We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a long walk from the parking garage to the convention center” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Donald E. Stephens Convention Center

Donald E. Stephens Convention Center
5555 N. River Road, Rosemont, IL 60018
847-692-2220
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 12 Attractions in Rosemont
Type: Convention Centers, Other
Attraction details
Goshen, Indiana
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“It's a long walk from the parking garage to the convention center”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We attended a car show there. The address on the paperwork and the GPS didn't jive so we drove through several neighborhoods before we got to the parking garage - we should have just used our heads and gotten off the interstate when we saw it. We parked in the parking garage, which was very convenient because there is an enclosed walkway from the garage to the Center; there appeared to be cheaper parking options. The downside is that the walkway seems really long especially after walking around a car show with no seating for several hours. Also, there were very few restaurants in the area.

A helpful hint: There is a bank of ATM like machines to pay for parking as you come back from the Center, remember to take your ticket with you so you don't have to go back. If you forget your ticket there were two booths where you can pay before you leave.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    48
    39
    9
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Wayyyy better than McCormick Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This is what McCormick place should be like. No parking headaches, no price gouging, no bad neighborhoods to traverse to get in and out of the place and plenty of ammenities close by that don't cost an arm and a leg.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very accessible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

One hall accessed by ramp with tight turn at the top, but the rest of the building flat and easy to get around.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterton, Indiana
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Showing it's age.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Well, for more than 16 years, we have been traveling to the Christmas cluster dog show at the RCC. I have to say, it is beginning to show its age. Although the bathrooms have been upgraded, it seems like everything else is need of some sprucing.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedro Woolley, Washington
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding convention center with poor location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The convention center was pretty good for what I was attending but it does have some pretty bad directions. The layout was a bit strange and getting to and from the hotel was not very easy. There was not much around the center for activities including resturants.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Donald E. Stephens Convention Center also viewed

 

Been to Donald E. Stephens Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Donald E. Stephens Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.