We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Specific Option” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Rock Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Rock Island to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Rock Island
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   226 17th Street, Rock Island, IL 61201 (Formerly Four Points by Sheraton Rock Island)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rock Island
USA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Location Specific Option”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

If your travel plans are focused solely on the City of Rock Island (and specifically the downtown) this property will adequately meet your needs...... However ..... if you are visiting the Quad Cities as a whole, their are a better options.

The location is downtown, RI is not a "garden spot", as other reviewers point out, except for a limited number of spaces, the primary parking is a public garage across the street. (Shared with the Police Dept).

Interior is what one would expect, without any special amenities or special features. Rooms are "standard" fare, but kept clean. Check-in/out was quick and efficient. Restaurant option is an on-site Bennigans, which closes at 10pm weekdays/11pm weekends. (You would not be enticed to wander the neighborhood).

Best to say this is average, meets expectations for what/where it is.

Room Tip: 8th floor is "executive" level with elevator lock-out feature.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Rock Island, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear RDGUSA,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service, room accommodations, and facilities of the hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible.

Once again many thanks for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    46
    50
    21
    24
See reviews for
30
35
11
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

The people at the front desk responded to questions and requests promptly and courteously. The location is convenient to downtown Rock Island, Centennial Bridge to Davenport, and Augustana College. But the parking lot is much too small for the number of hotel rooms; many people had to park at a public garage down the street. The rooms and corridors are inadequately sound-proofed. The information folder in the room did not give the location and hours (or even acknowledge the existence!) of the pool and fitness center. No telephone book in the room, either. The bathroom floor was dirty, housekeeping did not regularly empty the wastebaskets, and the Wifi service was very, very slow. Would I stay there again? Probably, but I'd do so because of the location, not the amenities.

Room Tip: Arrive early to get a space in the hotel parking lot. Check cleanliness and room furniture before y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Rock Island, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Prestinna,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I appreciate how you pointed out the convenience of our location and I am happy that you were satisfied with the service provided by our front desk.

I am sorry to hear that our amenities didn't meet your expectations. I would also like to take this opportunity to apologize for any inconvenience and discomfort our level of cleanliness has caused you.

Thank you for your comments. We value you as a guest and we hope this incident will not deter you from giving us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here last year when they were in the middle of a renovation. This year it was mostly done, completely updating the hallways and rooms. The rooms are now very fresh and beautiful, with new wallpaper, carpet, paint, lighting, art and televisions. The bathroom was very clean and spacious, with nice towels and amenities. The bed is comfortable, and the bedding is very nice with sheets that stay on the bed. The service was efficient and professional. What more could you ask for?

The five stars doesn't mean it's the Ritz, just that it is at the top of its game for a better, medium priced hotel. We will definitely stay here again next year.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rock Island, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Team BE,
We are thrilled to receive your 5-star review of our hotel for your recent stay. We are happy to read of your positive comments on our recently renovated hotel and the efficient and professional service you received. Our owners are working to upgrade our facilities to better meet our guests needs. Thank you again for your valualble feedback. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Holiday Inn - Rock Island
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coal Valley, Illinois
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We just stayed here overnight when my son had his wedding reception at the hotel. We had some issues with our keys not working, but they resolved those. Right away I asked about the airport shuttle for my older son whose plane was leaving at 6:30 am the next day. They put him on the 5 am shuttle, no questions asked. This was a great load off my mind as I was hoping not to take him at 5 a.m. It was a great venue for a wedding reception & so convenient to just spend the night! Everything was clean, fridge & microwave in our room, nice flat screen TV & even a view of the Mississippi!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rock Island, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Magillacutty260,
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. Your 5-star review of our "nicely updated" hotel and "friendly, helpful staff" was a pleasure to read. Yes, we are a great venue for wedding receptions with our banquet room that seats up to 500 guests with beautiful chandelier lighting and full-service catering; newly renovated guest rooms, friendly guest service representatives and complimentary shuttle service to/from the airport. We truly value your business and look forward to your return stay.
Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Holiday Inn - Rock Island
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The team at this location was very helpful and accommodating, our room was very clean and organized. The location is great, being close to the collage, bars and local eateries. Several of my friends have stayed here in the past, they recommended this location to me and now I am doing it for you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rock Island, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Bruce J,
"Extra care goes a long way" is a motto we strive to provide all our guests. Thank you for your valuable 5-star review of our hotel. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and that our hotel was close to your destination. We appreciate the word-of-mouth recommendations our previous guests have given to you. Thank you for continuing the positive feedback and endorsement. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Holiday Inn - Rock Island
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The staff greets you with a friendly welcome. Great location and easy to find but that would be about the only other positive comment. I booked here because one of the amenities was a shuttle would be available. When we arrived we were told that the driver had quit and they had no back-up! The room did not have a chair to relax on. The bathroom tub surround had seen better days and the hot water was only luke warm out of the faucet. The noise insulation in the walls and ceiling is minimal as it sounded like we were in a bowling alley. The fitness room is very bare bones. No towel provided and the sanitize wipe box was empty. The TV cable did not provide half the stations available in the room. There are no free weights or resistance machines. The restaurant (Bennigans) was poorly staffed and very inadequate. Not a great experience.

Room Tip: Find a room in a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Rock Island, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Alpenkev,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. I am sincerely sorry that your guest experience was less than satisfactory. We pride ourselves in making sure that all of our guests have an enjoyable stay and it is very disappointing to hear that we did not live up to this expectation due to the amenities, facilities and poor customer service received. Rest assured, your review will be forwarded to the appropriate departments and will be used to reconsider improvements needed.

Once again, I apologize for your stay and I hope that you will give us another try on your next trip to the area.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The room was nice and big but that is where it ended. I have no idea why anybody would think to put the coffee machine in the bathroom is a good idea. Seriously I can not get over that, there is more than enough counter space in the room not to do that. They use Bennigan's as their restaurant as they do not have their own, this is a big no for me.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn M, Manager at Holiday Inn Rock Island, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay with us. I appreciate your comments about the coffee makers and Bennigan’s restaurant. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn around.
Again, thank you for your feedback and my sincerest apologies for any inconveniences.

Sincerely,

The Management & Staff
of the Holiday Inn - Rock Island
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Rock Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rock Island

Address: 226 17th Street, Rock Island, IL 61201 (Formerly Four Points by Sheraton Rock Island)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Rock Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rock Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Rock Island 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Hotel & Conference Center - Rock Island centrally located in The Rock Island Arts & Entertainment District off I-280 / IL Highway 92 and moments away from the Quad City International Airport in Moline. We are conveniently located near the Rock Island Arsenal, Modern Woodmen, Deere & Company, Bituminous Insurance Co., Royal Neighbors, MidAmerican Energy, Trinity Medical Center, Augustana College, Kone, Circa 21 Dinner Playhouse and Quad City Botanical Center. Just the Place for You. Superior amenities and outstanding service await you at the Holiday Inn – Rock Island. We realize that not all travelers are alike, so our 175 guest rooms, suites and meeting space are designed to meet the needs of business and leisure travelers.*Spacious & comfortable workspace*Full-service meeting and banquet space*Complimentary high-speed wireless internet access in all guest & meeting rooms*Earn Priority Club points every time you stay*Full-service Bennigan’s Irish American Grill on-site*Kids Eat & Stay Free*24-hour Business center. The Holiday Inn – Rock Island features over 9,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet space. Whether planning a corporate event, an intimate cocktail party or a celebratory banquet, you will have our undivided attention. Stay you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Rock Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rock Island Hotel Rock Island
Rock Island Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Rock Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.