We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slop and Horrible Service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Maya's Mexican Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Maya's Mexican Restaurant
4420 Broadway St, Quincy, IL 62305
217-221-9393
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 116 Restaurants in Quincy
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Belleville, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Slop and Horrible Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Completely Disgusting, cold food and when we complained the server acted like he didn't understand us. Took forever to get service and then he barely talked. Questioning if it because of limited English proficiency maybe? Expensive for crap service and crap food. Will NOT go back!!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    9
    7
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
The Gem City, IL
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

I'm a local and this is the only Mexican restaurant I will dine at. Service is always great and the food is awesome.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The best Mexican in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Only Mexican restaurant in Quincy worth eating at. Every aspect is A++ Price, Quality, Authenticity, Speed of service

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“so bad!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

i went in here for lunch today as i often look to trip advisor for advice when in a new locale. the service was fast and nice. however, the food... i ordered the carnitas. carnitas are normally small chuncks of well seasoned pork browned. these were large fatty chunks that were neither seasoned nor browned. the rice was overcooked and the beans were gooey and dull. the sliced tomato was the end piece- this should never be served.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Illinois
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Best Mex in Quincy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Maya has been in Quincy for five or so years, and were a welcome addition to the restaurants. We eat there at least once a month. The food is always very good. Fajitas are great; all the enchiladas are good too. I only wish they had more NM style green chile dishes.
Great for both lunch and dinner. Can be quite busy on weekends.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maya's Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Maya's Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maya's Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.