We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fun on a hot day.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of CoCo Key Water Resort

CoCo Key Water Resort
7801 E. State Street, Rockford, IL 61108-2721
815.398.6000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 43 things to do in Rockford
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At CoCo Key we make kids happy! Combining the relaxation and enchantment of the Keys with the wild excitement of a 60,000 square foot indoor water park, your family’s tropical getaway is all right here. Whether splashing for just a day or staying at the Best Western Clock Tower Resort with one of our signature overnight packages, Rockford’s CoCo Key is Illinois' most complete indoor water park experience.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Stroller parking, Lockers / storage
MORRISON
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great fun on a hot day.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Lots for our kids to do! There were a lot of slides for our older girls but still plenty of fun for our youngest including a wave pool that she got a kick out of. If you are planning on going be prepared to spend quite a bit of money, I would suggest packing a lunch, they have lockers for rent.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    19
    27
    26
    74
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockton, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Water Slides All Year Long”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My kids and I love spending the night at the Clock Tower and visiting this indoor water park. it is just big enough, but not too big, that we always enjoy ourselves. The water slides are a lot of fun and you definitely need to go on a day when school is out but not for everyone. On school holidays, the place is always packed and it is not as much fun. We have been there about 10 times now and we have never had a bad time!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Coco Keys, NoNo Keys, But a great INN to stay.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

If you like outdoor swim parks you would like CoCo Keys. It has a lot to offer, however management is not making it the fun park it could and should be. The price you pay is well worth the visit, but if you cant get to the amenities and the waters are cold and there are not enough tables to accomdate, dont waste your time. BUT, the good thing is the wonderful Inn. Good rooms, good food, and a great pool. Stay at the Clock Tower and see the sites Rockford has to offer. CoCo seriously needs a turn around in management and the company needs to step up and deliver the goods for which you pay. This place has many possibilities.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elburn, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cold and the hot tubs were closed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were just there for Martin Luther King Jr Day. We bought day passes. We tried to get there when it opened up, but was 30 minutes late, by then all the tables were taken and we had to put everything on one chair. It also was really busy. After 12:00 or 1:00 things started to be less busy. The two hot tubs were closed, so that really leaves nothing for adults to do. The water in the lazy river and the slides were really cold. My 9 and 7 year old could not stand it. We also brought along another 5 boys who where 9 years old. The only thing left for them to do was to play in the open water where you can play basketball. They tried to play basketball, but some teenagers were playing so they ended up playing basketball where the toddlers swim.
Many people were bringing in food from the outside, but they stopped my husband since he was carrying cupcakes.
Now I do have to say that all of the kids had a great time. We were the last ones to leave. One boy actually started to cry. I believe that the kids had a great time because they were together. I just wished that there was more to do at this waterpark.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, Illinois
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“No More CoCo Key for Me”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We went their as a treat for the Christmas holiday. This was a terrible mistake. They had another one in Rolling Meadow which closed out permanently. I remembered why after I got there. Ice cold water in the toddler section, terribly crowded, no good rides, even more crowded pools. Hotel's indoor pool was much more fun than the whole water park. This is straight out of my 8 year old.

I will never go to another CoCo Key.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CoCo Key Water Resort also viewed

 

Been to CoCo Key Water Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CoCo Key Water Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.