We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doyle's Pub

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Doyle's Pub
5604 Mill St., Richmond, IL 60071
(815) 678-3623
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 19 Restaurants in Richmond
Restaurant details
Sterling, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stopped at Doyle's for dinner passing through town, great atmosphere loved the outside dining area (although bugs were biting at sunset) food was great fish fry is tasty and very filling. Our waiter made the dinner though! Levi was friendly and courteous and checked on us often. The manager wouldn't honor an older coupon which we feel would could have been handled differently considering our size able bill but it was ok! Thanks for great service Levi!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    8
    2
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mount Prospect, Illinois
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great bar with Awesone food...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

We typically stop by the bar when out with friends on a motorcycle ride. They have awesome Bloody Mary's and the food is always great. They gave a wonderful outdoor eating area so give them a try....you'll love it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Suburbs, IL
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I have driven by Doyle's many times in the past several years, and my husband and I decided to go ahead and try it this past weekend. I called to see if there was a wait and I have to say the woman on the phone was not pleasant at all. That's where the bad part of the review ends. We had Bangers and Mash and a Chicken Caesar Wrap. The food was delicious! Very pleasantly surprised. We sat in a small dining area away from the bar, which was nice as we wanted a meal and didn't need the bar atmosphere. Our waitress was perfect, we were greeted warmly when we walked in, I mean I really can't say enough about how pleasant our dining experience was. We will definitely be back! Wish we had tried it sooner!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sycamore, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Place to Eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Doyle's Pub in Richmond, IL, was a very nice surprise for us one Sunday. Excellent food for a good price and excellent service. Pleasant environment; we ate in the bar and there is an area with tables for family dining.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marengo, Illinois
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“$3.00 charge for substitutions.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I've been to Doyle's several times and have always enjoyed the food. We had a party of 7 on 2/23/13 to celebrate a birthday and our bill was $152.00 including the 18% tip added on. That's about $21.00 per person, that's fine - no problem. The problem is the $3.00 charge added to the bill to switch mashed potatoes for glazed carrots. Really? Are carrots that much more expensive than potatoes?

The servers were great and we even added additional cash for their tip. Management should really reconsider the additional fees for such a simple substitution.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Doyle's Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doyle's Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.