We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is good to get what you expect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Steak 'n Shake

Steak 'n Shake
7561 E. State Street, Rockford, IL 61108
+1 815-395-9250
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 318 Restaurants in Rockford
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout, Late Night
Description: Steak ‘n Shake is a classic American brand famous for the Original Steakburger™ and hand-dipped Milk Shakes. Stop in today for breakfast, lunch, dinner or late night. Dine in, drive thru or carryout.
St. Paul, MN
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“It is good to get what you expect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

No bells, no whistles, just exactly what you order!

Shake. Shake. Shake. Shake. Shake. Shake. Shake. Shake. Shake.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    14
    2
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good place for a quick meal.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We had the chili mac supreme. It was different than we'd had at other Steak n Shakes because it didn't have very much meat sauce. It was good and tasty though. Service was good and the place was clean. It is a very busy place especially on Saturday nights.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Valley, Illinois
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“it is one of the best quick serv. meals i had”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

the food is absolutly great.the people who work there are alwayse so nice;and they get you just what you order...if they screw up they go out of there way to make you happy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Going Downhill Fast”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We have visted this location many times but the last few visits were not that great. First, we waited for about 15 minutes to be seated. A magager was standing there and then walked in the back. We never saw him again. There was a line of people at the door and no one even looked our way. There were dirty tables everywhere and no one cleaning them. Once we got a seat we were waited on quickly but the waitress seemed confused and kept trying to give us the wrong food/drinks. The food was not that good and my burger was greasy. On the upside, the chili was good. We used to love the food here...too bad. I don't think we will be going back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

A very good selection of food on the menu and the shakes are great. The staff is friendly and the restaurant is very clean.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steak 'n Shake also viewed

 

Been to Steak 'n Shake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steak 'n Shake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.