We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best View is of the Servers and the Cuisine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pier Restaurant

The Pier Restaurant
401 Bayview Drive, Quincy, IL 62301
217-221-0020
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 113 restaurants in Quincy
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Quincy, Illinois
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The Best View is of the Servers and the Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

A restaurant named "The Pier" that's built on a pier out into the Mississippi River should have a view that alone would be worth the trip. And this one does. But the real vision is watching the hospitality and serving staff in action, keeping the ample and varied buffet fully stocked (especially for Sunday brunch!), all the diners served and satisfied and generally keeping the whole busy restaurant "humming." And wait until you see the pier's many special entrees, like the Lasagna Carnival with Italian sausage, various cheeses and home made noodles, Shrimp Lollipops on a stick and dipped in a mixture of mangoes and curry or my favorite, the Grilled Salmon Caesar with a "hint of whisky" glaze. You'll love the "view" at The Pier.

The Pier offers carry out, catering, and private dinning area.
Join us for our Sunday brunch 11:00 AM to 2:00 PM

We accept Visa, Master card, American Express, cash, or local bank checks with management approval.

(prices and items subject to change without notice).

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    23
    14
    4
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Savoy, Illinois, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Um..”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Not good. Completely overpriced for a salad that are just a little bit of grass the pulled out of the ground.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Illinois
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“A great place for a special occasion or to take guests”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

The Pier is a favorite, but not your everyday kind of place. It is a bit special. As the name implies, it is in fact built on a pier over the Mississippi River. That gives it a unique view and perspective that no other Quincy restaurant has. With windows al round three sides, you can watch river traffic from a guy on a sail board to lonng trains of cargo barges, as well as eagles and other birds.
The food is always quite good. Our last couple visits have been for lunch. I'm fond of the mustard crusted salmon which is served with the best risoto I've ever eaten. My wife likes several of the salads.
The service is friendly and helpful.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branson, Missouri
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good view in the evening.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This was our second trip to Quincy and our second trip to The Pier Restaurant. The staff was very friendly and the food was good. I tried the meatloaf, which is very different from mine, but it was good. Our group had a very good time and will return the next time we visit Quincy.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield, IL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Always a good choice.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We have eatten here more than once and always good food. View of the River is always interesting. Have had binoculars placed on the table to use to see the eagles during winter. Friendly people also.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pier Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Pier Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pier Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.