We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel...Tower rooms to small!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency O'Hare

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency O'Hare to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency O'Hare
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9300 West Bryn Mawr Avenue, Rosemont, IL 60018   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Casino Package
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Rosemont
GreenLeadersSilver level
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great hotel...Tower rooms to small!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Stayed there first time for a trade-show/conference event. Check in was super smooth and receptionist extremely polite and helpful. $36 valet parking is too steep for my budget, but our event had arranged $10 parking fee per night which was very reasonable.

The hotel lobby is beautiful and the 4 banks of elevators were fast. The only disappointment was the size of my King room that was very small (perhaps no more than 130 Sq. ft.) and something you do not expect from a Hyatt. The bathroom was small and the shower (no tub...see pictures) reminded me of a college dorm room or a health clubs' shower stall. If you are really big, you may have problem maneuvering in and out of it. It was a real surprise to me, given this was a Hyatt Regency hotel.

Hotel being on the approach end of runways 27L and 27R of the O'Hare could be noisy if they take off to the east, but this is not a big issue and expected from any hotel that close to a major airport like O'Hare. Bed was super comfortable and the HVAC very quiet.

The health club was nice with good equipment and the "Perk's" coffee/gift shop, however a tad expensive for me but definitely not a rip-off.

I will certainly consider to stay there again but not in the round tower suction, perhaps in the main area where the rooms are square, and hopefully have larger shower and bathrooms.

Room Tip: Stay in the main part of the hotel that the rooms are square, and not in the round towers where they...
See more room tips
Green Features: I was not offered no sheet and towel service opt out, like I have been offered in other hotels.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattOHare, Manager at Hyatt Regency O'Hare, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for providing us your concerns during your stay with us. We have forwarded this information onto the appropriate department as we are always looking for ways to improve the experience for all of our guests. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and see that some of these changes have been implemented and improved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    525
    225
    101
    62
See reviews for
156
220
139
668
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodruff, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We have stayed here a few times to utilize the park and stay they offer. If you're going on a trip they let you keep your vehicle there in covered parking. ( if you can find a spot) the bell men, front desk staff are wonderful and check in is always a breeze. Here's the problem. The hotel itself is beautiful and we've always thought our rooms were more then adequate. But, the bar and the staff there is beyond pathetic! Hardly speak English, extremely slow to non-existent service. It's packed every night and they know they "gotcha" because you're scared to leave and go elsewhere to drink or eat because of never finding a spot in the garage again. Prices are exorbitant, food is mediocre at best. I can't believe its a Hyatt! How can the entire place be ran so professionally and then encounter this poor excuse for a restaurant/ bar? We ate there twice, once before our departure and upon our return. Both times it took forever to be served and the chicken salad I ordered had a black hair in it. I was told by the server it couldn't have been on there end because everyone in the kitchen wears a hat! Needless to say by that point I had lost my appetite. We love Hyatt's and are gold members. What a disappointment , our next vacation we will find a different hotel that offers shuttle service, and park and stay. Come on Hyatt, step it up, this is not the first review on the horrible bar and service.

Room Tip: We've always had a nice room here, avoid the bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattOHare, Manager at Hyatt Regency O'Hare, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for providing us your concerns during your stay with us. We have forwarded this information onto the appropriate department as we are always looking for ways to improve the experience for all of our guests. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and see that some of these changes have been implemented and improved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We had two international trips this month, both times we did a park and stay with this hotel; parking first then staying overnight on our return. The parking is in a covered structure, which is great when there is weather, and the shuttles run frequently. The design is a large open atrium area with floors are all open to the center; I believe this design is common to the Hyatt Regency brand. Although there were definitely people about, our first stay was completely quiet in our room. On our second stay, there was a huge conference and not only was it a bit noisy but it was a challenge to get an elevator. It is connected to the convention center so it is likely that one or more groups could be staying at the hotel, this time it was a huge group. Once in the room, we found a white noise machine and really did not notice the hub-bub when we settled in.

The beds were very comfortable and the staff friendly. The hotel is very close to the airport with convenient shuttles and covered parking. Next time we do a park and stay we would definitely considers staying here.

Room Tip: Perhaps a room higher up would be quieter, but the wait for the elevator could be a bit of a problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattOHare, Manager at Hyatt Regency O'Hare, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of our Hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Check in was super easy but when we got to our room we noticed it smelled like rotten food. Checked the mini fridge and it was empty but smelled beyond bad. We called the front desk and they were happy to let us switch. Pretty surprising the maid service didn't do anything about the smell in the other room....there's no way they didn't notice it!

