We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Country lodge feel with bears, moose and log chairs.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Quincy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Quincy to your Saves list
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Quincy
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3809 E Broadway, Quincy, IL 62305   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Quincy
Certificate of Excellence 2014
St. Charles
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
“Country lodge feel with bears, moose and log chairs.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

When you come in the lobby there is a fire going in the fireplace and bears-lots of them. The halls have high ceilings and pine trees at the end. Each floor has a sitting room. We enjoyed our stay but rooms were a little on the small side. If someone is sitting at the desk, you cannot walk behind them. The closet is a corner in the room. There is no frig or MW but the bed is comfortable and coffee is available 24 hours a day. No problems with the internet and it was nice and quiet. Overall a nice little place for a budget price. If we had to stay a week, we need the frig and MW but otherwise, we would stay here again. Oh and when you check in there is a little stuffed dog(?) or wolf on your bed for purchase. He kept watch over the TV.
Breakfast was the usual on styrofoam plates-the toaster did not work quite a few of the elements out.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    33
    9
    6
    1
See reviews for
47
31
5
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

We stayed here because of a recommendation by Chaddock (a local residential care facility). The decor was cute. Everything was spotless. The bed was very comfortable, although the pillows were a bit hard. The free breakfast options were adequate. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenya
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2009

I enjoyed everything about the hotel. The rooms, the location, the decour etc

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2009

The Stoney Creek Inn is a nice family friendly hotel in the middle of the Quincy Business District Strip. This is not a 4 star hotel for sure, but the amenities they have are nice and sufficient for most travelers/visitors.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. Any requests were taken care of spot on.

The rooms are very clean (I am a germaphobic person...and check the cleanliness first thing upon entering a room). The rooms are equiped with the usual stuff. BUT, the one thing that stands out, is that they take care of the furniture, bedding and carpets. Nothing was worn out.

They are eco-friendly at Stoney Creek Inn. So, if you are staying more than one night, the staff will make up your bed without changing the sheets (for 3 nights) unless you request your bed to be stripped daily. Also, extra towels are provided before you request them...

My only criticisms for this hotel are minor... the toliet paper sucks. We usually go buy some at the Kmart next door... a minor inconvenience. The other is a very typcial issue found in the majority of hotels/motels in this country (including 4 star hotels). The lighting is poor, as they use the lowest wattage possible to save energy. Also easily fixed...we bring a brighter light bulb for reading (Peter Greenburg, a travel expert) also states this about most hotels in his reviews).

This Inn has a better than average Pool Area, complete with a large indoor/outdoor pool and large hot tub. It is a very clean area, and the hot tub is well maintained. Most hotels have either treat their hot tub and pool with way too many chemicals that will burn your eyes, or make your skin itch terribly, or they don't put enough in to kill germs. The staff checks the levels frequently and keep a very good balance.

The breakfast room is roomy and has a nice fireplace and large tv. Patrons can use this area all day for family gatherings, or a place to hang and play games/cards. The breakfasts are typical of this type of Inn, providing basic fruits, yogarts, hard boiled eggs, toasts, waffles, syrup, jellies, peanut butter, jams, coffee, tea and juices.

This is a NON smoking hotel...and they strictly enforce it, as Illinois now is a clean air state with no smoking in public places. Smoking is allowed outside and they do have an area by the pool and a patio outside where patrons can smoke if need be.

The Inn also has a small bar, that is run by the front desk for those who want a libation. The drink menu is limited to beer, wine and BASIC drinks. It also has a tv, and a desk with a computer for guests to use. The internet is slow, but at least you can check email if needed. A printer is also provided.

All in all, this is a decent place to stay with reasonable rates. The Inn also has a couple of banquet and meeting rooms. I would recommend this Inn to anyone, UNLESS they are looking for a honeymoon type place, as there is no room service, and since it is a family oriented Inn there are usually some kids in tow.

  • Liked — CLEAN and well kept rooms; great staff
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Montana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2008

Stayed 2 nights in April on business. We had 2 suites which were only $99/night with our corporate rate! Each suite had its own theme, we stayed in the 'Trails End' and 'Clubhouse'
The Trails End was set up like an old hunting lodge with pictures of bears, guns, log furniture, a lamp with a shotgun as its base and a shotgun shell as its pull string! Even the bathroom toilet roll holder was a log cutout of a fish. Was very clean, had king bed with tv, separate living area with couch, recliner, fireplace, tv, wet bar with micro and fridge and full length mirror. Bathroom was quite large with great amenities of lotion, soap, shampoo, and conditioner. I felt guilty with so much space since I was the only one in the room! Would be a nice room for a couple. Two large windows overlooked a green field and a residential area.

The Clubhouse was much larger with a more open layout and more seating areas. If you like golf this is the room for you! It had pictures of golfers, golf fabric, curtains, a lamp made out of golf balls, golf clubs on the wall, and probably more! It had a couch, 2 recliners with a coffee table, king bed facing the fireplace, tv, and living area, hightop table with stools, and wet bar with microwave and fridge, plenty of side tables and mirrors also. If you have a large group this is a great room to hangout in!

The gas fireplaces are on timers with 1 hour max limit. I didnt use mine but would be nice for atmosphere. The wireless internet was quick and breakfast was in a nice large area with a tv, windows, plenty of seating and delicious food. One morning they offered biscuits and gravy but not the next. French toast, bagels, donuts, milk, cereal, yogurt, fruit, juice, muffins...the usual.

Easy to find, just one block off the main drag behind a Steak and Shake, large parking lot, great atmosphere!

Definitely recommend, try to get one of the suites!

  • Liked — Atmosphere
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2007

All in all Stoney Creek Inn was a good place to stay. It offers a beautiful, clean room; friendly staff; and a nice pool. My only complaints with the stay were slightly uncomfortable bedding, VERY thin walls, and a noisy shower. However, the stay in itself was a good one, and I would probably venture to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2006

This was a pleasure stay for our aniversary and we loved it. The rooms were awesome and the pool was very romantic. Every room has a different decore. It has a log cabin feel and was a great place to relax! Would reccomend to anyone. : )

  • Stayed April 2003
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Quincy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Quincy

Address: 3809 E Broadway, Quincy, IL 62305
Location: United States > Illinois > Quincy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Quincy
#3 Business Hotel in Quincy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Quincy 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic town of Quincy, Illinois, offers visitors a chance to look back through time - and our Stoney Creek Hotel provides the perfect accommodations. With its rustic decor and enjoyable fireplace themed suites, our 72-room Inn will have you feeling like a 19th century settler, but with all the amenities the 21st century has to offer.Located in the heart of the tri-states region of Illinois, Iowa and Missouri, the Stoney Creek Hotel in Quincy is ideal for social reunions and business events, with meetings rooms large enough to meet most every need. And while you're not relaxing in our warm and cozy surroundings, step out into Quincy, and discover the city's picturesque architecture, thriving industry and lively community events. Twice recognized as one of the nation's All-American cities, Quincy has a 200-year reputation of treating its guests well. By taking good care of you, we'll ensure that Quincy's great reputation continues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Expedia so you can book your Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Quincy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoney Creek Inn Quincy Hotel Quincy
Stoney Creek Hotel Quincy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Quincy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.