We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Quincy East

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Quincy East to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Quincy East
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4821 Oak Street, Quincy, IL 62305   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Quincy
KS
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Our family stayed one night while traveling east. We stayed due to the Holiday inn points we could use. We had a very nice stay. The property is new. Staff were friendly and check in was simple. We slept well and it was very quiet. The only issues was very slow elevators (we were on the top floor) and small square pillow for sleeping. Those were minor issues for us.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    23
    14
    7
    1
See reviews for
29
12
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quincy, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We had a great time, the staff was very accomidating. The room was very nice and affordable, the pool and excercise room was also nice. I will be booking a room at this hotel again soon for my other daughters birthday party and will recomend my friends and family do the same.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
restaurantboy, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Quincy East, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you so very much for your time to let us know about your experience with us. We were glad to have you and are looking forward to having you again. Im glad your daughter and a great birthday!
Sincerely,
Adam Blackburn, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

The rooms at this location are fine, but I've had some issues with the front desk and restaurant staff.

Examples:

The latest stay, I was able to get a hotwire rate of about $82/night. When I checked in, they asked for a credit card at check in. I figured this was just incidentals, which are supposed to be around $25/night at this hotel. They ended up charging around $280. The hotel said it was just an accidental authorization. Which yeah, accidents happen, but these places need to realize that funds are locked up for up to 7 days in some cases, and for those that are traveling with families, we may need to use that money. I explained my frustration and the response was pretty much oh well deal with it.

A few months ago, I stayed at this location with my wife and daughter. We went to the restaurant to take advantage of the Kids Eat Free offer. (It is advertised in hotel guide in the room.) We were told they don't offer kids eat free and a manager wasn't around to help. The funny thing is, on the most recent check in, the front desk mentioned that kids eat free at check in.

Like I mentioned before, the property is pretty decent and above average for a Holiday Inn. The staff just seems somewhat incompetent or under-trained.

I think I'll look at my other options next time I need a room here. I do come often as family lives in Quincy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
restaurantboy, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Quincy East, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
First of all I want to thank you for your feed back and continued business. I do see that we accidentally authorized your debit card for $285, when it should have only been $25 for incidentals. I do apologize for this and all of the inconviences associated with our mistake. Simple mistakes have been made, especially since both your credit card and the credit card from Hotwire were Master Cards. Since your last stay I have hired a few new employees that are shining stars, so I feel very confident that your next stay will be totally different from your last.

As for the funds being locked up for up to 7 days. Yes this happens but only when a debit card has been used. At check in we have a sign explaining to our guests to use caution when using debit cards because of this very problem. Hotels do not have a choice on whether or not to use the card for debit or credit. When you check out, the authorization is released but the funds are not put back into your account right away – but that is totally in the control of your bank. To avoid any future problems I highly recommend the use of a credit card at check in and not a debit card (this does not however absolve us of creating the problem in the first place by authorizing the wrong card).

I am not sure where our break down in communication took place with the Kids Eat Free offer with our staff. This is a Holiday Inn’s standard (Kids Eat Free) offered in every Holiday Inn in the country. Please contact me directly at the hotel so I can make sure we make this up to you. Again I want to thank you for your time and honest feed back of your stay. Without you bringing this to our attention we wouldn’t have known there was something we needed to do better.

Sincerely,
Adam Blackburn, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, Illinois
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Large well designed hotel with accommodating staff. We got here early to check in, was given our king room, went upstairs BUT it was even cleaned yet. Some miscommunication between maids and front desk. We went back down and the manager helped us by holding our luggage and giving us a $10 credit towards the restaurant until it got cleaned. He told us check in is 3 pm and it was around 12 noon so that was our fault but they still need to know what rooms are ready.

King room was very nice, lots of space, nice clean large bathroom, large closet and nice flatscreen TV. Bed was a little unstable and pillows pretty flat....AC worked great. We ate breakfast Sunday morning in the restaurant and it was very good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign IL
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

I spent just one night in Quincy's Holiday Inn. It seems newly built. It is roomy, clean, up to date. I thought it was a good value. Furnishings in the room are comfortable and modern. Comfortable bed, good TV, lots of channels. I didn't use any of the amenities of the hotel, but the bar/restaurant looked nice. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SELAH
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The facilities are still fairly new and well maintained. It has an indoor pool and workout facility. The workout facility needs some attention however. The staff was very nice and they upgraded me to a corner room suite that was outstanding. It had a separate bedroom and the bathroom had a walk in full size shower. It is located next to some major shopping areas and a Walmart which is about a block away - if you like Walmart! You will be happy with your decision to stay here.

Room Tip: Make sure to try to get the upgraded full suite. It has plenty of room to spread out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Being a platinum priority club member I stay almost exclusively at Holiday Inn properties when traveling for business, avg 85-100 nights a year. I've stayed at this Holiday Inn several times in the past few years and it is one of the better ones. Furnishings are up to date, solidly built, very little noise heard in or outside, friendly staff and great wireless internet strength. Convenient location near the expressway.
The only downside, and this is not the fault of the hotel, is the restaurant, Tony's Too, which is attached to the hotel. The food is average at best but the service from the waiters to the bartender (especially the bartenders) is terrible. They seem to be put upon when you order.
But dont let that detract from the quality of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Quincy East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Quincy East

Address: 4821 Oak Street, Quincy, IL 62305
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Quincy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Quincy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Quincy East 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the only Full-Service Hotel in Quincy, IL Conveniently located two miles from downtown Quincy, IL, the new Holiday Inn Hotel Quincy is just minutes from the area's finest attractions and businesses and the heart of the Tri-State region of Illinois, Iowa and Missouri. Business guests appreciate our Quincy hotel's location because the Oakley Lindsay Convention Center is just a couple miles away in downtown Quincy, IL. Quincy University, ADM, Knapheide Manufacturing and the Harris Corporation are each just a few miles away. We offer a business center and a conference center with 4,500 sq. ft. of space, as well as free, high-speed Internet access to meet your business needs. For leisure travelers, lodging in Quincy, our hotel's location offers easy access to the Terrible's Mark Twain Casino, the John Wood Mansion and the Quincy Art Center. There's great shopping at the Quincy Mall that's just minutes away. We're just off I-172 and Hwy 104 so you can easily visit Navoo and the historic Mormon Settlement or the boyhood home of Mark Twain in Hannibal, MO while enjoying our Quincy accommodations. Our Quincy, IL hotel offers you convenience and comfort with deluxe amenities. Our restaurant, Tony's Too, offers an excellent menu and kids eat for free. You can enjoy our well-equipped fitness center and the heated, indoor pool and whirlpool year-round. Check out our great Quincy hotel's deals for your next stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Quincy East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Quincy East Hotel Quincy
Quincy Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Quincy East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.