We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location... Needs updating” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Rock Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Rock Island to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Rock Island
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   226 17th Street, Rock Island, IL 61201 (Formerly Four Points by Sheraton Rock Island)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rock Island
DAVENPORT
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good location... Needs updating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2010

The hotel is right next to all the bars in Rock Island. Most of the people staying there on a weekend are people who have been drinking all night. The rooms are in desperate need of remodeling. But you can't beat the location. Be sure to check out the Loop bus.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    50
    54
    21
    24
See reviews for
31
36
11
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Moline, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2010

Rooms need serious remodelling, wallpaper peeling, carpet worn, mildew in bathtub. Hallways loud and can hear everything from other rooms. Beds worn and mildly comfortable for a night sleep, tend to sink towards the middle. Had blood on sheets first night, quickly changed. Towels also dirty and changed. Second night a basketball team tirelessly roamed, and banged, and slammed doors through the night without regard for anyone else(mostly a lack of discipline from them and their coaching staff). Called front desk only to have no one answer the phones despite multiple tries. Horrible place and would be very careful when looking at Rock Island hotels with Hotwire or Priceline, otherwise you will end up like us...unhappy and tired. Parking is free but very limited.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010

Great location but this hotel desperately needs an upgrade. Hot water was seriously lacking across the board every day, the carpet had obvious stains, and on-site parking was barely available. The hotel's wi-fi is embarrasingly slow and the only breakfast or coffee available is through the Bennigans in the lobby.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

Surprised that the reviews on tripadvisor compared to my experience were so different.

Great lobby, room was refurbished and quiet - comfortable beds, modern tv (not a plasma but who really cares), coffee at 5:30am for free in the lobby, great shuttle service to the airport both ways was reliable. Bennigans attached has a friendly staff and flexible choices for dinner - open to 11pm and connected to the hotel on the inside - it appears that they are refurbishing the entire building attached with a hair salon and office as well. Great local tavern across the street if you're into that kind of thing.


No complaints. Great price on Priceline. Fabulous for the value.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

We made our reservation with Priceline. In this instance this was not good. We got a room that was very worn out! The dust/dirt had not been cleaned off the phone and clock radio for a long time. The air conditioned room was cool but the unit did not get the humidity out of the room. We called the front desk at 11 pm for a wake up call but there was no answer. The place is shop worn indeed. The whole are around the property is depressed with numerous storefronts empty. I sent a e-mail to the management company Kinseth Hospitality in North Liberty, IA. and detailed the disappointment. They never replied. I guess that tells you something!! They don't care. I would not suggest this place to anyone. On par with a motel of the 1960s in this persons opinion.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

My husband & I stayed @ The Holiday Inn Rock Island because my husband is from Rock Island. We choose this hotel because of the location - it is the only hotel in Rock Island, IL. My husband wanted to show me where he was from and grew up. The hotel staff was extreamly friendly and welcoming to us - they even had fresh baked cookies which was a nice treat. We are also Priority Club members which they recognized @ check in & had a neat little goody bag for us. They offered us an upgrade w/ a great view of the Mississippi River. The hotel seemed a bit older but room was very clean and smelled fresh. We had dinner over @ Bennigans where our server was very nice. We had a great meal. We don't have a Bennigan's anymore where we are from so we've missed it. We will definatly be back to this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reedsburg, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

Went to check in for a King size room that was reserved 2 weeks earlier only to find out that my room went to someone else, presumably a wedding party. I learned there were 2 options (rooms) available, one on site and one at another hotel. I was not happy with this a bit but took the remaining room on property and received a 20% discount for my 2 double bed room. After that, service was very good. The property was dated, and the rooms had some wear. My wife and I enjoyed the prospect of being away from our children for a night after taking in a concert in Moline, so when the housekeepers started cleaning the rooms near our's we were disappointed. The rooms have little to no sound deadening. As the housekeepers let the doors slam at the nearby rooms, we felt like they were slamming our door...that was a bummer.
We were very happy with the hotel courtesy van, they dropped us off at the I Wireless center and offered to pick us up prior to 11PM, the concert let out at 11:15PM, but the local LOOP bus was MORE then a good price to get us back to the District.
Parking was non-existant on property, easy to street park though.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Rock Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rock Island

Address: 226 17th Street, Rock Island, IL 61201 (Formerly Four Points by Sheraton Rock Island)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Rock Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rock Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Rock Island 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Hotel & Conference Center - Rock Island centrally located in The Rock Island Arts & Entertainment District off I-280 / IL Highway 92 and moments away from the Quad City International Airport in Moline. We are conveniently located near the Rock Island Arsenal, Modern Woodmen, Deere & Company, Bituminous Insurance Co., Royal Neighbors, MidAmerican Energy, Trinity Medical Center, Augustana College, Kone, Circa 21 Dinner Playhouse and Quad City Botanical Center. Just the Place for You. Superior amenities and outstanding service await you at the Holiday Inn – Rock Island. We realize that not all travelers are alike, so our 175 guest rooms, suites and meeting space are designed to meet the needs of business and leisure travelers.*Spacious & comfortable workspace*Full-service meeting and banquet space*Complimentary high-speed wireless internet access in all guest & meeting rooms*Earn Priority Club points every time you stay*Full-service Bennigan’s Irish American Grill on-site*Kids Eat & Stay Free*24-hour Business center. The Holiday Inn – Rock Island features over 9,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet space. Whether planning a corporate event, an intimate cocktail party or a celebratory banquet, you will have our undivided attention. Stay you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Rock Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rock Island Hotel Rock Island
Rock Island Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Rock Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.