We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful experience awful management” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rock Falls

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rock Falls to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rock Falls
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2106 First Avenue, Rock Falls, IL 61071   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Rock Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awful experience awful management”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Avoid this hotel unless paying with cash I stayed here had booked room for two nights online.upon check in I was surprised I was charged 40$ more than my online guaranteed rate,but coming from a long drive I didn't complain. After the second night I decided to stay another due to a family funeral this us only hotel in area.i authorized another 108$ on my debit card,whirlpool was half full sauna was junk pool small staff very rude. My cheap door handle came off in my hand. Upon checkout was horrified hotel charged me double on a company credit card as well as changed my prior authorized purchase and charged me 249$ for door handle and to clean my room (stayed four days no housekeeper) so it was in need of cleaning but not 240$ worth as I took my own linens and garbage out daily,called management who was unwilling to correct and was treated awful! Stay away from this crappy hotel!! Dixon comfort inn is much better!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISRKFL, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rock Falls, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
All though I understand you have frustration regarding the extra charges put on your credit card, it was neccessary to off set the expenses we encurred.
I will however, reconsider only charging one hundred to cover the proffessional cleanig service we had clean the carpet/furniture and to replace the phone.
I will refund back the one hundred fifty and you should see this credit with in 72 hours.
Best regards Management
Country Inn & Suites, Rockfalls.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    37
    10
    4
    5
See reviews for
44
19
3
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in the Inn. The staff was always helpful and courteous. The hot continental breakfast was nice. When trying to price shop with other hotels in the area this hotel would not work with us on a price reduction. We paid the $99 a night to stay here. We were disappointed that the hot tub and pool were closed for us during our stay. We thought they could clean the pool and tub during the night then people could use it during the day. The cycling of the in room heater all night did not give me a good night sleep.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
113 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed one night recently and found the room very comfortable, clean and well maintained. The free breakfast was quite good with a number of choices. Very friendly staff. The only complaint would be that the AC unit was noisy when it started up.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

You cannot beat this hotel or this chain for a nice stay with no surprises. This hotel is also located right next door to the best restaurant in town- just walk across the parking lot. It is also walking distance to the canal path (weather permitting).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington IL
Level Contributor
120 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The Country Inn and Suites in Rock Falls is the best of breed in an area that doesn't offer much in the way of hotels. It is a typical clean, well-run, roomy and comfortable Country Inn offering a good hot breakfast in a room that can get pretty crowded at morning rush hour. I have stayed here several times and have never been able to get a rate appropriate for what the local market should require. But the local market doesn't appear to be able to support much else. You won't be unhappy or disappointed with your stay here. They execute well .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Our car broke down outside Rock Falls, so this was not a planned stay, and we had to pay the standard rate. The first room we got had a chirping fire alarm, so we asked to be moved. We got a different room, but had to move a LOT of luggage/toys after lugging it all in the first time. The rooms were clean, as was the bathroom. There were a couple of problems with breakfast. Unfortunately, a large delivery of food was being made during the breakfast service, so there were boxes going through the dining room and the staff had to attend to the shipment, rather than the breakfast. Several items ran out (including orange juice!) and the hot items were not fresh. We didn't have enough time to use the pool, but it looked clean and inviting. Overall, it was a good experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
142 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Room 103--King, n/s with jacuzzi tub, This hotel always lives up to the standards we expect from a Country Inn. We have stayed here since it was nearly new. It is a tribute to the
owners, management, and housekeeping that the property and rooms still have a fresh,
clean look and are indeed clean. It is the hotel of choice in Rock Falls, but would be my
1st choice in most markets. In addition to the excellent rooms, the breakfast is very
good, the fittness/pool areas are very good, and the location is great--being just a
short distance north of I-88; next to several great restaurants (Candlelight Inn & Culvers);
near retail (Walgreen's & Walmart; and just a short walk across Ill 40 to the historic and
scenic Hennipan Canal trail

Room Tip: north side towards the west would be the quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rock Falls
0.1 mi away
Days Inn - Rock Falls
Days Inn - Rock Falls
#3 of 5 in Rock Falls
3.0 of 5 stars 148 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Super 8 Rock Falls
#2 of 5 in Rock Falls
3.0 of 5 stars 81 reviews
12.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Dixon
Comfort Inn Dixon
#1 of 4 in Dixon
4.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Dixon
Magnuson Hotel Dixon
#3 of 4 in Dixon
3.0 of 5 stars 30 reviews
19.3 mi away
White Pines Inn
White Pines Inn
#1 of 1 in Mount Morris
4.5 of 5 stars 81 reviews
24.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Fulton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rock Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rock Falls

Address: 2106 First Avenue, Rock Falls, IL 61071
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Rock Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Rock Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rock Falls 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rock Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Rock Falls
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rock Falls Hotel Rock Falls
Country Inn Rock Falls
Rock Falls Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rock Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.