We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun hibachi show; good sushi for the midwest.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of JMK Nippon Restaurant

JMK Nippon Restaurant
2551 North Perryville Road, Rockford, IL 61107
815-877-0505
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 335 Restaurants in Rockford
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fun hibachi show; good sushi for the midwest.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

It's a Rockford favorite; the scallops are usually excellent, the rest is good.

Visited December 2010
Helpful?
Thank Theresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Go for the show...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

...stay for the food. Fun time around the grill with the chef slicing and dicing up your meal. Food was very good although I wouldn't call it world class. Atmosphere is light and loud as everyone is in one large room, basically.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank aziehr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
106 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Boring one trick restaurant with oily food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

The same experience each time gets very old. Teppan cooking may be fun once, but the routine gets boring with the same jokes and oily bits flipped on your plate. The cafe portion may offer alternatives, but the oily atmosphere goes everywhere. Try it once for the experience, but look elsewhere for a next time.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterBIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
1 review
“My FAVORITE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

If you are looking for a great dinner, you have to check out JMK! The atmosphere is awesome, food is awesome and staff is great! We try to go about once a month, usually for birthdays or when friends are in from out of town. I have never been disappointed!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lukiss3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenmeans
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Way Over Rated This place is Below Average!!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

We heard that this was the best place in Rockford for sushi and Japanese food. Wow is that far from the truth. JMK is below par!!! Our service was just terrible. We had to wait over 10 minutes for waitress to come over and take our drink order (they where not that busy) We ordered some sushi, rolls, and split a dinner entree. The sushi is not fresh!!!! Had fishy taste and the rolls had no taste to them. The salad that came with dinner had the worst dressing I have ever tasted!! The fried rice w/ shrimp was ok though the shrimp where tiny. The bass was also very bland, overcooked and below par. The waitress was very bad. We waited over 10 minutes with empty beer and martini glasses. Never asked how the dinner was. Just terrible!!! Marc's Fusion Cafe blows JMP away IMO or try Bistro Wasabi is Lake in the Hills for some good Japanese food

  • Visited July 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank greenmeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JMK Nippon Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to JMK Nippon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing