We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Start for this New Eatery” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 8000 Miles

8000 Miles
107 Main St, Roselle, IL
630-283-0053
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
8000 Miles is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 39 Restaurants in Roselle
Cuisines: Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Reservations
illinois
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great Start for this New Eatery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

When I heard that Roselle was getting a restaurant specializing in Asian Fusion, I thought it was either a joke or a really bad idea. The Italian restaurant down the block just bit the dust, and everyone loves Italian---could a small town really support such a specialized themed eatery as this?

We tried it out. It's a pretty big place for this town. Airy and bright too. Big menu, everything from the usual Chinese dishes ( sweet & sour, General Tso's, Lo Mein)... to sushi... to their own signature dishes. Our server mentioned that they get fresh seafood delivered 7 mornings a week. There's a full bar with some interesting specialty drinks and a house made ginger ale that is superb. We had crab rangoon appetizers which were not only delicious but beautifully presented. The member of our party who had sushi pronounced it delicious and the others sampled the very generous and fresh signature dishes, which come with a big bowl of white rice on the side. Service was friendly and prompt. Prices were moderate.

As one other person mentioned, the only suggestion for improvement I have would be for them to figure out something to tone down the crowd noise on busy nights. Some acoustic tile on the ceiling perhaps?

We will be back. Hope others discover this place and that it does well.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    13
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Asian Fusion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I are not sushi lovers but after seeing and tasting the Chinese and Japanese entree's, we will definitely try their sushi! Not only was everything picture perfect and colorfully presented, but the taste was excellent and very, very fresh! Service was outstanding!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roselle, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A breath of fresh air in Roselle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Very good experience for a restruant that has only been open a couple of weeks. Excellent, creative menu with a good mix of moderately priced Chineese and Japaneese dishes. Service was great and everyone in our party was very pleased with their selection. Nice wine selection, including some selections from the local winery.

Hope these guys make this place a sucess as we need more small, local main street type restruants here in the suburbs, so you can get away from the large franchise places in Schaumburg.

My only complaint was that it was a bit noisy. Some cloth panels, hung from the high ceiling would probably help;

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“authentic and fantastic variety”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

To be fair, this restaurant just opened....the only reason for it not to receive a 5 is the acoustics - it was packed and it was extremely loud the night we were there.

We had calamari, sashimi, crab rangoon for apps and then enjoyed the chengdu white fish, kung pao chicken, general tso's chicken, crispy honey sesame beef, the house fried rice and the maki roll snow crab -- all delicious and huge portions to share!

They also have wonderful specialty drinks but our table stuck with wine for the evening.

We'll be back soon and often. Great staff for a new place and seasoned owners to ensure high quality and consistency. I love the last sentence on the back of their menu: "Our
name is very simple: our Chinese partners doorstep in Chong Ching
to the front door in Roselle is 8000 miles."

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 8000 Miles also viewed

 

Been to 8000 Miles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 8000 Miles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.