We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, this sushi we enjoyed!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spider Sushi

Spider Sushi
4415 Harrisson Avenue, Rockford, IL 61108
815-229-2394
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 323 Restaurants in Rockford
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Ok, this sushi we enjoyed!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

So, the food and prices were good. The tea was Japanese Matcha - impressive. It wasn't the best matcha I've had, but it tasted pretty good with the sushi.

The rolls were all really fresh and flavorful. They have a cajun one that rocks. We ordered 2. The atmosphere doesn't really make you want to linger. It's too open between tables and there's a water machine on the other side of their room divider that sounds like someone is tinkling every now and then.

Order takeout and chill at home. It's good stuff!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    11
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockford, Illinois, United States
1 review
“Birthday Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

The freshest sashimi I have had, great quality, I go as often as I can. The Bento Box lunches are wonderful, so is the Teriyaki Chicken

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice lunch spot and friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I eat here for lunch only, as it is close to my house. Therefore, I can only comment on my lunch experience. We always go for the sushi, which we find to be consistently good. I like the tiger roll and Thor roll; my lunch associate likes the crunchy roll. The service has been very good and the staff friendly. The "atmosphere" is a little lack luster, but not to the point that it is a negative. I will return to Spider for lunch, as I do every week.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poplar Grove, IL
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good sushi, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I work across the street at UTAS, so I think the location is great! A short walk to sushi - what could be better? Food is very good, service is generally quick although not very friendly. Improved atmosphere, overall a pleasant dining experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Unexpected Awesome Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I did not expect to receive one of the best sushi lunches in rural Illinois, but I did. If you choose this restaurant, definitely try the Thor roll.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spider Sushi also viewed

 

Been to Spider Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spider Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.