Got our new room and had no issues! Basically what you would expect from a Hyatt; nice beds, good parking situation. We also had a great buffet breakfast the next day. Hotel is walking distance to the train station if you want to go downtown which was great for us. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattOHare, Manager at Hyatt Regency O'Hare, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for providing us your concerns during your stay with us. We have forwarded this information onto the appropriate department as we are always looking for ways to improve the experience for all of our guests. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and see that some of these changes have been implemented and improved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marino, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Every year for my business trip I stayed in this hotel since the convention is next to it.
Room are decent, spacious and bed are comfortable.
Lobby is great and check in is fast.
Con. Restaurant closed for weekend (Friday and Saturday ) only place to eat is at the bar. Finger food and some sushi, pricey and service is extremely slow. Staff work attitude ...."if u like it, you wait for me" so I would rather eat somewhere else.
Close to airport but a bit far from downtown.
No pool or spa. Got a nice gym 24hours.

Room Tip: Executive tower, quieter but further away to walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattOHare, Manager at Hyatt Regency O'Hare, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for providing us your concerns during your stay with us. We have forwarded this information onto the appropriate department as we are always looking for ways to improve the experience for all of our guests. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and see that some of these changes have been implemented and improved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

This hotel is very upscale but surprisingly noisy. It is conveniently located near O' Hare airport with vans that leave about every 15 min. They have a good workout facility that is open 24 hours a day. The bar was lively but expensive (except to pay about $30 for a couple of beers and a sandwich).
Beds are comfy and rooms are large. Bathrooms are smaller and when you open the shower, brown water comes out for awhile. Shower is average.
Heater was rather inadequate and called maintenance. They said it was working properly, but the draft of the windows kept the temperature in the room down.
Biggest complain: noise (they do provide earplugs and a white noise machine)! You can hear airplane noises, outside noises, guest walking around, maids yelling, etc.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattOHare, Manager at Hyatt Regency O'Hare, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for providing us your concerns during your stay with us. We have forwarded this information onto the appropriate department as we are always looking for ways to improve the experience for all of our guests. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and see that some of these changes have been implemented and improved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Overnight stay sponsored by American Airline due to a mechanical issue with our plane had us at the Hyatt Regency O'Hare for the evening on our way home from Phoenix. Missed our connection in Chicago so an 18 hour delay getting home. Shuttle service was prompt and pleasant at the airport, front desk - amazing - and housekeeping immediately brought us up three distress kits that were very impressive to get us through this unplanned stay. Clean teeth, deodorant make all the difference (with a few other comforts in the packages)! The room was extremely comfortable, the beds were like sleeping on a cloud. We had a beverage and snacks at the lounge before turning in and the staff accepted the food vouchers (many of us were in the same situation) which was nice for many of the travelers. All around a nice hiccup in our travel plans. Would stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattOHare, Manager at Hyatt Regency O'Hare, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of our Hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hyatt Regency O'Hare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency O'Hare

Address: 9300 West Bryn Mawr Avenue, Rosemont, IL 60018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Rosemont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Rosemont
#1 Green Hotel in Rosemont
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rosemont
#7 Business Hotel in Rosemont
#10 Family Hotel in Rosemont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency O'Hare 4*
Number of rooms: 1101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an iconic O’Hare airport hotel with cutting-edge design and dramatically transformed public space and guestrooms. Groups of all sizes appreciate the grand venues offering innovative catering and unrivaled services at our hotel. Invite friends to join you for cocktails at the enticing Red Bar, or dine in the hip, contemporary O’H American Grill serving mouthwatering traditional American cuisine from around the country. Plush Hyatt Grand BedsTM, deluxe amenities and welcoming touches await you in the remodeled rooms of our exceptional hotel. Guests love our stunning lobby and sunny atrium, easy check-in service, friendly staff and bright, elegant rooms with contemporary décor and high-tech features. Warm yet classy, Hyatt Regency O’Hare boasts an impressive modern aesthetic that speaks to business and leisure travelers alike. With quick access to both O’Hare airport and downtown Chicago, Hyatt Regency O’Hare is the ideal accommodation for every visitor to the Windy City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hyatt Hotels Corporation so you can book your Hyatt Regency O'Hare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency o`Hare Hotel Rosemont
Hyatt Regency Rosemont
Hyatt O'hare
Hyatt Rosemont
Hyatt Regency Ohare Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency O'Hare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.