We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice. And this is coming from someone who likes Westins.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft Chicago O'Hare

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Aloft Chicago O'Hare to your Saves list
Aloft Chicago O'Hare
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9700 Balmoral Avenue, Rosemont, IL 60018   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Rosemont
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Really nice. And this is coming from someone who likes Westins.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This was a great property, although they borrowed the idea from a Barcelona hotel. Still, it was very comfortable, very, very reasonable (around $150/night) and only slightly cheap around the edges. Also, the bed could have used improvement - a Westin quality bed would have been a good idea. Still, the room layout, dimensions, bath and furnishings were all well thought out and executed. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat. The area isn't so great, but this area of Chicago isn't so great. Rosemont doesn't have a lot to offer (sorry Rosemont).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    254
    121
    52
    19
See reviews for
67
134
89
250
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The first thing we noticed upon entering our room was how lumpy the blankets were. It almost looked like someone was hiding under the blankets. The beds were very uncomfortable and everyone in our party woke up several times during the night. The pillows were all the same; very thick and uncomfortable. Normally there are a few different types of pillows on hotel beds but not here

The parking garage was a mess. In most parking garages the traffic moves one way...Not here. Cars come in both directions, and there is no traffic control at the intersections. The best part is that the garage displays a rate of $13 dollars a day, but if you are staying at the Aloft hotel they are going to charge you $20.

Plus side: The floors in the elevator are very cool....

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scott g, Manager at Aloft Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel. I am sorry that you found the beds uncomfortable and the parking garage a mess. The parking garage can be confusing. We do offer parking in the front of the hotel for a few dollars more than the garage if you want to avoid the parking garage in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My first experience with the Aloft brand wasn't everything that I expected. But that's a good thing. From various reports and reviews, I expected a shiny place with hipsters and staff that catered to them. Instead, I found a bright, clean, new hotel with helpful staff and a warm feel.
Yes, the staff have tattoos and piercings. Yes, weekend evenings find the lobby bar area filled with twenty-somethings playing pool, surfing the web using the free wi-fi on their devices or the complimentary computers scattered around, and outside playing cornhole or smoking around the fire pits. If this bothers you, Aloft probably isn't for you.
None of this bothers me, and I was happily surprised to find the rooms were bigger than I expected from website pictures. It did take a few minutes of playing around with switches and checking cubbyholes and such to get used to where everything was and how to light it, but once I figured it out, I was extremely comfortable. (Tip: one of the switches near the door turns on the over-bed lights, and the switches on the wall next to the bed control each side's light individually. The iron & ironing board are in the cubby near the shower pane at the far side of the room.) There's a nice selection of cable channels, including HD movie channels, and they had a green initiative going where a hang tag could be put on the door to not have housekeeping change the linenes, and in return, you get a $5 credit at the re:fuel snack shop or the xyz lobby bar. This helps offset the (as usual) high price of convenience.
It's no inconvenience to not have a restaurant on premises, as the Rosemont Convention Center is across the street, and has plenty of choices for eating and drinking, including Toby Keith's ..., Hofbrau Haus, My Big Fat Greek Diner, an Irish pub, a comedy club, other psuedo-ethnic choices and a bowling alley called Kings, which I'll review separately - great burgers! ridiculous fishbowl drinks!
Aloft also scored big points for their shuttle service, which not only provides airport transportation but also rides to the Rosemont el station (if you go from there into town, you miss the extra airport charge) and other nearby locations.It runs every half-hour from the airport until 11 or midnight.
Every single employee I ran into was courteous and helpful, the bed was just right, the decor tolerably modern and functional; the rainfall showerhead was wonderful, and my only complaint about the the bathroom would be that the low-flow toilets don't always clean the bowl. That, and that I couldn't take home a serving or two of the shower gel and shampoo!
At a price point I'd expect from a lower-end hotel, and almost everything I want from a luxury hotel, I'll be staying at Aloft again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scott g, General Manager at Aloft Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thanks for the positive review. Guest service is our focus and I am glad you found the staff to be helpful. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This was the first time we ever stayed at an Aloft hotel. It met all our needs. We went to the Hofbrauhaus which was approximately 1 block from the hotel and because we were celebrating Oktoberfest with friends decided it was a good idea to secure a room, instead of driving home. Found a good rate. Parking structure was across the street with a "skywalk" directly to the hotel, so never had to walk outside. Quick check in w/o any problems. Room was clean, smelled good and was of modern decor. We didn't spend any time in the room other than when we came back to sleep for 8hrs. The king size bed was very comfy with a wonderful comforter as well. I would definately stay at an Aloft Hotel again. Also ticket for parking was validated.

Room Tip: Our room faced entrance onto 294 and was quiet as could be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I'm a loyal SPG traveler and love the Aloft property line. Unfortunately this location needs to pay closer attention to detail. The grout in the bathroom tile floor was a disgusting mix of black grime. Very disappointing. Photo attached.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scott g, General Manager at Aloft Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
I apologize for the issue with the grout in your room. We have identified that room and rectified the problem. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Aloft O'Hare has been a sleek modern beauty since it opened.
We make our trek to Rosemont once a year to attend a tradeshow. We have stayed at other properties in the area but Aloft by far is the best value and quality experience for the money.
They do the little things very well their shuttle drivers are the best ever experienced anywhere hands down they will take you anywhere you want to go and pick you up later ie dinner shopping, train station etc... Front desk staff is attentive. This is not a resort for a high maintenance guest. no restaurant or room service just snacks and light breakfast items although nice bar.
Thanks Aloft for a great stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scott g, General Manager at Aloft Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank for reviewing the hotel. I am glad you enjoyed the aloft and and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stayed here for one night between flights and loved it. The hotel is very nice, clean, modern and the staff is extremely helpful. I e-mailed back and forth with one member of the staff to ask about the possibility to have a package from Amazone (booster seat for our child) shipped to the hotel and Luis was very helpful. Room was big and had everything you could need including free wifi which is a must for us. We used the free shuttle to Rosemont CTA station, very friendly driver. Same thing with the free shuttle to the airport next morning, very friendly driver and he left right on time from the hotel. Hotel was also just a one minute walk from the new Fashion Outlet mall, just cross the street and you're there. On the other side of the hotel are several great restaurants, we walked there and had dinner at Adobe Gilas. Would definitely want to stay here again if I need a hotel close to the airport. Oh - and the price was great too!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scott g, General Manager at Aloft Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thanks for the glowing review. I will be sure to pass your comments on to Luis. Thanks for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Aloft Chicago O'Hare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Chicago O'Hare

Address: 9700 Balmoral Avenue, Rosemont, IL 60018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Rosemont
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Rosemont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Chicago O'Hare 3*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located just minutes away from the airport, the Aloft Chicago O'Hare offers all travelers a new experience with a loft inspired design as well as lounge, 24/7 gym, and indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Starwood, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Aloft Chicago O'Hare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Chicago o`Hare Hotel Rosemont
Aloft Hotel Rosemont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft Chicago O'Hare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.