We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cliffbreakers Riverside Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Cliffbreakers Riverside Resort to your Saves list
Cliffbreakers Riverside Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 West Riverside Blvd, Rockford, IL 61103 (Formerly Lexington Hotel at Cliffbreakers' Riverside Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Rockford
Oswego, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Wonderful old world style hotel. Staff friendly and helpful. Wonderful breakfast, clean room, loved the buffet! Will certainly go back. Would love to stay in one of the themed rooms. Especially liked the fireplace in the lobby, would love to go back in the winter and sit by a warm fire.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    43
    21
    29
    37
See reviews for
67
65
10
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ames, Iowa, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The place has such potential but the mirrors in the halls were dirty. The furniture in the room had holes in it. The walls were knicked. The after wedding guest staying at the hotel were loud and partied after 2:00 a.m. In addition, the pet policy was not stated clearly at the time of reservation and even check in. This should be very plan and easily stated.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTRManagement, General Manager at Cliffbreakers Riverside Resort, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Good morning Ms. Osborne,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Cliffbreakers Riverside Resort. My apology for the room conditions noted, our Executive Housekeeper immediately reviewed your concerns with the team in order to ensure that the rooms are picture perfect every time. Over the past months, we have made tremendous strides in renovating various guest rooms, public areas, and outlets. Your guest room is scheduled for completion within a few short months.

Our front desk makes determination on the location of a guest based on the guest's room reserved, not whether or not the person may be traveling with a pet. We have had pets on all floors of the resort, along with the resort has been the location for dog competitions.

The type of guest room selected is first and foremost where a guest may spend the night. Additional special requests as lower floor, or away from the public areas, or near the front desk or by another traveling guest in their party are requests that may steer an associate to attempt to reserve a room for a guest that may have a specific room location, though again, the room type reserved is the first step in the process of what guides a front desk person. We want to accomodate each and every guest request when possible.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Staff and Management of Cliffbreakers Riverside Resort and Lexington Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roscoe, Illinois, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

This was our second special event at Lexington/Cliffbreakers. The staff was very gracious and readily available for pre-planning meetings, etc. Our Mosaic by Moonlight fundraiser was beautiful! The ballrooms easily accomodated our 400 guests. Our guests were able to easily reserve hotel rooms and the pub offered a burger special to guests arriving early or staying late. The outdoor Tiki bar, complete with a bonfire, sand and overlooking the beautiful Rock River was a great way to unwind at the end of the night!

Room Tip: Select a room overlooking the Rock River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTRManagement, General Manager at Cliffbreakers Riverside Resort, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear Linda, ,

Thank you for the wonderful comments regarding your recent event at Cliffbreakers Riverside Resort and Lexington Hotel. It is always a pleasure to read comments as yours. These will be shared with all the staff and management of the property.

We are honored to be the location for the Mosaic event and look forward to next year's gathering.

Sincerely,

The Staff and Management of Cliffbreakers Riverside Resort and Lexington Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church VA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Where do I start? I did not choose this hotel. It was the place where family coming to town for a wedding was to stay, and am I glad we did. What charming ambience. Everywhere you turn there is another unique antique, item of interest. Never having been to Rockford, I asked about the painting - actually a mural - above the front desk. The staff launched into an explanation which could have been a complete fabrication but I was impressed!

Our room was definitely not your run of the mill hotel room. The view of the river was beautiful. The bathroom was tiled and clean. The housekeeping staff was visible but not in the way. In fact, I had trouble with my key and they were quite helpful. The lobby provided a comfortable place to visit with family. We didn't use the pool but our family did and really enjoyed it.

My only negative -and the reason I gave a 4 - was first because the bed was pretty soft and the pillow was impossible. It was so high and firm that when laying on my side my shoulder did not hit the bed. Probably my fault that I did not complain and I was okay not using a pillow at all. The second thing was I had some problems with the Internet. The first day I was there, it was perfect and amazingly strong. But I could not connect at all the second day. I complained and my first few complaints were pretty much ignored. In the evening they finally reset it and I was able to connect with help of a knowledgeable staff person.

We enjoyed the rehearsal dinner here. I probably wouldn't choose a seafood buffet in the middle of the country but the food was okay and they certainly attempted varied dishes. The complimentary breakfast, while having a small selection, was good and plentiful.

There should be no question that this is the place to stay in Rockford. I have to say that they have the most helpful and accommodating staff I have ever encountered. I understand that they will be undergoing a renovation with new owners. While a good thing, I truly hope that the new owners don't turn this into a cookie cutter hotel. It would be criminal to lose the charm and ambience of this lovely establishment.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTRManagement, General Manager at Cliffbreakers Riverside Resort, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear Twochris,

Thank you for the wonderful comments regarding your recent stay at Cliffbreakers Riverside Resort and Lexington Hotel. It is always a pleasure to read comments as yours. These will be shared with all the staff and management of the property.

We look forward to your visiting us again soon!

