We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So disappointed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Cliffbreakers Riverside Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cliffbreakers Riverside Resort to your Saves list
Cliffbreakers Riverside Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 West Riverside Blvd, Rockford, IL 61103 (Formerly Lexington Hotel at Cliffbreakers' Riverside Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in Rockford
Springfield, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“So disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Reserving a king jacuzzi loft suite hoping for comfort and clean and we will never stay here again. The is an odor walking into the hotel, phones don't work, dead mouse in pool, swimming pool area has not been cleaned for years ( dust and dead bugs don't lie). Room was barely liveble, no screens on the windows, fireplace didn't work, stains all over the carpet, mildew in shower, yuck yuck Yuck

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffbreakers, Director of Sales at Cliffbreakers Riverside Resort, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort, and telling others about your experiences with us. We have received a lot of positive comments in regards to our river location and superior guest service. We are in the process of renovating our rooms and improving our overall facility so that we can provide a positive guest experience. Your comments have become a valuable tool in prioritizing our to-do-lists. We appreciate you as a guest, and we hope to regain your confidence in a future stay.

Sincerely,
Cliffbreakers Riverside Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    41
    21
    25
    37
See reviews for
61
60
10
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westchester, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I'm not sure if this will reach the appropriate person or persons but I have to say I was very disappointed with our stay at your hotel. Although the rooms are very clean they are not maintained. The first room we had had lights burned out , the a/c in the loft was not working properly and the phone was not turned on , none of which was addressed during normal work hours so at 12:30 in the morning I was forced to go down to the front desk to change rooms. It was a more expensive room which I was promised I would not have to pay for and if I did not mention at check out time would have been charged for. The Internet or FREE Wi-Fi is a joke , the only way to even get close to a signal is down in the lobby , there is no way to get it from a room, it is not something to boast about. When we tried to enter the pool on 6/16 at 2:50 p.m. it was locked (with a key) and we were told the person who had the key was not in until 3p.m. , I'm not sure if anyone else was concerned before us but I didn't know whether to laugh or cry. The view of the Rock River from the rooms facing East are great but there was no where to just sit an relax to enjoy it , everything was off limits due to parties , weddings etc. nothing for the guest since your famous Tiki Bar is closed and looks like a dump , at least the wait staff have somewhere to smoke. You are lucky I did not let my wife handle the check out it would not have turned out good for anyone , why I paid for the worst Birthday (50th) and Fathers Day , I'll never know. What I do know are people well connected in the Rockford area who are politicians and have business' close to your hotel that I have warned about not expecting what they are promised on your website. It is really a shame you have let the building and grounds go down as this place has the potential to be a real money maker, especially being off of Rock River.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffbreakers, Director of Sales at Cliffbreakers Riverside Resort, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
I apologize for your unfortunate experience. We are currently in a remodeling phase as we had recently been taken under a new management company. This is a transition for us...however we have been able to make some immediate upgrades with the recent completion of a new fitness center, upgraded to flat screen televisions, upgraded our internet service, purchased a new van for shuttle service and so much more planned for 2014 as we will be moving towards being a Choice Family Hotel. In regards to your comments about the pool we have a notice on our website that stating that it is closed for remodeling and as a lesson to our staff we will be notifying them at check in. The timing for completing the pool renovation is by April 30th or before.

Again we apologize for the inconvenience, and we hope that we will be able to regain your confidence on a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I ended up spending a night in Rockford during a road trip. This hotel showed up on Hotwire so I booked it. I knew we were in trouble when we pulled up to this large hotel and it had five cars in the parking lot. Inside it was clean but really, really dated. I doubt anything has been updated since 1970. The staff (the one person we saw working there all night) was very friendly and the view of the river was nice.

Overall If I had to do it again I would stay at one of the newer properties along I-90 instead of this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, IA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Our two nights at Lexington Hotel left us wishing someone could invest the time and money to really make this gem shine. The location overlooking the river is lovely, but they haven't fully exploited the advantages of this setting. Our room was spacious and clean, but we would have loved a balcony. The deck off the dining room is an inviting setting, but it needs some spruing up and some nice outdoor chairs. The hotel is also filled with interesting art and antiques, and a "self-guided tour" brochure would be a nice idea. Still...it was a pleasure staying here, and we'd welcome the chance to do so again. It was nice to have eggs, fried potatoes and sausage for breakfast, and there was a nice assortment of coffee and juice, too.

Room Tip: Be sure you get a room overlooking the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Only stayed one night and it was enough... Don't get me wrong it was clean and bed were comfortable, but it was like going back to a 1970 seaside resort. Furniture and decoration seemed to be out of an horror movie.

There was a sweet and nasty smell in the lobby which didn't help digest the lukewarm breakfast.

There was some problem with our booking.com reservation, they only had us for one room when we reserved for 3. Management upgraded us in a large suite which was greatly appreciated.

Room were comfortable if you can get past the decoration.

