We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency O'Hare

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency O'Hare to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency O'Hare
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9300 West Bryn Mawr Avenue, Rosemont, IL 60018   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Park, Sleep, Fly
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Rosemont
GreenLeadersSilver level
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The hotel itself had a few minor issues. Some small awkward rooms in the towers, thin walls, dated architecture, unimpressive restaurant, etc, but still much more than you would expect for an airport hotel. My biggest issue was that there were two conferences on site at the same time, which had two very conflicting themes (parent who lost their children, and pornography), and the rooms (both were booked in blocks) were in close proximity.

The service we received from the made up for everything enough to not complain. We checked in at 4AM and the staff was very courteous. The service in the restaurant was spectacular, and above all, the valet attendants were perhaps the best I have ever experienced. By our second night, valet knew exactly who were were, always had our car ready within minutes, took us to our car to get items left behind, and gave great advice on the area.

Room Tip: High floor, don't stay in a tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    465
    200
    93
    58
See reviews for
143
202
132
554
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and it is a good conference hotel in Chicago. The rooms and clean and nice but the washrooms are on the small size for the hotel room. I prefer a shower and the room I had one. The hotel is a busy conference hotel for the Chicago area so expect to see a lot of people walking through the hotel lobby. The hotel gym is on the small size but the service from the employees is good. Even though it is next to the O'Hare airport the noise from the airport is not noticeable and I had no problem sleeping at night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond hill
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I stayed at the Hyatt Regency O'Hare for 6 days ( on the 10th floor) to attend a big conference with over 1000 attendees. What impressed me most was not one time did I have to wait for more than a minute to get in an elevator. The 4 elevators with windows did run fast! There are enough sitting area in the lobby. The room, in the main atrium, was spacious and clean, with a balcony. The airplane noise did not bother me at all as long as you keep the balcony window closed. I didn't have to use the sound machine or ear plugs provided. The hotel is within walking distance to the Fashion Outlet Mall and the train station. Train to downtown took about 40 mins. We parked our car in the hotel's multi-level garage and on the third level there is a walkway to the lobby. We just used our room key to get in and out of the garage. We enjoyed our stay at this hotel and will recommend to our friends.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I checked in late (11pm) and headed to my room. After a long day of travel I was exahusted and just wanted to get to bed. When approaching my room I noticed several trays of room service near my door. As I got to my room, the trays were actually in front of my door slightly. Natrually, I become concerned that someone was asleep in my room. I tried my room key and it worked and I hoped that I wouldn't be walking in on someone already asleep in my room. The room was clean - and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was extremely small. The shower was so small it was almost not workable for a female trying to get ready in the morning.

I did dine at the restaurant in the hotel and the food was good.

Overall - I would not choose to stay here again because of the bathroom size. It was probably the smallest shower I have ever had....in all my travels.

Room Tip: This is an airport hotel. I'm not sure you can find a good quiet room. I did hear some of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville, KY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We attended the Compassionate Friends Conference and found everything very nice. The room was very spacious and nice. The restaurants needed a little better menu with better pricing. All the employees made the stay very enjoyable. The front desk staff helped us plan our trip downtown and one even provided their number in case we had problems. Would say at again.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Let me start by saying OMG service does count and there are other options near the airport...this hotel is on my "Never Again" list. The bad first impression came at the front desk where there were three people behind the desk but only one person checking in the looong line of guests. One of the other people was approached and asked if she could assist in checking people in and she said, without even looking up to see the person she was speaking to "No, I'm busy." This "don't bother me with your petty needs" attitude pervades the entire hotel. Pair this training deficit with the just adequate rooms and I need never stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I have just spent three nights at the hotel and was expecting a good experience but unfortunately had a less than great experience.

First, some positives:
- Bed is super comfortable, and given that planes are flying over regularly I didnt notice them, even without the nice touches of ear plugs and white noise machine
- Front desk staff are probably the best of the bunch with regard to communicating, that being, listening and responding to what you are saying.

Let downs:
The website heavily advertising their dining options, two of the nights I stayed the main restaurant was not open for dinner. The first night I was told it was 'tonight only' and then the second night that it is based on demand. That is not listed on the site, and when you are stuck out near the airport people do choose a location based on how and where they can kill time.
- The substitute, the red bar, had quite tasteless food.

I have worked in service myself but there were several things that were just annoying and not just 'not good enough' but actually made me go out of my way to rectify or do something.
- Left a note and tip for housekeeper to leave me a foam pillow in the service, the tip was taken, the pillow was nowhere to be seen, I called when I returned to the room later that afternoon.
- Used the much publicized online room service ordering on my final morning, and after 30 minutes was called and told it would be another 30 minutes (by which time i'd have to be checked out an on my way). When I said that an hour is not good enough I was told "I can't do nothin' until these other checks are cleared" - right! So that left me with a rushed breakfast at the restaurant, and late to my work commitment.
- At OH restaurant I was delivered a drink I didnt ask for, I told the person who delivered it and he said 'well I was told...' and I didnt drink it, and saw it on my check but didnt have time for it go back and get corrected because you guessed it - getting the check can take 5-10 minutes.
- Many of the non front desk stuff just seemed unhappy and annoyed when you needed something from them, this was particularly with the bell desk.

Given on many fronts service was broken, I can assume that the hotel management are aware of the staff's indifference to service and have likely tried to improve it and have failed for various reasons.

I may have to come back to the area but I won't be staying there, which is a shame as I'm a loyal hyatt lover.

I would have overlooked one or two of these, but they were just totally frustrating, and not good enough for a regency.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency O'Hare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency O'Hare

Address: 9300 West Bryn Mawr Avenue, Rosemont, IL 60018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Rosemont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Rosemont
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rosemont
#10 Business Hotel in Rosemont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency O'Hare 4*
Number of rooms: 1101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an iconic O’Hare airport hotel with cutting-edge design and dramatically transformed public space and guestrooms. Groups of all sizes appreciate the grand venues offering innovative catering and unrivaled services at our hotel. Invite friends to join you for cocktails at the enticing Red Bar, or dine in the hip, contemporary O’H American Grill serving mouthwatering traditional American cuisine from around the country. Plush Hyatt Grand BedsTM, deluxe amenities and welcoming touches await you in the remodeled rooms of our exceptional hotel. Guests love our stunning lobby and sunny atrium, easy check-in service, friendly staff and bright, elegant rooms with contemporary décor and high-tech features. Warm yet classy, Hyatt Regency O’Hare boasts an impressive modern aesthetic that speaks to business and leisure travelers alike. With quick access to both O’Hare airport and downtown Chicago, Hyatt Regency O’Hare is the ideal accommodation for every visitor to the Windy City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency O'Hare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency o`Hare Hotel Rosemont
Hyatt Regency Rosemont
Hyatt O'hare
Hyatt Rosemont
Hyatt Regency Ohare Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency O'Hare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.