We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency O'Hare

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency O'Hare to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Regency O'Hare
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9300 West Bryn Mawr Avenue, Rosemont, IL 60018   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay More, Save More
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Rosemont
GreenLeadersSilver level
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2007

This hotel has everything I like in a great hotel.

Excellent service at the front desk.

Very nice public areas with sports bars and good restaurants.

Very nice, quiet rooms with excellent beds and bedding. The bathroom is beautiful with good soaps, shampoos, etc.

Good mini bar, although it's expensive.

On time, personalized wake up calls.

On time, excellent transporation to the airport.

I was very surprised and pleased with the quality of this Hyatt.

Excellent.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    401
    177
    82
    48
See reviews for
123
179
119
471
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marion, Iowa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2007

After a dismal first stay in August (all employee related and regarding a room booked via a travel agent) I decided to return to the Hyatt hoping for a fresh view. In total I have been to this hotel 12 times, 2 after their big remodel job.


First, let me get this out of the way; this is a business and convention hotel. It does not cater to families looking for a fun place to stay with the kids. The pool has been removed and the rooms, with their mini-bars, aren't too kid friendly. It's for travelers and business people who can put things on their expense account. You need to be a little travel savvy to figure things out, or be willing to ask employees.

That said...I was in town for a convention in the city and decided to stay in Rosemont to save a few bucks. I like the location near the airport and the Interstate.

When I was there parking was $15.00 including tax, and that is for in and out priveleges. Make sure you take your parking ticket with you to have validated at check in!

And yes, you will be asked to leave a credit card number "for incidentals". This includes mini-bar purchases, in room movies, etc. You can also charge meals in the bar or restaurant to your room and you'll be able to check-out in a jiffy. I have no complaints about this process since virtually every hotel I've stayed out in the last 3 years as asked for the same.

Hyatt is really trying to push the self check-in kiosks but the employees are more than ready to help you with them. In fact, they will take you through the entire process. You can still ask for room upgrades, etc when you are checking in. In the end the kiosk will spit out your key cards and a reciept that included walking directions to your room.

Rooms facing the interior atrium are a wee bit noiser, especially when the hotel is hosing a convention and there is a lot of hub bub going on in the lobby.

The rooms in the "Executive Wing" are more of a walk but are quieter.

This stay I opted for a Regency Club room and was given room #2506. These rooms are more expensive and much larger than the standred rooms. They feature a seperate sleeping and living area, a dining table with 4 chairs, a sofa, a wet bar and a small fridge in addition to the pricey mini-bar. The bathroom was a full sized tub and shower combo with a large vanity/sink. Some of the other rooms I have stayed in had a pedestal sink and a single stall shower.

The bedroom has it's own TV and a fullsized closet, along with nightstand and a hearboard that are built into the wall and a storage bench. The beds are like dream clouds, I slept great every night. The linens are soft and fluffy making me neither too hot nor too cold.

Decor is about the same as all the other rooms, same color scheme and wall art.

The literature for the hotel states that the Regency Club rooms are on the 29th floor and that they include bathrobes. Maybe there is another Regency Club up there that is even more expensive..I don't know..I do know that the 2 wings on the 25th floor were marked "Hyatt Gold Passport" so maybe they are reserved for members only, which I am.

I also had access to the Regency Lounge, to the left of check-in on the main lobby level. It's an upscale looking lounge where you can get alcoholic drinks plus complimentary internet access, coffee, juices, water, soda, snacks and light breakfast. They have pleny of comfy seating and a nice widescreen TV. Of course, it's reserved for Regency Club guests only, part of the perks for the extra price you pay.

The bar can be a noisy affair and the food options are limited to a few sandwiches, pizza and over priced appetizers. I can't comment on the alcohol prices or offerings.

The restaurant is better but no price break. Meals are served with free bread and butter and soft drink refills are complimentary. They offer a luncheon buffet what ran about 17.00$ a person. If you are looking to eat one filling meal a day you could make this worth the cost. Sandwiches are around 12.00$ and are served with fries.

Everywhere in the hotel it is clean and modern looking and you can see that Hyatt is attempting to bring the hotel into the "digital age", with the check-in kiosks, the TV screens, etc.

All employees this visit were friendly and attentive. I required the use of 2 different bellmen and found them to be courteous and gracious when I tipped them.

Over all it was a fantastic 2 nights and I will not hesitate to book this hotel again when I'm in the area.

