We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As a Gun collector...this was a great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rock Island Arsenal Museum

Rock Island Arsenal Museum
Bldg. 60, North Avenue just east of Gillespie, Rock Island Arsenal, Rock Island, IL
309 782 5021
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 20 things to do in Rock Island
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Randolph, New York
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“As a Gun collector...this was a great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Our visit to Rock Island to re-unite with a Vietnam Army buddy gave us the opportunity to visit the Rock Island Arsenal. It offered a very complete and interesting history of the area and the arsenal. There are many pieces of military equipment on display but my husband's favorite was the walls of gun on display. Hundreds of them. After taking in what the museum had to offer we drove around the Island which is the home of an active mililtary base. The grounds of the base are beautiful and well maintained. The cemetery is visible as you drive by and you can get out and walk around. So glad we took the time to see this piece of our American history.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    18
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Impressive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The museum tells the story of the history of Rock Island Arsenal and Arsenal Island, including the Union prison camp once located there that held captive Confederate soldiers. Today, Rock Island Arsenal is an active military base and the only active U.S. Army foundry, manufacturing ordnance and equipment such as small firearms and grenade launchers. The Arsenal Museum is best known for its wall of guns, which is quite impressive. I especially enjoyed seeing the experimental weapons. Not a lot of information is given on each weapon, and all information must be looked up in the binders provided, but it is definitely a unique experience. You will be stopped before crossing into Rock Island Arsenal, so be sure that all members of your party over the age of 16 have a photo ID and that any foreign nationals have a passport or alien registration card.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Worth a Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This museum tells the story of The Rock Island Arsenal. It features examples of equipment manufactured at the arsenal. It also includes a small exhibit on the Black Hawk War of 1832 that disrupted the area.

The most impressive part of the collection is the walls of guns, hundreds of them: pistols, revolvers, rifles and shotguns, the whole gamut. Some are exotic, others are ones that are commonly seen in personal and museum collections. The Rock Island Arsenal Museum is my favorite site in Rock Island. It is definitely worth a visit.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Interesting afternoon activity if you're in the area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Of all the things that we found to do in Rock Island area, this was probably the most interesting. It is a free attraction at the Rock Island Arsenal open to the public. Beware the opening times, as it was open during the afternoon on the day we visited. We particularly enjoyed the displays in which you are shown the supplies of a typical soldier during various wars. Additionally, the museum is a great introduction to the work of the arsenal over its history. You need about 45-60 minutes to casually browse. If you are a gun enthusiast, then probably a lot longer. There is a park for a picnic a short distance down the road.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pretty impressive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We drove our RV to the arsenal. It was easy to get to and very easy to park. I did call ahead and the friendly woman told me to take the moline bridge to mke sure we had clearance. We had no problems getting on to the active base. The museum was pretty amazing for what it was. It was free admission, but they also had a donation bin. All the displays were well maintained and had self explanatory info on them. There was a neat center room with dress up clothes that allowed the kids to dress in civil war era clothing and modern day military camo. The only downfall was the small gift shop. It didn't have much to offer. The kids all wanted civil war history books, but there was nothing available to them. I would have settled for a neat little magnet but they didn't have that either. We would definetly go back. We also stopped at the 2 cemetery's and were impressed by their history.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rock Island Arsenal Museum also viewed

 

Been to Rock Island Arsenal Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rock Island Arsenal Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.