We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top-notch convention host” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency O'Hare

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency O'Hare to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Regency O'Hare
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9300 West Bryn Mawr Avenue, Rosemont, IL 60018   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay More, Save More
Ranked #10 of 16 hotels in Rosemont
GreenLeadersSilver level
Birmingham. AL
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Top-notch convention host”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Another annual trip for a church-based convention, this time to the Hyatt Regency O'Hare. This property has been around awhile, but the owners have kept it in very good shape. It was easily able to host our medium-sized (400 attendee) five-day gathering, plus a modeling agency weekend casting call just before us and a big anime convention afterward -- along with the steady parade of flight crews checking in and out, and assorted business types that are this property's bread and butter.

As part of our convention staff, we stayed in a "plaza suite" in the executive wing -- one side with a seating area and large table serving as a desk, with a separate bedroom; there was also a connecting standard room with two beds. The main suite had an open mini-fridge plus another for a mini-bar (didn't use the latter), and two 32" HD TV's with a large channel lineup. All functioned well. Beds were very comfy. The rooms were clean as a whistle. Only the slightest bit of wear and tear on some furniture.

Bathrooms are Hyatt Regency standard, which are a bit small but functional and well stocked with toiletries. Good, steady shower that stayed hot with full pressure.

Staff was friendly and helpful all-around. No significant issues. Climate control was excellent everywhere; that was a problem at a Hyatt in Columbus where our group met last year.

It's a Hyatt, so you're paying a bit more than you would elsewhere, but our convention cut a pretty good deal. Parking is expensive, as is on-site dining. In-room WiFi is extra, as it is also in meeting rooms unless your group negotiated a deal (ours didn't), but WiFi in the lobby and adjacent common areas is free and good, and there are many seating areas in the expansive lobby area that are designed mainly for computer users, including a pair of counters downstairs. Electrical outlets there are abundant, the most I've ever seen in such a setting. All were well used for computers and for charging phones and tablets. It is obvious that this is a business-minded hotel.

Location is superb, with O'Hare only a shuttle bus away. The Rosemont L station (Blue Line) is in walking distance. Other dining is in the area, and the hotel is right next door to the Stephens Convention Center. Noise from airplanes and L trains was evident at sometimes, especially in outer meeting rooms.

All in all, an excellent job. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattOHare, Manager at Hyatt Regency O'Hare, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Your high recommendation as a convention guest is greatly appreciated. We were thrilled to host your group just last week and look forward to when you can all join us again. We truly thank you for the five star review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,004 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    309
    392
    175
    81
    47
See reviews for
121
174
119
465
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The staff at this restaurant is generally wonderful but I did have a problem with concierge service. Asked for a good Japanese restaurant on Memorial Day and was entertaining an important business client. They sent me to a pretty mediocre at best strip mall sushi joint. It was really embarrassing.

However, the food at the hotel is very good in the restaurant though pretty average and sometimes cold at the bar. I really like the Crab Bisque and the Salmon Eggs Benedict. The bar serves a decent martini but gets lost at Mojito.

The decor of this hotel is very nice. Rooms are decent and the beds and amenities are nice but rooms are small. Tried a suite a few times and that was a nice thing though a bit pricy.

If you want to access downtown Chicago but also have suburban amenities this place is nice. There is a nice variety of good local restaurants at all price levels close. Accessing downtown is convenient is you take the hotel shuttle to the airport and use the L. It is cheap and quick into the city and a fairly easy walk or cab ride to destinations in the loop and other areas. Also a great way to access sports venues. Don't bother with a car in the Loop.

Room Tip: The elevators are slow so choose one on a lower floor if you can. Larger rooms are in the executive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattOHare, Manager at Hyatt Regency O'Hare, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thank you for sharing your concierge experience. I would like to assure you that this will be used as a training opportunity so that we can prevent it from happening to a guest in the future. I can only hope that rest of your stay made up for this terrible oversight.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trichur, Kerala, India
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

we stayed for two nights in this well appointed hotel. a beautiful large lobby, very friendly and helpful staff were the highlights of this hotel. Good location if you want to be close the airport and the convention centre next door. far far away from downtown Chicago especially if you dont have conveyance. The Rosemont station is just a block away and there is 24 hours train service to town. however commute time is about one hour. Breakfast is adequate with a fairly large choice of dishes. unfortunately its the same offering every day,so if you stay for more than a day you'll get bored. Rooms are large and spacious. We were in the executive wing which had a nice view of a wooded parkland.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattOHare, Manager at Hyatt Regency O'Hare, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thank you kindly for your review about the hotel and staff. We are, as you mentioned, a short walk to the CTA Rosemont Blue line stop which will take you about 35 minutes to get into the heart of downtown Chicago. I am glad you enjoyed the view from your clean room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milford, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We come to chicago every year to visit family and we always stay here near the airport. Now we have kids so we noticed more.

We arrived early so needed to check in early. I was told the connecting rooms were not ready and that there was no such thing as a king bed room connecting to a double beds room (even though the agent THROUGH the hotel told me there was). Well after waiting an hour with a 15 month old and a 14 year old (AND A TIRED HUSBAND). We asked again. They said instead of waiting until 3 PM and since we couldnt get a connected room like i NEEDED, they moved us to the executive suite and we still had the extra room, but the suite had a living room which was great for our needs at the moment. This was great and appreciated. They brought me a crib no problem and had speedy service. The room was very clean and the food in the restaurant was good and so were the waiters. People are very kind at the front desk. Not sure who i spoke to , maybe the manager who asked how i was doing and asked questions. Just nice overall people. Not one bad egg. Like i said we stay there every year.

