We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A superb hotel in a fantastic city.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Chicago O'Hare

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Chicago O'Hare to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Chicago O'Hare
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8101 West Higgins Road, Rosemont, IL 60631   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park & Fly Special
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Rosemont
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Neath Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“A superb hotel in a fantastic city.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

My wife and I stayed here in May 25 - June 1 along with my son and his girlfriend.
We stayed in 2 King Suite rooms on the 6th floor (606 and 623). Both rooms were large, with a fridge, microwave, kitchen area, a reading area, a large plasma TV, a King size bed and a bath with overhead shower. Everything in the room, as it was in the hotel, was absolutely spotless.
The hotel had a gym area, with approx 7 or 8 pieces of equipment to use and was never busy. The pool was lovely as well, although it was out of service for the last couple of days.
Breakfast was in an area just off of the reception and was open plan. This was plentiful with cereal, muffins, yoghurt, waffles (my fav!!), egg, sausage, bread, bagels, juice and coffee and tea. Coffee was also available all day downstairs. Breakfast was great, although the hotel was so busy on Saturday and Sunday, there wasn't enough space for everyone, so perhaps arrive for breakfast on these days earlier than planned. On other days, there was plenty of available tables.
The hotel provided a shuttle service to the airport (approx 10 minutes) and picks up at Door 2 on arrival, although they kindly drop you back to whatever terminal you need on the way home.
Onto the hotel staff. From the cleaners to the Manager (who helped me with the internet...thank you so much!!) everyone was so helpful, polite and friendly. They couldn't do enough for us and my many questions and are a credit to the hotel.
Never having visited America before, I doubted whether Americans could be as nice and genuine as they are portrayed but trust me, they really are the nicest people I have ever met. Chicago is also spotlessly clean and I have to say that the UK could learn so much in cleanliness, friendliness and manners displyed by everyone (youngsters as well) here in Chicago.
We mostly had dinner in the Outback Steakhouse, which is attached to the hotel, well 5 times actually!! What can I say about the Outback? Fabulous food at great prices, a great service and friendly staff, who were so courteous. You must go there for food!!
We also had a pizza take out from Spuntino across the road and at D'agostino's, just up the road. Both were great as well.
We brought drinks, supplies, bits and pieces up the road at Dominicks, just across the road from Cumberland CTA (about a 10 minute walk). The CTA is best to take you around the city. We bought a 7 day pass, to use on all CTA metros and buses, which cost $23 each and was well worth it. You can buy these online and they will send them to you in the UK, just give them a couple of weeks before you go.
We visited Wrigley Field to watchs the Cubs beat the Mets on the Thursday (how cold was it???!!! It was 0 degrees actually) and also visited Lincoln Park Zoo, took in a Weird Chicago tour (see online, a great tour, really informative and funny), the Willis Tower, Millennium Park, the Magnificent Mile, the Navy Pier and Woodfield Mall. We also took in the Memorial Day Parade, which was good to see. It was a busy week, quite exhausting but so much fun. For lunches out, we tried many recommended places, Al's Beef, Giordanos, The Cheesecake Factory (fab!!), R J Grunts, Ruby Tuesdays and a hot dog at Wrigley!!
The weather ranged from 0 degrees on the Thursday (33 degrees fahrenheit) to 33 degrees C on the Monday (91 degrees fahrenheit) so take all types of clothing.
All in all, an amazing holiday. Great places to visit and I would have no doubt in recommending you stay at the Springhill Suites O'Hare as a base. It's the best.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    259
    78
    22
    7
See reviews for
233
89
54
265
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

I traveled to Chicago for a wedding on 4/29 and decided on the Springhill due to the many positive reviews by TA travelers. True to their words, the Springhill was as described; clean, comfortable and convenient. The location was almost at the middle of all the places I needed to go during my weekend trip, about 20 minutes to the west, south and downtown Chicago. Our corner unit had two double beds, a pullout sofa in the living area, two new flatscreen TVs and a semi private bathroom/vanity area.

People who are not please with this hotel need to keep in mind that you can't get free WiFi, free parking and free breakfast for the price of the Springhill. The hotel rooms and facilities are just right for what you pay. My room was roomy for three people and my bed was just perfect. Sure the blanket was a little thin, but I didn't notice it; it was warm enough in the room with the thermostat set to 70 degrees. We discovered we were missing a bedsheet for the pull out sofa at 9pm; I called the front desk, and within 10 minutes someone
was at the door with the bedsheets.

Despite being in the O'Hare flight path, the noise from the airplanes were minimal. I used the underground parking as recommended by some TA members and found it very convenient. The garage was well lighted, dry and not as cramp as some other reviewers suggested. I drove a mid-size rental car and manuevered around with no problem (SUVs would have problem with the ceiling). The Outback steakhouse attached to the hotel is a plus for people arriving late. The food was typical Outback quality (not great but good enough), and someone must have clean up the tables since I did not find them sticky and greasy as reported in an earlier TA review.