A note to those who booked on priceline; you're getting a heck of a deal at the Hyatt Regency O'Hare, even if you do have to pay for parking. Every hotel in the O'Hare area charges for parking, and sometimes much more. Priceline once gave me the Hilton, located attached to the airport; parking there was $30.00 a night. If you want to advoid that, stay in Schaumberg at the Hyatt Woodfield, I've also reviewed that hotel.

  • Liked — Location, quality of service
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2007

I stayed at the Hyatt Regency O’Hare in mid-September after “winning” the hotel via priceline. I chose the O’Hare area because I knew I could get a good rate, and all the hotels were near the blue line to downtown. I ended up getting the Hyatt for less than $60 a night, over half off their prevailing rates. I was a little skeptical after reading the reviews on here; however, I am happy to say my stay was great! I arrived to the hotel at about 10am after taking the blue line one stop from the airport. It was about a 6-8 minute walk from the station to the hotel, not bad at all. First impression was good, the lobby was very nice and open, with lots of places to sit and relax. I went up to one of the agents to try to check in and to my luck; they had rooms available (The hotel also has self service check in/out kiosks). Check-in was very quick and effortless, with no mention of priceline. I asked for a room that looked out towards the direction the airplanes land, and was given a room in the “executive tower”. The “executive tower” is the “L” shaped tower sort of behind the main complex. You go through the atrium and down a hall to get to the elevators for the executive tower. There were 3 elevators for the tower. My room was on the “27th” floor, which technically was the 7th floor, at the far end of the hallway, and was non-smoking as requested. The room had everything I needed, and was well worth the price I paid. Upon entering the room, directly in front of you was the closet, and the bathroom was to the right. The bathroom wasn’t huge, but was functional and was equipped with a tub/shower combination (with great water pressure). There was plenty of counter space as well. The room itself was spacious and had a very, very comfortable king size “grand bed” (as seen in the pictures). I slept great each night after coming back from downtown. There was a work desk, 2 large chairs, and plenty of drawer space. There was also a mini-bar, which I did not open or use. The TV was a regular tube TV, but had a good selection of channels, movies etc. There was also a radio, but it was not one of the newer Ipod compatible radios some Hyatt’s have. The temperature control worked pretty well though out my stay. The best part about the room, besides the bed, was my view!! I was able to see two different “landing paths” for O’Hare, with a non-stop flow of planes coming by. The noise at night was not bad at all, once asleep, I could not hear anything. I also had a distant view of downtown over the trees. The windows also open about 4in, which was nice to let the cool air in.

The public areas of the hotel were very nice, I know they just completed a multi-million dollar renovation of the lobby/public areas, and I was very impressed. I did not eat at the main restaurant, but it looked ok. On the last night, I did go to the Red bar, which was pretty cool. They have lots of plasma TV’s to watch sports or whatever. The food was ok, and the drinks were not too expensive. There is also a small, but expensive gift shop on the first floor. There is no pool at the hotel; however, there is a free 24 hour gym.

The hotel has a skywalk to the Convention center, and is nearby about 4 other hotels. There are no restaurants or convenience stores that are close by, with the exception of a McDonald's about a mile down the road. The hotel is also very close to the Theatre and there is a 16 screen Muvico theatre complex right down the street. I walked around the area to see what was around, and the area is very clean and safe. Supposedly the city is building the “Rosemont Walk”, a retail/entertainment area around the hotel; however, besides the movie theatres and 2 new hotels, I did not see much else happening. They were supposed to build a large family hotel/indoor water park nearby, but I believe that was cancelled.

The blue line is a very short walk from the hotel, and it takes about 45 minutes to get to downtown. They are doing work on the blue line to speed up the ride, and that should be fully completed in late 2008. The trains come about every 10 minutes. There is a Dunkin Donuts at the Rosemont station, which came in very handy!! Great coffee and great donuts!!!! I did go to the airport to eat dinner one day (food court in the international terminal is before security), and took the shuttle back to the hotel. The shuttles were always running and every time I left or came back to the hotel there were shuttles out front. I took the shuttle back to the airport after checking out and it was very convenient.

I gave the hotel 4 stars, as I think it has the potential once the rooms get renovated, which from what I understand that is going to happen in 2008. The public areas are up to par with a 4 star hotel. There were a lot of business people staying there, as well as families going to the different sporting events in town. I was very happy with my stay, and thrilled that I paid less than $60 a night to stay there. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and would not hesitate to stay there again if I go back to Chicago.

