We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we could of stayed longer!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin O'Hare

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin O'Hare to your Saves list
The Westin O'Hare
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6100 North River Road, Rosemont, IL 60018   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Rosemont
St. Cloud, MN
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wish we could of stayed longer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Had to stay 1 night near the O'Hara airport for our flight the next day and found this hotel on a email special for SPG members. I booked a $89.00 rate through the special for a King room with a free upgrade to a king suite. Had free shuttle to airport so I figured why not as everything else was over $100 more a night. Also, all the hotel charge a parking fee in the surrounding area. Once we walked into the lobby we knew we did good. Check-in was great and our room was amazing. Over 470 sq. feet of gorgeous and so much room and the bathroom was huge! Has a huge business center free of charge along with a fitness center and indoor pool. They also have a small spa service area on the 2nd floor. Shuttles runs every 15 minutes to the airport for 24 hours and they ran on time. Rosemont is a great location with lots of dining, beautiful park a block away and a casino within 3 blocks. I will definitely stay here again. Not sure what the regular rooms look like but the free upgrade was great and at that price, I wish we could of stayed longer! Staying close to the airport, we NEVER heard any planes. Was amazed at that. Outside of building looks dated as it has been there a long time but I loved the inside look and ambiance.

Room Tip: Ask for a free upgrade to a king suite and sign up for Starwood programs for email specials.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete D, General Manager at The Westin O'Hare, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you so much rbjjm211 for taking the time to complete a survey of your experience. We are delighted that you had a great time and are happy to share some history about the hotel. In the original construction of the hotel the windows were designed with two 5/8 inch glass panes that are soundproof so our guests receive the Heavenly Sleep that they deserve! The windows do open as well so those that enjoy fresh air can get that if they wish. Thank you again and we look forward to having you back again soon!

Warm regards,

Pete Demay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    231
    112
    41
    25
See reviews for
96
98
97
365
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

The Westin O'Hare is within walking distance of CTA Rosemont station, so getting into the city is not a big issue. There's nothing special about this hotel, just a normal Westin. Rooms are clean enough, staffs are polite, everything seems just OK. It's not a new property, but I guess I can deal with it. In fact, since I just had stayed at Westin LAX, I thought the Los Angeles hotel was better in every way.

There's no free wifi. I needed a double/double room but got a king room instead. Since I bid the room at Priceline, I guess I should not complain much.

There are so many hotels near O'Hare, and you deserve better choices.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete D, General Manager at The Westin O'Hare, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you exzx for your review of the Westin O'Hare. We appreicate you taking the time to offer your feedback. We agree the location of the hotel is excellent as its close the Blue Line train as well as all the attractions of Rosemont. Thank you for visiting with us!

Warm regards,

Pete Demay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Give the Westin a shot. The price is about half of what downtown hotels charge. The rooms are standard Westin rooms. Easy access to the train or freeways. If you come in late you get an extra hour of sleep. It's an above average airport hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete D, General Manager at The Westin O'Hare, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you Alaskanabroad for your review of the Westin O'Hare! We are happy you enjoyed your experience and highly recommend us as a nice selection in the Rosemont area!

Warm regards,

Pete Demay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The good:
1. Shuttle bus from and to airport is every 15 minutes so it's fairly convenient.
2. Check-in is efficient even when there were lots of guests checking in at the same time.
3. Gym equipment are adequate

The bad:
1. Need to renovate the hotel overall, looks worn down.
2. The room is just average, need to do major renovation to signify their room rate.
3. Not enough choices for their breakfast buffet, very simple breakfast.

But overall, this facility could be better though compared to all of the Westin's that I have stayed. I guess for me, there should be a Westin standard that needs to be uphold everywhere.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete D, General Manager at The Westin O'Hare, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you nicholasdamian for your review of the property! We are pleased you enjoyed your visit and think you will be happy to know that we completed our renovation of all 525 guestrooms and meeting space, and starting in January we will finish the project by completing all our public space and restaurant in warm contemporary colors and palettes!

Warm regards,

Pete Demay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I stayed at the Westin O'Hare with 3 girlfriends for a road trip and really enjoyed it.

The Pros:
- The beds are as comfortable as the hotel advertises them to be! After long days of walking, you definitely get the good rest you need
- It's near the airport, but not noisy at all, and the CTA is walking distance, so if you don't want to worry about driving around the city, it's super convenient to get downtown
- The parking lot has in/out privileges, so if you do decide to take your car out, don't have to worry about incurring extra fees
- Rooms are spacious - we had 4 people share the room and there was still room to walk after we dumped all of our luggage on the floor
- It's a Westin, so things are well kept and service is consistent

Cons
- the parking passes can be quite dysfunctional, and there does not seem to be a handy solution. We were given a parking pass at check-in, and when we tried to swipe to exit the lot, the card didn't work. We then went back to the concierge to get a replacement card, which ALSO didn't work. We ended up having to buzz for help and have someone open the gate for us. This entire process caused a back-up of several cars and was really something that should not have happened. We noticed that it happened to some other guests as well, as people were asking for replacement parking passes when we were checking in.
- Wireless is expensive unless you have Starwood Gold Status, not sure if you get it with Prefered Status

Overall, it was a great hotel stay and with the exception of a tiny glitch, would have been pretty much perfect. For people who are cost-conscious but also want a comfortable and luxurious stay, this is great value!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete D, General Manager at The Westin O'Hare, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you CDNgirl1230 for your wonderful review of the Westin O'Hare! We are so happy you enjoyed your getaway and appreciate the feedback and comments!