Overall not bad for the area I guess... So if the look is not something important for you, staff is great, clean and comfortable rooms, but much better once your eyes are closed

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffbreakers, Director of Sales at Cliffbreakers Riverside Resort, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
I apologize for your unfortunate experience. We are currently in a remodeling phase as we had recently been taken under a new management company. This is a transition for us...however we have been able to make some immediate upgrades with the recent completion of a new fitness center, upgraded to flat screen televisions, upgraded our internet service, purchased a new van for shuttle service and so much more planned for 2014 as we will be moving towards being a Choice Family Hotel. In regards to your comments about the pool we have a notice on our website that stating that it is closed for remodeling and as a lesson to our staff we will be notifying them at check in. The timing for completing the pool renovation is by April 30th or before.

Again we apologize for the inconvenience, and we hope that we will be able to regain your confidence on a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Let me start out by saying I am recently having to find a place in the Rockford area 5-6 times a month for work. I can say either I watch too much Hotel Impossible or this is not the place I will be spending $500.00 per month plus meals and drinks. I come across the Lexington Hotel close to where I want to be and the attraction of having a restaurant and bar attached to them would work out well. Keep in mind this is in the middle of a snow storm that started this morning let up and then started again. When I arrived at the hotel the lot going into the hotel and the hotel parking lot had not been plowed. There is little to no lighting marking the way. I turn down a small un-plowed opening and slide my way into a parking spot 50 yards from the door. There are maybe 5 or 6 cars total in lot, but not many spaces that looked easy to get into from snow. I grab my stuff and make my way through 4-5 inches of snow to the front door and over to the desk. Check in process goes well until the after conversation.
1. Phone does not work use your cell phone to get a hold of us at this number if you need anything.
2. $50.00 hold on your credit card for incidentals? ummm ok!
3. Non smoking room $200.00 charge if you smoke!
3. Breakfast is from 6:30 to 9:30
4. Your room is at the end of the hall next to the exercise room. (with the blaring tv)

Upon entering room I do the typical walk around make sure I am not going to get charged for incidentals (joking) just to see what is what. All lampshades are torn or have holes in them. Carpet has multiple stains biggest one being in front of tv. Night stand has some sort of drips/drops of something on it. Not sure what it is and didn't want to know. The overall decor of the room was 1980's red and flowery with brass lamps and light fixtures. Room is large in size for the type and bathroom is in pretty good shape. Overall cleanliness of the rest of the room is moderately acceptable. If I say anymore you know I watch too many episodes of Hotel Impossible and I don't want to ruin the review and have people think I am just picky. I get all settled in walk down the hall to the front desk and say how do I get to the restaurant and bar. He says it is closed because of the snow storm. I say well shoot any other suggestions he says yes the bar across the parking lot should be open. (now would be a good time to call and see if I were providing great customer service) I hesitate for a minute and wanted to say something but I went back to my room grabbed my jacket and ventured on. Needless to say I was disappointed in the overall experience. I am thinking this is a summer destination that looks beautiful from the outside being right on the river but if it wants to make money in the winter it better look for business travelers like myself to help it along. Good luck to you in the future my friends at Lexington Hotel you wont be seeing me again. I may add more after my nights sleep to comment on the breakfast and sleep quality.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Grant, it is not your standard hotel and if that is what you re looking for, the Cliffbreaker's may not suit your needs--BUT, if you are open to staying in a wonderfully decorated, older hotel, you just can't beat the experience you will have there. We had a two story suite, with a full bath, kitchenette, dining table, fireplace, sitting area and TV downstairs and a work station, bedroom and full bath upstairs. Due to the purpose of our visit to Rockford (and in part due to the weather) we spent the majority of our weekend in the hotel and the two story room gave us great space. We ate dinner one night in the restaurant--good house wine and good food! Our server was fast and friendly. Our room was clean, the bed comfortable and the hotel was surprisingly quiet--even with youth sports team also staying there. Breakfast could be enjoyed in the great room off the lobby overlooking the river and included a hot bar of eggs, biscuits and gravy, hash browns and bacon. We will be back in May--already looking forward to staying there again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cliffbreakers Riverside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffbreakers Riverside Resort

Address: 700 West Riverside Blvd, Rockford, IL 61103 (Formerly Lexington Hotel at Cliffbreakers' Riverside Resort)
Location: United States > Illinois > Rockford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in Rockford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cliffbreakers Riverside Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Jewel of Rockford" is the most popular destination for business travel, families and for special events such as weddings, business conferences and meetings and fundraisers with the region’s largest ballrooms and most attractive meeting space. The Northern Illinois Luxury Hotel at Cliffbreakers Riverside Resort includes more of what you want when traveling to the real, original Northern Illinois Region – the community with big-city amenities and a small-town feel! Complimentary Wi-Fi access in all guest rooms – we have it. Northern Illinois Riverview Suites, Loft Suites or Specialty Themed Suites – your choice! Free hot breakfast – available every morning. A European styled property with a heated indoor pool and evening room service – relax and enjoy. Every guest room with Microwaves, Mini-fridges and expanded cable TV....relax and enjoy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Cliffbreakers Riverside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lexington Hotel At Cliffbreakers` Riverside Rockford
Lexington Hotel Cliffbreakers Riverside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cliffbreakers Riverside Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.