We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Nachos” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Goombazz - CLOSED

Goombazz
2704 18th Ave, Rock Island, IL
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Moline, Illinois
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great Nachos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We had the Nachos with Italian beef and peppers and it was awesome. We will definitely return to try many other menu items.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    3
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rock Island, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A new favorite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We've been to Goombazz probably 5 times since they opened. The food, while a little pricey, is always very good and the service has always been excellent. The Philly Cheezsteak sandwich with the homemade chips is my favorite. We also got carryout once and everything was perfect--even the chips were not soggy after being in the box with the hot sandwich. Definitely a new favorite of ours!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Friendly wait staff ,decent sandwich”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We ate at Goombazz's in Rock Island on the recommendation of a friend. We ate lunch there on a Sunday. I had a sub sandwich with fries and a cup of minestrone soup and my hubby had a chicago dog wth homemade chips and a small side salad.. He had a beer and I had iced tea. The food was decent. I asked for a little more vinegar and oil and oregano on my sub which gave it a kick it needed. Our waitress was very accomodating and friendly. I believe our ticket was around $ 30. I think the side salad was a bit overprice for a cup of iceberg lettuce with some croutons at $3.99. We are both curious as to how their pizzas taste so we plan a return trip at some point. So stay tuned.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Island, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good Pork Tenderloin Sandwiches”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stopped in for lunch. The quad city style tenderloin sandwiches (breaded and unbreaded) were very good. The buns were fresh and nicely grilled. The seasoned chips were addictive, and more flavorful than the seasoned fries. The service was somewhat slow, but the staff was friendly and accomodating when we expressed our short time-table. No burgers or grilled chicken on the menu, lots of calorie high Italian-style sandwiches. Nicely updated and colorful interior. A couple TVs for sports enthusiast in the smallish bar area, but not obtrusive.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Really good lunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

We decided to give Goombaz a try for lunch today. Really enjoyable experience. Warm welcome, friendly service, good lunch. We tried the Italian beef sandwich dipped, calzone, pizzadilla and a child's pizza. Food was hot and flavorful. We will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goombazz also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goombazz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.