Warm regards,

Pete Demay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro Washington DC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This hotel might be okay during the week for business; however, I would not recommend it on the weekends when non-business guests are the norm. I stayed at the Westin O'Hare on a Friday and Saturday night for a business meeting held at the hotel. I was assigned to the 4th floor where most of the other rooms were assigned to large groups of kids attending a nearby Anime convention. Until 3 a.m., different groups of kids talked, yelled, and even sang in the hallway. The also got a lot of ice, and the ice machine is VERY loud. The walls are thin, and it was impossible to sleep. I know I should have changed rooms, but every time a group would charge down the hallway, I would optimistically hope it would be the last.

On the first afternoon, the housekeeper barged in shortly after I arrived. She apologized and said that she didn't know I was in the room. That seemed understandable. However, within two minutes, either she or another housekeeper tried again to get in (this time I had used the bolt). There was no "privacy" sign that I could post. Also, at check-in, I was specifically told that I would not need to go to the registration desk to check out. I departed at 7:30 a.m. on Sunday, yet I was charged a "late check-out" fee of $75.

I also noticed that the meeting planners had a difficult time getting service during the meeting.

Room Tip: If you are assigned a room near the elevators/ice machine, ask to be moved immediately.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete D, General Manager at The Westin O'Hare, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments dreamit55 as we appreciate your feedback from your recent visit. As a Westin Hotel we pride ourselves on offering great business services seven days a week so apologize if other guests caused noise at late hours. Please feel free to contact me direct at pete.demay@westin.com as I would like to look into your comment about a $75 late check out fee as departure time is not until 11am so would be happy to address that for you.

Warm regards,

Pete Demay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The location of this hotel was handy. Close to the airport with a free shuttle to/from the airport. Even with being so close to the airport, we never heard plane noise while in our room. Huge perk! There is also a casino shuttle that will take you to/from the local casino. We walked, which wasn't too far (about .8 miles) but I wouldn't recommend doing that after dark. It's a very busy road, not much lighting and not populated (wooded area and some business offices). There is a McDonald's right at the corner and a 7-11 around the corner for convenience items. We went to a very tasty Brewery (Ram's ?) around the corner.

The work out room was nice. Handful of treadmills, ellipticals, 2 bikes, free weights and more. They also provide towels and headphones for those of us that forgot them at home ;) The pool area was nice. Lots of places to sit and relax, even an outdoor space to sit in the sun (as long as you don't mind free way noise and planes flying overhead). The pool itself was kinds dirty though. Kinda grimy looking at the water line all the way around. The hot tub is very small, max 6 people and the temp was more like bath water. Huge plus at the pool was the pool towels. They were actual, big towels that really absorbed. I hate the tiny towels you usually get at hotel pools.

The breakfast was very good but pricey. The buffet was the best deal, otherwise it cost $5 for a tiny glass of orange juice

Make sure to check your bill before checking out. Our room description said free wifi. When we went to log in it wanted to charge us. We called the front desk and were told to just accept the charge and it would be taken off the bill. But, when we checked our bill, we were charged the fee. So, we had to have them fix it for us when we were checking out.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete D, General Manager at The Westin O'Hare, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you natys_mommy for your review of your recent experience at the Westin O'Hare! We are pleased you had a nice visit and enjoyed the overall experience. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to having you back with us again soon!

Warm regards,

Pete Demay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin O'Hare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin O'Hare

Address: 6100 North River Road, Rosemont, IL 60018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Rosemont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Rosemont
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rosemont
#4 Business Hotel in Rosemont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin O'Hare 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Westin O'Hare is just minutes from O'Hare International Airport and provides an O'Hare Airport Shuttle service that departs from the hotel. Our renovation features refreshed guest rooms, lobby, a full-service Starbucks, fitness center, brand new restaurant concept Benchmark Gastropub, and additional meeting space. Additionally, we are within minutes of MB Financial Park,the Fashion Outlets of Chicago, Donald E. Stephens Convention Center, Rosemont Theater and Rivers Casino. Walking distance to the Blue Line "EL" train providing service to downtown Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Starwood, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin O'Hare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin o`Hare Hotel Rosemont
Westin Hotel Rosemont
Westin Hotel o Hare
Westin Rosemont
Rosemont Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin O'Hare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.