We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value but watch internet access gouging” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago O'Hare Rosemont

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Chicago O'Hare Rosemont to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites Chicago O'Hare Rosemont
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5500 N. River Road, Rosemont, IL 60018   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park, Stay & Go
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Rosemont
Newport Beach, CA, United States
1 review
“Good value but watch internet access gouging”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Embassy Sutes is a good (not great) spot for business travelers. Rooms are comfortable, clean and condusive for doing business work. Rates are good, but you'll get killed with parking and internet charges. In my view, charging for internet access is like charging for tap water - it's simply unacceptable. Complimentary breakfast has declined (soggy bacon, eggs taste like wet powder) and evening reception is a joke unless you're a drinker or pretzel eater. But if you don't count the "complimentary" breakfast and evening treats and crazy internet charges in the value equation, this hotel is a good place to be for strictly business.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    183
    98
    51
    29
See reviews for
133
65
32
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

This is not your typical Embassy Suites. The staff focusses on service and taking care of the guest. The complimentary service is good but the restaurant and lounge are to be admired. We watched a game in what appear to be newly renovated lounge, bar menu was very creative and staff always kept our drinks full. Although we were in the bar during complimentary cocktail hour they were busy. The restaurant staff gave us good service, menu had many options, the Sea Bass was delicious.

Rooms are nice and very comfortable, not noisy like your usual Embassy. The location of this hotel is perfect. It is just a block from the outlet mall and entertainment district. Great stores and restaurants.

Room Tip: Corner suites are the best for privacy and extra window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I travel through O'Hare each week and on occasion am stuck unexpectedly. Mark Stangle the Front Office Manger is an asset to this company and goes out of his way to ensure you are welcomed and comfortable. On more then one occasion I've had this occur and all times Mark and his team have gone out thier way to make sure I have all I need. This is now my "home away from home" when in the Chicago area. It's comforting to have a "family" to count on when one is delayed due to travel irregularities. Mark is outstanding and I recommend this property to anyone looking for "home away from home". Ask for Mark!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waupaca, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

A great trip to the JF Show at the Convention Center across the street. Easy access to great entertainment and other fine places to eat and shop. The Hotel was as inviting as it could be! We love to come to this area for a great get away. It is so handy, as we have friends in Des Plaines and River Grove.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth,MA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I usually try to stay at Embassy Suites when travelling and recently had the occasion to stay at this one on my last two buisness trips. It's a very clean hotel with a great location and a great staff. Convenient to the airport with a free shuttle. Nice bar and resturant on site or you can walk across the parking lot to Gibson's Steak House. One of the better meals in the Rosemont area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Mostly everything about this hotel beats anything I've seen in any other North American hotel, hands down. The rooms? Every one of them are suites, and immense by my standards: by itself, the bedroom was just as big as a standard hotel room elsewhere, then add a compact washroom and a comfortable outer "living room" (where the sofa folds out into a bed)... and each of the three rooms equipped with its own sink! Like a previous reviewer mentioned, the decor may seem a bit dated (late '80s/early '90s), but is actually well kept and looks like it was installed just yesterday.

And if you think the suite is the end of the story, think again. Almost every suite on the six floors opens overlooking the generously vaulted dining area, the site of the sizeable morning buffet breakfast (with eggs made to order) and the evening manager's reception (with complimentary beverages, both alcoholic and non, and a humble variety of finger foods). A walk around the ground floor area will reveal the restaurant (my only bone of contention with the place as I clearly felt I was not welcome there, but with breakfast and reception taking place far away from that place, it hardly mattered), a quaint gift shop, a few conference room areas, and a pool/whirlpool with stairs leading to a modest exercise room (which will probably meet most travellers' needs).

And again, if you think that's the end of the story... A five-minute walk straight through the parking garage brings one to the "Playground" (a grouping of restaurants, varied in theme and with diverse menus to please many a person, all centred around an open skating rink which doubles as an AstroTurf playing field in warmer months. And adding yet again to the location value of the place, cut to the left of the steakhouse (to your left when emerging from the parking garage) and you'll see the Fashion Outlets of Chicago mall, just across the street. True, you're about a half hour drive away from the Old Town and Lincoln Park areas, but you've got so much to explore in terms of food and shopping just nearby!

In conclusion, the Embassy Suites Chicago O'Hare Rosemont impressed me so that I would seriously consider looking up any Embassy Suites location for future trips across North America. I literally felt like I was on a cruise or a resort... only there was a whole city accessible at any time. I DEFINITELY recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This hotel had the most comfortable bed I have been in for a long time. I had a great night sleep. The rooms were clean. However the rooms have french doors to the outside of the room, which is open to the lobby/eating area below which lets of lot of noise into the front part (seating area) of the room. There is an "Old" feeling to the room. Tarnished door handles, a light switch that lights up when it's turned off, some old wooden furnishing. However it was obvious that the bed/frame was newer along with fresh wallpaper, etc. Felt the cost of the hotel was quite high for what you get.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Chicago O'Hare Rosemont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Chicago O'Hare Rosemont

Address: 5500 N. River Road, Rosemont, IL 60018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Rosemont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rosemont
#12 Business Hotel in Rosemont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Chicago O'Hare Rosemont 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites O'Hare Rosemont is located adjacent to the Donald E. Stephens Convention Center and five minutes from O'Hare International Airport (ORD) via our complimentary hotel shuttle (4am-12am). Located within walking distance from MBFinancial Park and Fashion Outlets of Chicago. Our hotel is a full service all suite airport hotel providing outstanding accommodations and amenities to business and leisure travelers in the Chicago and Rosemont, Illinois area. Hi-Spd Internet available in guest rooms and public area for a nominal fee. Self Parking: $25/day; Valet Parking: $28/day. We do not offer a shuttle to Allstate Arena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Embassy Suites Chicago O'Hare Rosemont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Chicago o`Hare Rosemont Hotel Rosemont
Embassy Suites Rosemont
Rosemont Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Chicago O'Hare Rosemont, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.