We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above and beyond service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Rockford

Save Saved
You added Red Roof Inn Rockford to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Red Roof Inn Rockford
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7434 East State Street, Rockford, IL 61108   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 24 hotels in Rockford
Trevor WI
1 review
“Above and beyond service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We recently stayed at a Red Roof Inn in Rockford, IL. We were staying at a motel unexpectedley, and we checked in very late and were very tired. The girl who checked us in, I believe her name was Patricia, was very friendly. When we were walking into our room my fiance accidently dropped our car keys, which fell into a part of the roof which we had no way of getting to. To make a long story short, the employees at the Red Roof that night, especially Keith Adams, went above and beyond to help us get our keys back. I cannot thank them enough, and if we are ever traveling through Rockford again we will definitely stay at this Red Roof Inn. Thanks also to Yolanda Harris for all your help.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockfordredroof, Manager at Red Roof Inn Rockford, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us in Rockford. We are pleased that the staff was so helpfull to retrieve your keys. I will share your comments with everyone as they appreciate hearing when they do a great job.

We look forward to hosting you again when you are traveling in the Rockford area.

Sincerely,
Steve Marsceau
Red Roof Inn - Rockford, IL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    36
    21
    6
    4
See reviews for
26
21
14
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Port Washington, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I've stayed at a number of motels in Rockford and the Red Roof Inn was better than expected. I splurged for the Superior King and it was really nice. Great bed, desk with lamp, fridge, microwave, etc. The room isn't huge, but it was just right for a couple nights. This location has two buildings and I my room was on the second floor of the building closest to busy E. State St. (Hwy 20), even so despite the traffic the room was quiet and I was impressed. Drawbacks are stairs (no elevator), so if you have a lot of luggage you might have to make a couple trips to get everything in the room. Also, ice is located in the building with the front desk, so if you're not in that building, it's a bit of a trek across the parking lot (harsh if it's cold). There's a Starbucks next door and I-90 is nearby. A bonus is Gerry's Pizza on the west side of the property - they're open late and the pizza is very good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockfordredroof, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Rockford, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review here on Tripadvisor. I appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Rockford Red Roof.

Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you in your future travels.

Sincerely,
Natalie Prignano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Nice hot shower with good water pressure. Clean Room.

I had 2 double beds in my room. The one closer to the TV was not as in as good of shape as the other one. I would have rated this place higher except the bed of rocks.

The general area seemed 'okay'. The motel parking seemed a little exposed. The front desk woman arranged it so that I could have a room close to the front office to feel safe.

Room Tip: single lady travelers may prefer to have a room close to the front and the office to feel safer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockfordredroof, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Rockford, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review here on Tripadvisor. I appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Rockford Red Roof.

Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. And with that we have you will be happy to know that starting in March 2013 we will be replacing all of our beds and bedding.

Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you in your future travels.

Sincerely,
Natalie Prignano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

It was late and I needed a place to sleep for a few hours. I had no reservations. The Red Roof Inn in Rockford filled my needs. Sure, the rooms were small, the towels were small and the breakfast was minimal. But, the price was also small. It worked for me. Easy to fine from I-90.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockfordredroof, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Rockford, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to send a review. I appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Rockford Red Roof.

Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you in your future travels.

Sincerely,

Natalie Prignano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stay here on average once a month. Rooms rate a 9/10 for being clean but can tell you a few things about previous stays. 2x reservations made were given a nonsmoking room. They just give an ashtray-then it's no longer non smoking, is it? We have NEVER had a tv that worked well, and the bad thing is if you complain, instead of changing your room, they actually waste your paid room time by coming in to try and fix the tv!!! Went in without reservations once and were told it was booked. Called on the phone--same man, I was sitting in my car watching him--made a reservation and walked in with confirmation number. I know they have to have so many rooms for walk ins, calls, etc., but let me tell you, he was a little more than embarrassed when he realized what I did. For as many times as we've stayed, we've never gotten a discount or comped room...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockfordredroof, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Rockford, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Rockford Red Roof.

At Red Roof, we strive to provide every customer with superior service; therefore your feedback is very important to us. I want you to know that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns that occurred during your reservation process as well as your stays to prevent any future occurrence.

We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I was looking for something basic while driving through Rockford on a road trip, and this seemed the most decent option for the price. Overall, it wasn't bad but I would not have stayed here more than one night. The staff was okay but not overly friendly. The bed was not in good shape - every time I sat on the bed, I could hear (and feel) the springs bouncing up and down, although I slept well enough in it. I also had to deal with a couple of flies that were camped out in the room when I got there. Other than that, I had no major problems and the price was certainly good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockfordredroof, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Rockford, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review. I appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Rockford Red Roof.

I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

I did also want you to know we will be doing a full renovation on this property in January of 2013. So hopefully on your next trip through Rockford you will come enjoy our new Beds etc…
Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you in your future travels.

Sincerely,
Natalie Prignano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

First impression was good. Friendly staff, clean, decent bed. Room smelled fine until we turned on the air, then an unpleasant odor started. Left and went to dinner and odor was worse when we returned, smelled like wet, dirtysocks. Should have complained, but not my style. If this happens to you, either switch rooms or leave, it does not improve.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockfordredroof, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Rockford, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
I appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Rockford Red Roof.

I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

If you could please email your name that the reservation was under, I will look into that rooms HVAC concerns. I will also take the measue to check additional rooms to make sure we do not have that situation happenning in other rooms.

Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Roof Inn Rockford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Rockford

Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Rockford Hotel
Red Roof Inn Rockford Hotel Rockford
Rockford Red Roof Inn
Address: 7434 East State Street, Rockford, IL 61108
Location: United States > Illinois > Rockford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Rockford
#8 Family Hotel in Rockford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Rockford 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Roof Inn Rockford hotel is a wonderful addition to the Rockford, Illinois area! Our hotel is right off I-90 on the east side of Rockford. Enhanced 32” and 37 flat – panel TV with media center for DVD, Free high speed Wi Fi, Free local and long distance calls, freshly brewed coffee in lobby 24 hours and always pet friendly. Attractions: Magic Waters ½ mile; Cherry Vale Mall, St Anthony Hospital and Greater Rockford Airport 17 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Red Roof Inn, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Red Roof Inn Rockford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Rockford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.