We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Old Style Italian Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villaggio Ristorante

Villaggio Ristorante
1242 W Lake St, Roselle, IL 60172-3364
(630) 671-9223
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 40 Restaurants in Roselle
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Huntingtown, Maryland, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Old Style Italian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Unbelievable Italian style food, with great service and friendly staff. This location has what most don't; outstanding food at the right price with unbelievable attention in a family owned business environment. I will keep visiting this location.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    7
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Medinah, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I frequent this restaurant and with good reason. The entire staff, including the owners, make me feel special. While the atmosphere is a little more upscale, I feel at home in casual clothing. Food is plentiful and very authenic Italian. Try their Veal Francesca for something light but filling-it's my 'go to' dish. Calmari is lightly breaded and flavorfu. I cannot say enough good things about this restaurant. If you're into some live retro music, go on Saturdays but make a reservation well ahead!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoffman Estates, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice local Italian restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

First time visit to Villagio on a slow Wednesday evening. We were greeted warmly. Other tables were all regular customers. We were made to feel at home with our waitress even introducing us to the folks at a nearby table. The food was very good. My date is Italian and she ordered the Gnocchi and was pleased with the dish. I had the Veal Marsala and it too was very good. The soup and salad was excellent and the Tiramisu was also very good. The lemon ice between courses was nice. Good food and friendly staff. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Easter buffet!:)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We choose this restaurant for our special Easter meal. Price was reasonable for a buffet including champagne and soft drinks and coffee. It was a perfect choice! Food on buffet line was kept warm. There were appetizers, bagels, chicken dishes and fish dishes, potatoes, ham and more! Salad was brought to the table where there was a choice of Caesar or Italian dressing already supplied along with bread, olives and dipping oil. Then, servers began coming to the table with fettuccini, ravioli and prime rib! And the food just kept on coming! And did I mention desert? Cannoli, tiramisu, cheesecake, any or all! This was all in surroundings of Italian music playing, and then there were the loud conversations just like you would have at any Italian gathering! The food was delicious, the amount was incredible and the choice we made was absolutely the right one! Manga, manga! We will be back!:)

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago,illinios
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“It's the way resturants use to be good food and good service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We would definitely go back. The break between cousres served wih the lemon ice to clense your palete reminds me of days gone by when that was a standard.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villaggio Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Villaggio Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villaggio Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.