Sincerely,

The Staff and Management of Cliffbreakers Riverside Resort and Lexington Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, IL.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed here 2 nights. The first was in a room with a whirlpool on the first floor. The short story is - earwigs - on the floor, on the walls, between the bedspread and the blanket. We asked to move the next morning - the hotel was full but they offered us one of their premium suites as a free upgrade. We couldn't take that room because you had to step up onto a platform to get into the bed and recent back surgery prevented that for one of us. The hotel staff kept looking and found us a standard room on the 2nd floor. It had recently been remodeled and was bright, well-appointed and earwig free. We had a great night's sleep the second night. This hotel has a restaurant attached with an enticing menu, a large ballroom for functions, many decks and windows with a view of Rock River and boaters, skiers etc., and it is in a good location for many activities. The staff was helpful and always very friendly. When completely remodeled this should be a great place. For now it depends on where your room is and - unless you've just got to have it - we suggest passing on the whirlpool rooms for now. We learned on departure that another couple in our party had also had earwigs in their whirlpool room.

Room Tip: Newly remodeled rooms are bright and very simialr to the major chains. The older room are older room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Cliffbreakers Riverside Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear tmadlaw,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the resort..With the first floor rooms being right next to the river, we seasonaly experience earwig bugs in some of the rooms. As a concern is raised, we contact a professional insecticide company from the local community to eradicate the earwigs, though that doesn't always go perfetly as preferred.

I am sorry to read of your recent back surgery, and yes, the beds in the corporate suites are higher than a normal bed would be........those rooms should really be called corporate bedrooms, as each room is different than the next. Each room has been designed with no repeating furnishings in these corporate suties.

Glad that you were able to experience one of the "refreshed" rooms. We are in the process of that project which will touch 22-24 rooms with that new level of appointment. We want to also refresh the other remaining inventory of rooms, so all rooms will be refreshed and/or renovated. There will be some renovated rooms that will offer full kitchenettes and other amenities for the guests that stay for longer periods of time.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

The Staff and Management of Cliffbreakers Riverside Resort and Lexington Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks, North Dakota, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

I don't write a lot of reviews, but was really impressed with this hotel and restaraunt complex. We were given one of the newly remodeled rooms, and I put this on par with high end Hilton-type rooms. There was some construction going on, but they seemed do a better than average job at keeping that appearance to a minimum.

There was a couple of great things about this place. First, they have a full, free breakfast in the morning. This included a buffet of eggs, bacon, etc. along with what you would see at a normal continental. This was served in a room that overlooks a river, very nice.

Second was the bar/restraunt area. It is somewhat dated, but in a cozy quaint way. There is a couple levels of decks and a tiki bar that overlook the scenic river. One of the best places I have been in a while for an evening unwind. We had 2 servers over 2 nights, Brian and Suarta. Both were extremely attentive and friendly. I could tell they cared about their work.

I would highly recommend this place if you are looking for new amenities in a classic style hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Cliffbreakers Riverside Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Dear Chris O,

Thank you for the kind words about your recent stay.

Suarta and Brian are great guest care driven associates that always do their best. They make all guests feel at ease and welcome. We are glad to have them on our team!

We look forward to your staying with us again in the near future.

Sincerely,

The Staff and Management of Cliffbreakers Riverside Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskego
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Have stayed here about four times. Staff always friendly and accommodating. There is a nice business center you can use, if need be. Nice small conference rooms to grand scale. Bar and restaurant area are inviting, nightly specials. I love the chance to overlook the river. They have their own beach and tiki bar, live music. Very eclectic style in the restaurant as well as the hotel area. If you love unique furnishings, you will love this place. It is not your usual chain hotel. Very close to my client, so location for me is ideal. Breakfast is great! My home away from home in Rockford.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Cliffbreakers Riverside Resort, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dear Deborah B,

Thank you for the kind words about your recent stay.

Hoping that the next time you are staying with us that I would be able to put a face to the name! Please do not hesitate to contact me for reservig your next stay.

We look forward to your staying with us again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Dwight Hopfauf
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cliffbreakers Riverside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffbreakers Riverside Resort

Address: 700 West Riverside Blvd, Rockford, IL 61103 (Formerly Lexington Hotel at Cliffbreakers' Riverside Resort)
Location: United States > Illinois > Rockford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rockford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cliffbreakers Riverside Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Jewel of Rockford" is the most popular destination for business travel, families and for special events such as weddings, business conferences and meetings and fundraisers with the region’s largest ballrooms and most attractive meeting space. The Northern Illinois Luxury Hotel at Cliffbreakers Riverside Resort includes more of what you want when traveling to the real, original Northern Illinois Region – the community with big-city amenities and a small-town feel! Complimentary Wi-Fi access in all guest rooms – we have it. Northern Illinois Riverview Suites, Loft Suites or Specialty Themed Suites – your choice! Free hot breakfast – available every morning. A European styled property with a heated indoor pool and evening room service – relax and enjoy. Every guest room with Microwaves, Mini-fridges and expanded cable TV....relax and enjoy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Hotwire so you can book your Cliffbreakers Riverside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lexington Hotel At Cliffbreakers` Riverside Rockford
Lexington Hotel Cliffbreakers Riverside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cliffbreakers Riverside Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.