying there again come next winter.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2009

Wow, what a change from the Hyatt O'Hare of years past. From the front door to the new public space it is a welcomed renovation. The guest rooms are also renovated - at least in the "executive wing" where I stayed. I liked the new look in the rooms, but some of the furniture isn't as functional as it is funky, but the beds are comfortable and everything is fresh. The Red Bar is a great hang out and the bar food is tasty. One part of the hotel I really like is the coffee/sundry shop. You can get everything you need for any length of stay. I also like the shuttle service from ORD to the hotel. OK - with the Hilton you can walk from the airport which is great, but the Hyatt shuttle runs frequently and there are a lot more restaurant options then staying at the Hyatt if your trip is longer than a single night. If you want to get away from the Hyatt for dinner (although eating at the hotel's O'H Restaurant is surprisingly good) there are tons of restaurants around - Mortons, Gibsons, Carlucci's...but my favorite is an Italian spot called Cafe Zalute. Very low key/informal but perfect place to escape from hotel life and prices are very reasonable. No car, no problem. Ask the Hyatt O'Hare shuttle to take you to the Hyatt Rosemont as Zalute is right behind that hotel. The Hyatt O'Hare is a very comfortable place to stay when doing business in the O'Hare airport area and the staff is really friendly.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency O'Hare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency O'Hare

Address: 9300 West Bryn Mawr Avenue, Rosemont, IL 60018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Rosemont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Rosemont
#1 Best Value Hotel in Rosemont
#7 Business Hotel in Rosemont
#8 Family Hotel in Rosemont
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rosemont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency O'Hare 4*
Number of rooms: 1101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an iconic O’Hare airport hotel with cutting-edge design and dramatically transformed public space and guestrooms. Groups of all sizes appreciate the grand venues offering innovative catering and unrivaled services at our hotel. Invite friends to join you for cocktails at the enticing Red Bar, or dine in the hip, contemporary O’H American Grill serving mouthwatering traditional American cuisine from around the country. Plush Hyatt Grand BedsTM, deluxe amenities and welcoming touches await you in the remodeled rooms of our exceptional hotel. Guests love our stunning lobby and sunny atrium, easy check-in service, friendly staff and bright, elegant rooms with contemporary décor and high-tech features. Warm yet classy, Hyatt Regency O’Hare boasts an impressive modern aesthetic that speaks to business and leisure travelers alike. With quick access to both O’Hare airport and downtown Chicago, Hyatt Regency O’Hare is the ideal accommodation for every visitor to the Windy City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Regency O'Hare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency o`Hare Hotel Rosemont
Hyatt Regency Rosemont
Hyatt O'hare
Hyatt Rosemont
Hyatt Regency Ohare Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency O'Hare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.