The management of this hotel seems to monitor the reviews on TA and provides sincere responses. The condition of the hotel and attitude of the staff reflects the attention to provide a clean no frill hotel and excellent customer service.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner suite, it a little larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

We stayed here from April 21-23, 2011. Nice clean room. We were in a corner room, and I recommend one if you can due to the big beautiful windows (since it is by the highway the view was lacking - but we weren't there to look out windows - but to visit Chicago - but the jets going to O'Hare were impressive) Having a suite is great, it is a partial wall but much better than a regular room. Breakfast was warm with quite a selection of foods.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

We have stayed at this Springhill Suite three times over the last two years. It is the closest hotel to my family in Oak Park that can accommodate our family of 6. The included breakfast is quite substantial; there is something for everyone to pick from. There is an underground parking garage for guests that many don't know about. We like the extra security. The kids like the pool - although it is nothing special. But in the winter it is a treat. The workout room has the necessities.

Our only complaint is the room. It is a little tight to accommodate 2 doubles and a pull out couch. We would prefer 2 queens, but that is hard to find anywhere. The beds seem a little old and worn, and the bedding is very average or below average. So many hotels now have the duvets and comforters - the thin little blankets don't feel substantial. The kitchenette is great for storing and reheating things families with young children may need.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontiac, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

Just what the corporate and leisure traveler alike should be looking for. A hotel with the added feel that you're at home. The team at this property make you feel at home and they are always smiling. Parking is free and you're not far from downtown. Internet is fast and free. Of course O'Hare is nearby and I always feel safe.

Room Tip: All the suites are the best.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

The hotel was very clean and rooms were very modern. The hotel was in a great location and the staff was very friendly throughout the stay. We used the pool area and it was nice.

The only issue is I left my iPhone charger behind the night stand after checking out. I realized this probably 5 minutes after checking out and called the hotel and since I was not leaving the area until later that night . They said they would have Housekeeping search the room and they would bring it up to the front desk. When I went back later that night the front desk didn't know anything about the call from the morning. They let me go back up to the room but the charger was gone. It was my fault for forgetting this but I also wish I got it back since I called right away.

Overall the hotel was nice and had no other issues.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horwedel, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, April 1, 2011
Dear ewh88

Thank you for the nice comments regarding your stay here and I apologize for the problem with your charger. If you let me know what type of phone you have we will be happy to search in our lost and found, it was probably turned, in and return it to you.

Thank you
Jim Horwedel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

Good value at $85 for single room. Room large, clean and quiet even though near elevators.

Figuring out where to park when checking in was a problem. On a Saturday night, there was no place to park and check in until I drove around the lot a couple of times. They should have at least one parking place in front designated for check-in. Underground parking garage was a plus once you checked in. Only one person at front desk at check-in on busy night.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horwedel, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, March 24, 2011
Dear Mr.Joseph 19,

Thanks for the nice comments regarding your stay here last weekend and I am sorry you had a difficult time trying to park. As you recall, last weekend was the first nice here in Chicago and that brought a lot of local people to the Outback Steakhouse located in our lobby. Normally the parking is not as difficult as you encounted. We hope you will stay with us in the future if your travels bring you to the area.

Thank you
Jim Horwedel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Chicago O'Hare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Chicago O'Hare

Address: 8101 West Higgins Road, Rosemont, IL 60631
Location: United States > Illinois > Rosemont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rosemont
#3 Business Hotel in Rosemont
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rosemont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Chicago O'Hare 3*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make the right choice, make the smart choice! We offer a hot breakfast, parking, and the fastest high speed internet all complimentary. Traveling to O'Hare; use our convenient 24 hour O'Hare Airport shuttle service. It leaves the hotel at :15 and :45 past every hour (please call for pick-up 11pm-6am). Once at airport, make your way to the bus/shuttle center. We pick- up at door #2 (2 times per hour). Located minutes from the Donald E. Stephens Convention Center, Allstate Arena, Rosemont Theater and NEW Rivers Casino. Conveniently close to the CTA 'Blue Line'. Take the train downtown to see the Magnificent Mile, Chicago Museums, McCormick Place or many other attractions. Sports enthusiasts will enjoy easy access to Chicago Cubs, White Sox, Chicago Bears and Blackhawk games. Our all suite-property includes spacious rooms which all have a fridge and microwave. Find time to use our Indoor swimming pool and 24 hour fitness center. With over 6,000 sq ft of flexible meeting space, we can help plan your next event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, HostelBookers, Hotwire, Marriott, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Chicago O'Hare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Chicago o`Hare Hotel Rosemont
Chicago Springhill Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Chicago O'Hare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.