The only complaint: Parking is $20 for 0-10 hours which sucked for family who wanted to come to our hotel and stay a couple of hours but it is what it is.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattOHare, Manager at Hyatt Regency O'Hare, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and apologize we couldn't accommodate your family's needs quicker. Please feel free to contact the hotel directly so that we can further discuss parking validation for visiting family members while you are with us. We look forward to seeing you all next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Illinois
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The hotel was good but not really kids friendly. Staff were very nice and helpful. Room was clean and fresh. The valet staff were awesome. Restaurant was okay but the bar restaurant was so much better, even the food. The gym was nice and clean. The kids hated it, not really kid friendly but a nice hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattOHare, Manager at Hyatt Regency O'Hare, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
I am sorry to hear that your children did not have a good time. We would love to show you the welcome toy airplane, family games, and more that we have available if you choose Hyatt Regency O'Hare in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights.The staff were very friendly and co-operative, I must mention Stephanie at the front desk who took care of two parcels that I had to post and did not even charge for it. Room service is also very efficient, and they have a whole list of items that you can call for, use and keep with you! No need to carry a toothbrush, Lint mitt, shoe horn, comb, shaving kit or even slippers. There is an iron and board, a kettle, and smart TV in each room. Wifi is free and fast, and the rooms quite comfortable.
The bed is also very nice and high, and they provide a variety of pillows too.
The buffet though limited and unchanging, is of standard quality and the service there too is efficient.
The Hotel has an extremely practical square layout with the four lifts in the centre and airy bridges to walk to the rooms which are located on the outer borders.
The architecture being open to the sky gives you the feeling of being outdoors, accentuated by the greenery all along the bridges.
Location advantage: close to the airport,
Cons: Far from city centre since we were also going to McCormick place for a conference. Aviation noise.

Room Tip: Chose rooms closer to the elevators if you do not want to walk far.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattOHare, Manager at Hyatt Regency O'Hare, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to specifically mention Stephanie. We are thrilled to have her on our team and glad she was able to assist you. We certainly do have quite a few things to lighten your bags! We hope you will join us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed overnight when flights were cancelled. Free shuttle to/from the airport was frequent. (Note when getting to the airport next morning, security doesn't open until 4am.) Hotel was very large, interior atrium large, with many conference facilities. Checkin was a pleasure, effiecient and friendly.

Room was in one of the circular towers at the four corners of the atrim. At first I thought this was good because the noise of the acticvities in the interior atrium wouldn't bother me. However, the flights going past the room were very loud. I know it is an airport hotel, but I've stayed in many airport hotels and this was the worst. To specifically say the hotel is "soundproofed" in its promotional materials is misleading at best.

The room had an interesting setup (because it was part of a circular building) however the bathroom was small, only a sticky plastic-bottom shower stall, no tub. Anti-bac wipe was a nice touch.

The hotel is located next to a convention center, in an area of large commercial buildings, so it is not really pedestrian friendly unless you're OK with long walks. If you are up to walking though, there is a restaurant area adjacent to the MB arena, with at least four large restaurants, including a Hoffbrau House, just like Germany (but not)..

Hotel still hasn't credited my Hyatt points, had to make a second inquiry, it shouldn't be that hard to credit a stay.

Room Tip: Can't tell from experience re: the interior atrium rooms, but might want to try them, as the cir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattOHare, Manager at Hyatt Regency O'Hare, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
I am terribly sorry that you did not enjoy a restful night's sleep, especially after having to endure a flight cancellation. While I am glad to hear about your check in experience, I would still appreciate if you contacted us directly in regards to your Hyatt points. I hope that we are able to straighten this up quickly for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency O'Hare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency O'Hare

Address: 9300 West Bryn Mawr Avenue, Rosemont, IL 60018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Rosemont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Rosemont
#1 Green Hotel in Rosemont
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rosemont
#7 Business Hotel in Rosemont
#8 Family Hotel in Rosemont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency O'Hare 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an iconic O’Hare airport hotel with cutting-edge design and dramatically transformed public space and guestrooms. Groups of all sizes appreciate the grand venues offering innovative catering and unrivaled services at our hotel. Invite friends to join you for cocktails at the enticing Red Bar, or dine in the hip, contemporary O’H American Grill serving mouthwatering traditional American cuisine from around the country. Plush Hyatt Grand BedsTM, deluxe amenities and welcoming touches await you in the remodeled rooms of our exceptional hotel. Guests love our stunning lobby and sunny atrium, easy check-in service, friendly staff and bright, elegant rooms with contemporary décor and high-tech features. Warm yet classy, Hyatt Regency O’Hare boasts an impressive modern aesthetic that speaks to business and leisure travelers alike. With quick access to both O’Hare airport and downtown Chicago, Hyatt Regency O’Hare is the ideal accommodation for every visitor to the Windy City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Reservation Counter and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Regency O'Hare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency o`Hare Hotel Rosemont
Hyatt Regency Rosemont
Hyatt O'hare
Hyatt Rosemont
Hyatt Regency Ohare Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency O'Hare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.