  • Liked — Comfortable bed, great views!
  • Disliked — Older TV's
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2007

I was in route back home from Florida when I missed my connecting flight in Chicago due to a flight delay with American Airlines. American put everybody up at this hotel who had missed their connections. Even though I was tired and would only overnight in the hotel for 7 hours it is a great hotel. My room had a very comfortable king bed, clean bathroom and good room amenities (coffee pot, 2 phones one cord- less, desk, Internet service on TV for 10.00 per night.) The hotel has a restaurant and a snack bar, room service was also available, but expensive. The lobby is very impressive and elegant. If you need a hotel close to O'hare Airport I recommend this property. They also offer a complementary shuttle from O'hare that runs every 15 minutes. The staff is also very helpful

  • Liked — Bed
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, WI
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2007

I had a $100 Hyatt check, a credit card reward perk. The desk wouldn't accept it. They said my room had already been billed to my credit card. You would think it would be easy to reverse the charge and re-bill the payment but the desk agent and the supervisor were absolutely cold and non responsive. Later I wrote a letter to the manager. I received no response whatsoever. Even if nothing was done, I expected perhaps some conciliatory response. That all colored my stay at the Hyatt profoundly negatively,

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, New Jersey
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2007

If you expect top service from hotel staff and a clean and efficient business hotel, then this is a PERFECT choice for you! If you expect good food, convenience to downtown Chicago, above average aesthetics or extra-special touches, then stay far, far away.
PROS: Very quick (free) shuttle from the airport to the hotel, super front desk staff, extremely fast room service delivery, efficient work space and consistent high-speed wireless internet at $9.99/day.
CONS: The restaurant food (in Red) was horrible, there was no hot water pressure in the shower (although the cold water shot out just fine), the "Executive wing" of the hotel was a long walk away, there was no directory of guest services in the room.
SUMMARY: I stayed there because a seminar I was attending was given in the hotel, but if I had a choice I would probably choose another place next time.

  • Liked — Excellent service from staff
  • Disliked — No hot water pressure in the shower
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2007

I reviewed this hotel a year ago after my first stay. Unfortunately, the conference I need to attend was held there again this year so I was back in July 2007.

They have completed a very thorough remodeling of the public areas of this hotel now. Obviously they have thrown a lot of money at this place -- some first class materials, nice finishes, etc. It's interesting to see how some poor soul has struggled to try to make this highly unattractive, barn-like and spiritless place into something nice. It still isn't.

When I was there:
- There was still duct tape covering up some of the buttons on the elevator.
- One of the elevators still not working
- There is no sign over any of the registration areas. You get off the elevator, and there a bunch of unmarked desks and counters. You're supposed to figure out where to go. If you look lost (as I did), someone will come up and direct you to a self-service check-in kiosk. It seems to me to defeat the purposes of the idea of self service -- if the hotel is so confusing you need to hire people to direct them to the "self service" check in kiosk and show them how to use it, why don't they just have enough service at the desk to check people in?
- The lobby Starbucks/snack shop was charging something like $1.50 to $2.00 *more* for a cup of coffee than even the Starbucks at the airport I never knew that Starbucks at the airport wasn't expensive enough - the Hyatt has fixed that by raising the price!

Again, I would urge you to stay at one of the other hotels that are within a short walking distance of this place if you find yourself trapped in this particular neighborhood.

I am dreaming of the day I turn on CNN and see a film clip of seeing this place (safely) imploded on a Sunday morning and replaced with a KOA campground.

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency O'Hare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency O'Hare

Address: 9300 West Bryn Mawr Avenue, Rosemont, IL 60018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Rosemont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Rosemont
#1 Green Hotel in Rosemont
#7 Business Hotel in Rosemont
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rosemont
#8 Family Hotel in Rosemont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency O'Hare 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an iconic O’Hare airport hotel with cutting-edge design and dramatically transformed public space and guestrooms. Groups of all sizes appreciate the grand venues offering innovative catering and unrivaled services at our hotel. Invite friends to join you for cocktails at the enticing Red Bar, or dine in the hip, contemporary O’H American Grill serving mouthwatering traditional American cuisine from around the country. Plush Hyatt Grand BedsTM, deluxe amenities and welcoming touches await you in the remodeled rooms of our exceptional hotel. Guests love our stunning lobby and sunny atrium, easy check-in service, friendly staff and bright, elegant rooms with contemporary décor and high-tech features. Warm yet classy, Hyatt Regency O’Hare boasts an impressive modern aesthetic that speaks to business and leisure travelers alike. With quick access to both O’Hare airport and downtown Chicago, Hyatt Regency O’Hare is the ideal accommodation for every visitor to the Windy City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Regency O'Hare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency o`Hare Hotel Rosemont
Hyatt Regency Rosemont
Hyatt O'hare
Hyatt Rosemont
Hyatt Regency Ohare Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency O'Hare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;